We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Enjoy Perisher” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundeck Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundeck Hotel
Save
You added Sundeck Hotel to your Saves list
Kosciuszko Rd, Perisher Valley | Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy Perisher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hosts here really looked after us from the moment we arrived until we left. Rooms are modest but very clean and some have lovely views. The lounge area is cosy and comfy with a great view out watching the activity of Perisher. Everything is here and the staff make you feel so comfortable. Nothing was a problem. The meals were tasty and interesting and most importantly very reasonably priced.The friendliness of the staff just flows through the whole place and all the guests were friendly as well - just a great atmosphere. On a sunny day it is very pleasant to sit in the sun with a cuppa and enjoy the mountain air if you don't want to ski. Definitely recommend this place as a place to stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. Pleased you enjoyed your time in the mountains and hoep to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

As a regular at Smiggins Hotel for the past 7 seasons we got sick of the treck back to Smiggins at the end of a hard ski day & had been waiting til our son was old enough to not need the Kids Club at Smiggins Hotel.. Well we've now found our new regular on-snow accomm.. Now if luxury is what you want then don't stay here. You are paying for location!! Nothing is renovated (apart from a new hot water system which does a very good hot shower). The rooms are very basic, but clean, beds comfortable enough, & the heater was perfect on Level 3 (enough to dry the underwear & ski gear for morning). There is no guest laundry so my husband washed his underwear & ski shirt in the shower. No T.V but there's a Kid's upstairs den with t.v. Mind you our child had his ipad which kept him amused, there's also a pool table for $3 a game which the kids can use. We stayed in a triple room which was also mountain view. The food was pretty good. Now we booked well before May for our Aug stay so I was a little cranky to hear that it is only returning guests who got the free lunch deals for booking b4 May. We had 2 days of lunch there due to poor weather so free lunch would've been good!! I was amazed to find that with so many children staying there was absolutely NO suitable children's menu. Our child pretty much survived on the pre-dinner bread & dessert. It would not kill the kitchen to have 1 dedicated children's meal per night, such as spaghetti bol. or chicken tenders, etc.. They just had to choose from the adult menu & got a smaller serving, at least my husband was happy with the extra food that my child didn't eat, because the meals were not that big ( & apparently getting smaller with each year).. At least no-one seemed to dress up for dinner which is the last last thing you feel like doing after skiing all day. Even though Cliff is not exactly 'outgoing' he is always at hand to fix any 'issues', he plays the piano beautifully & his staff are very courteous & hardworking!! All said we had a fabulous week & will stay there again!!

Room Tip: Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Ive been going to Perisher on and off since 1989 and had always noted the fabulous position of the Sundeck and hoped that one day I might stay there. Well this year I was finally able to do so, and what a treat!
My partner and I stayed for 7 days and although initially in a Courtyard room (no Mountain View Rooms available as I'd booked too late) and we were moved to the larger room on the 3rd day. Both rooms were clean and well maintained although the MV rooms are definitely the pick! Gorgeous views, a sofa and larger room and ensuite made this room worth the extra $$$. If you're expecting 5 star then you're being unrealistic. I imagine running a hotel of this quality in this location and still making it affordable would be a tricky business and I think Cliff and his wife do a wonderful job.
The two main things of note is the location and the food. The luxury of clicking on your skis 5 steps from the door is not to be underestimated. When I think of the expense and the exhaustion of getting off the mountain after a long day, staying at the Sundeck was priceless..
The food - excellent. Standard buffet breakfast with everything you need to get you started for a big day. Enough variation to keep you interested. Dinner was brilliant. 3 choices each for entree, main and dessert, nothing repeated in the whole 7 days (except ice cream for dessert - I think that's acceptable :-)) All food arrived quickly, hot and in perfect portions (if you've got a big appetite just ask for more bread!)
Dont worry that there is a bar, often with live music, attached to the hotel. We didn't hear anything from our room, although some people said they heard the snow guns but it didn't keep them awake!
All in all I have to say that the Sundeck is a well run, perfectly positioned place to have a great week in the snow. We didn't want to go anywhere else while we were there but our priority was skiing not apré ski. If you're after nightlife and you're not happy with the same place every night - even though the Sundeck has comedy nights, live music and trivia and a GREAT bar! - you might be better off staying somewhere else, but for me, the Sundeck was perfect!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeckhotel, Public Relations Manager at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments. The Sundeck staff are looking forward to seeing you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

If you look at the other reviews that I have written I am no stranger to good holidays. I think that given that - our high opinion of the last five days at the Sundeck has all the more weight.
Let's start with the food. We were spoilt for choice with both quality and quantity. Being able to select from three choices for entree,main & desert every night and each option being a good option is fantastic.
Next, the staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble or not attended to with a smile. I am sure dealing with the public & being asked the same questions sometimes difficult - but they all give the impression that they are happy to work hard & to help.
Thirdly, the location. It really is ski in ski out. And once in, there is not really a reason to leave. The guest lounge is comfortable and the bar entertainment varied.
We have only been here 5 days, but we are leaving more happy & relaxed than when we arrived - which is the purpose of a holiday after all, isn't it??

