We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home in the snow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peer Gynt

Peer Gynt
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peer Gynt
Save
You added Peer Gynt to your Saves list
P.O. Box 32, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home in the snow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

On arriving at the Skitube station early in the morning with loads of bags, we needed somewhere to store them so we could head out for a day on the slopes. Luckily, Jenny and Bart of Peer Gynt came to the rescue. We could leave our bags at a cafe, they would pick them up and we could head off for a day of skiing.
This kind of service really set the tone for our stay at Peer Gynt.
Though the accommodation is not flashy, and the decor is a little tired, the rooms were sparklingly clean, the welcome was exceptionally warm and our group of five was made to feel very much at home.
The location of the lodge was also excellent - about as close as you can get to the bottom of a ski lift without needing to pay an arm and a leg.
I would certainly stay at Peer Gynt again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The food is excellent, the staff are amazing and the room is perfect for our needs. we are very comfortable here and will definitely come here again, having met other guests who have been staying regularly for years. They also speak highly of Jenny and Bart and I agree they are wonderful hosts. Evenings after dinner are relaxed and last night the house guitar was played by a couple of musical guests with requests! A warm fire is a welcome sight after a day on the snow.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at Peer Gynt previously. It is a really convenient on-snow option when travelling with children. The rooms are large and comfortable and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. The kids love the freedom of roaming between the common areas and the room and can't get themselves into any trouble. The lodge is located far enough away from front valley for it to be quiet and peaceful and we all got a good nights sleep. The meals are yummy and a drink at the bar will help you forget how sore your feet are! The area outside the lodge is perfect for a bit of tobogganing and snowman building. Easier for skiers to ski in and ski out than for boarders (short walk to interceptor or north perisher T) so we opt for the complimentary over snow transport run to front valley. The only thing I don't really like is that you can't park overnight in Perisher so you need to park at Bullocks Flat and spend an extra couple of hundred dollars on ski tube tickets and load your luggage on and off it. But this isn't Peer Gynts fault and they try to make it all as convenient as possible.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Peer Gynt is like staying with close friends on the snow. You will be treated to special care and attention with good meals and company. This lodge attracts families and is quite after 9pm. It is an easy ski back and short walk in the afternoon, or there is a black run right to the lodge. The owner check at night to make sure everyone has returned and keep a look out for guests. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Although the decor is faded the lodge was immaculately cleaned and maintained. All rooms have pretty views and the lounge is welcoming and lovely place to enjoy a drink before dinner. Children are welcome. The sauna is great to ease those sore tired ski muscles.
The owners make this place, welcoming and helpful, happy to chat in the evening and help you make the best of your stay. The food is excellent and plentiful and drinks are reasonable. Well thought out drying room & good washing facilities.
This is not a party spot, a lovely relaxing place for families or groups of friends.
Compared to other chalets it's reasonable value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peer Gynt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peer Gynt

Address: P.O. Box 32, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peer Gynt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.