We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Sonnenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalet Sonnenhof to your Saves list
Chalet Sonnenhof
off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Great service, great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I went to Perisher over the long weekend for one night only. We did not have accommodation arranged prior.
We booked this accommodation on the day we wanted to stay and were offered a special price of $99 per person with hot breakfast included.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't require anything other than a bed and bathroom and that's all the room had. The room had a double bed and a single bed as well as an ensuite.
There was a communal tv/living room with a pool table as well as a sauna downstairs.
The service was incredibly friendly and we were made to feel at home.
I would definitely pay more to stay here again, close to the snow. We had planned to stay in Jindabyne to save money but we are so glad we didn't have to worry about driving after an exhausting day in the snow.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a 3 night stay mid week and it was perfect. The hosts were friendly, the food was amazing especially the crackling on our entree. We loved it so much that bowls of extra crackling were put on the tables. The views from the room and dining room were stunning. We were lucky we could ski straight from the front door to the lifts. Bonus was having the overlander pick us up in the afternoon. The rooms were fine although the bathroom was a bit on the small side! No TV in the room but one in the lounge room. Fabulous roaring fire. The spa was welcome after skiing all day. Only thing was kids using the hallway as a running track! Loved Chalet Sonnenhof and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent our skiing holiday at Sonnenhof this year and were very impressed. The room was a good size and the view from our window was spectacular. The food was excellent, although it could have been a little hotter on a few occasions. But the presentation, quality and variety made up for that. The owners, Neville & Karen, and their staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They made us feel so welcome. Loved the downstairs bar - with all the writing on the walls, the old chairlift seat, the T-bar and the chopper blade! Would love to see either a later seating for dinner or a more relaxed time frame - sometimes it felt like we were being rushed through dinner. Overall, a great little chalet with the friendliest staff and great amenities. Loved the spa!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunnedah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Thank you Chalet Sonnenhof for a memorable trip down to the snow! Not only did they cater to our every need - including keeping the bar open a little longer for us - they also helped me out when things went a little pear-shaped with my snow gear.They really do go out of their way to make you feel like your part of the crew; families, friends and employees.
Rooms were reasonable and had the basics included which seemed to be the exact same for the more expensive hotel further down on the snow where more friends of ours were staying (they also said we had a better bar area) We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was very comfortable and were certainly made to feel very welcome. Food was very nice and have even tried cooking them myself!! Overall A very inviting place to call home for the duration of our trip

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Awesome room with a bath and great views. Really helpful and fun staff. A great chef called Luke, who made every night like an amazing alacarte dinner, rack of lamb, duck, awesome soups and delicious desserts. Luke also accommodated special requests,like pancake stacks on our last day! Lovely fire, welcoming bar and lots of games, with a large spa and sauna to boot! The owners Karen and Neville, make you feel very welcome, nothing's a challenge and children most welcome, with great kids meals. Best stay in snow in twenty years!
Simone Allan

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The owners/hosts at Chalet Sonnenhof are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet! Their hospitality is simply amazing. They have a new Chef this year (2012) who has a fine dining background, and it shows superbly in the dinners they provide. The open fireplace in the common lounge adds to the friendly and welcome atmosphere to the whole place.

The accommodation is simple and basic. Rooms are perhaps on the smaller side but certainly are warm & cozy. The en suites are also small, at least in our room. There's no TV in our room, you can find one in the common lounge and there's a small theater room downstairs. There's also a dry room for your ski/snowboarding boots. We didn't take advantage of the spa & sauna, so can't comment on that.

Location wise, the Chalet is a little bit far from the lifts and is up a hill. But it's an easy walk down in the morning with your gears. In the evenings they provide complimentary pick-up from the lifts back to the chalet around 4:30. Just wait by the bridge of the quad-lifts.

All in all, it's a nice little place in Perisher for your winter holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Sonnenhof

Address: off Kosciuszko Road, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Sonnenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.