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeckhotel, Public Relations Manager at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed at Sundeck for the June long weekend for 3 nights, arriving Friday and leaving Monday morning with two friends. We are all avid snowboarders, and this was our first stay 'on mountain' at Perisher. The room we stayed in was small and basic, but warm and comfortable with a great view of the slopes. All weekend the Snowy Mountains Festival was in full swing, so after a hard day snowboarding, we retired back to the Sundeck and were able to watch live music every single night in the comfort of the bar, which had an impressive array of schnapps to sample. The breakfast included was buffet style, with plenty of options for everyone. If you are looking for luxury and pampering, give the Sundeck a miss, but if your focus is on skiing or snowboarding and you want on-snow accommodation that is reasonably priced with a bar on site, the Sundeck is the place for you. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundeckhotel, Public Relations Manager at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. The Snowy Mountains Festival is certainly and exciting and fun time to be at the Sundeck. we would love see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

People have raved about this place that's why we Booked 5 Days Stay Ski in Ski Out was Great but no one told us how to ski in so we missed it 3 times till we figured it out, had a Mountain view Room but ours looked at the Carpark I complained about view as it wasn't the same as on the Net told manager would see us about it nothing happened, breakfast was good, dinner seemed a bit bland but when you cook for 70 people with 3 choices per 3 course dinner you have to be Thrifty, we had brought some nice wine for trip but as the hotel is licensed the only place you can drink is outside it in your room, the staff were lovely especially Cliffs Wife, Cliff could try being a bit Warmer and bit glare at His Guests. At $1500 for 5 days we will go OS next time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Sorry we did not quite meet your expectations. There a number of mountainview rooms with different aspects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My family and I enjoy an annual snow holiday to Perisher and have been doing so since 1990. After a few experiments with other accommodation (including some private lodges) we tried the Sundeck Hotel...and have never been anywhere else since!
Australia's highest hotel is the only true ski in-ski out hotel in perisher, located at the top of front valley overlooking the ski slopes and village. This means you can get first tracks of the morning, every morning as all the other poor souls wait anxiously for the lifts to begin spinning.
We generally stay for 5 nights arriving sunday, departing Friday (you can ski free on a sunday afternoon if you arrive after 1pm). The ski tube is your only option for accessing the resort as there is day parking only up on the mountain. But this is fine as it makes for an easy trip up and down. If you're not too fussy about the quality of gear you hire I would recommend hiring from the perisher skihire at the bulloks flat terminal of the ski tube. This way you pick up your skis after you have arrived and dont have to worry about transporting them in the car. Then you simply take the train with your luggage and ski gear (a bit cumbersome but you'll survive) up to the perisher station. Your accommodation at the Sundeck includes the cost of oversnow transport and you can easily arrange for a transport up the mountain to the hotel on your arrival at the terminal.
Arriving at the Sundeck is always a real treat. If its a nice day there will people out in the snow covered courtyard enjoying a bbq lunch. A quick trip to meet all the friendly staff at reception and you’ll find yourself in your modest yet comfortable rooms. They are ensuited, have comfy beds, heaters, clothes racks and tea and coffee facilities... but most impressive is the fabulous ‘snowscape’ view that greets you from your window. If you have opted for the mountainview room you will be sure to see some stunning sunrises across the mountain range during your stay.
If you’re like me you’ll then be itching to hit the slopes so collect your skis and gear from the ski room, walk about 5 paces out the door, click on your skis and your off on your first run of a great holiday. When you return hit the bar for well earned drink. The bar is fully stocked, well priced (considering other on-snow options), features a pool table, great views over front valley and entertainment every night (a mix of soloists, comedians and the owner Cliff’s trivia competition which I am sure gets harder every year!). Then slip next door into the lounge for some relaxation. There is an array of comfy lounges, a tv loft for the kids, various board games and of course wall to wall panorama views of the valley. Dinner is served in the adjacent dining room and is the perfect mix of friendly service and generous food without too much formality. Dinner is 3 course a la carte style with three options for each course and the menu changes daily.
As for other meals: Breakfast starts early with a whole lot of hot and cold options to fill you up before a hard day on the slopes. Lunch is the only meal not totally included in your accommodation price, although you do get some lunch tokens to use at the hotel (for a five night stay you get three lunches). Lunch is a modest affair, generally involving a bbq and salad out in the snow courtyard. If you are looking for an alternate place for lunch one day I would definitely recommend talking the long (and easy) run over to Guthega to the Burning Log cafe...ok food and a good fun ski to get there.
If you are planning a holiday in Perisher and are looking for the most unique, convenient and comfortable place to stay then I would definitely recommend the Sundeck Hotel ... we’ll be going back for our 16th year in 2011!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliffSundeck, Owner at Sundeck Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your generous and detailed comments. Pleased you enjoyed your holiday. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundeck Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Rd, Perisher Valley | Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Perisher Valley
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundeck was the first hotel in Perisher. Offering a superb position in the centre of Perisher and panoramic views of Front Valley, just step out the door and snap on your skis. A great spot for apres ski with licensed bar, restaurant, live entertainment and sauna. All weekly bookings receive free over-snow transport (before 11.00pm). Child rates available. Totally non smoking. Award winner for environmental performance. Note: This establishment is open from June to October only. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundeck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.