We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you have kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perisher Manor

Perisher Manor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Perisher Manor to your Saves list
Perisher Manor
Kociusko Road, NSW, 2624, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great if you have kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The family and I have stayed at Perisher Manor the last two ski seasons. When I go skiing with my kids I like to keep the logistics to a bare minimum, and just enjoy the experience. Skiing in Australia is almost prohibitably expensive so I'm all about the bang for the buck. Having tried staying in Jindabyne and hauling the clan up the mountain each day on the Skitube, the convenience of stepping out the front door onto the snow in the morning, and skiing up to the door in the evening, makes all the difference. I think that is probably the best aspect of this hotel - convenience.

The rooms are decent (we stayed in a Deluxe Resort) but a little cramped with 5 of us. The room facilities are good and the beds were very comfortable. The TV was rubbish with only some free-to-air channels, most of which were fuzzy. Foxtel channels were available but only on a single TV in a shared area. The restaurant was fine, although it was better in 2011. The communal fireplace is lovely to sit around at the end of the day, especially with a nice cappucino or hot chocolate. The drying room is a bit small, and the locker facilities are ok (bring your own padlock if you're worried about theft).

If you stay mid-week make sure you book in for the night skiing. The convenience of skiing to the door after the session is done is awesome, especially when you see other poor sad sacks wandering over to the skitube (makes you feel very spoilt).

Depending on the conditions (and your luggage) the walk from the terminal/parking can be a bit challenging so you might want to organise some oversnow transport when you arrive/depart. Also the late check-in is a bit of a pain if you're skiing a half day.

Compare the Manor to other accommodation at Perisher Valley and it's an easy choice to make. It's expensive but worth it. I'll be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Why pay more for a slope view? We barley looked out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have stayed at many different lodges at Perisher over the years but The Manor is the spot to be. Close to the action, I was able to sit inside once I had enough for the day and watch out for the kids on the front valley.

The rooms were more than comfortable, they were made up daily too!

The friendly and helpful staff made our stay even more enjoyable, could not fault the food with a hot and cold buffet breakfast available and choices on the 3 course dinner menu.

I would recommend Perisher Manor for the convenience and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at Perisher Manor for over 12 years. Have always been happy to pay the price to stay at this perfect location for skiing in Perisher Valley. Ski locker room exit 10 metres from front valley express 8 chair lift. Varying Rooms to suit families and couples and are clean, spacious, comfortable beds,mini bar with fridge and kettle. Fantastic views from most rooms but the "slope view" rooms would be hard to beat anywhere. Unfortunately, our most recent stay (Ski Season 2012) was disappointing with dinner and breakfast, included in the tariff the BIG LET DOWN with very poor variety, freshness and quality. The buffet style breakfast was really unforgivable and dinner was often dumped on the table by unhappy staff having to deal with customer complaints. Free wifi hotspot offered throughout hotel but extremely slow. As always there is no complimentary oversnow transport to the hotel so guests with luggage need to use Hans Oversnow transport at $12/person from Perisher Ski Tube terminal or walk approx. 500 metres in snow and varying conditions.

Room Tip: North side rooms are "slope view" with great views. South view look across valley to oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed many times, just a few problems, dinner not up to usual top quality, not allowed extra bread rolls which is minor but quite dissapointing for hungry guests. Breakfast was stone cold but after mentioning to receptionist was great next morning, thank you. It is a fantastic place to stay, clean and the staff are helpful. Mini Bar has no prices, which would be useful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Perisher Manor has a lot going for it. Perfect location for skiing in Perisher Valley, rooms were clean, beds great, views fab. Staff, marvelous..BUT there is always a BUT

One young lady in charge of the restaurant ruined our stay with her surly rude manner. Could we have dinner to feed our 8 year old at a reasonable time.....NO. In fact let me chuck you on a table by the toilets and treat you like crap.

In fairness our complaints were dealt with, it was unfortunate that the chefs are also obviously in chaos - as the food is worse than lodge food should be, and take the fact they gave me honey & soy sauce (I am highly allergenic to soy as many people) instead of gravy - you get the picture.

That said the young girl that took over from Miss How Rude Can I Be - was lovely and went out of her way to make up for things. The manager / owner did deal with our issues professionally and we ended up having a good time and would come back.

I had to rate it 3 overall given all the [--] ups and with Miss How Rude Can I Be. Without her and a little more care on better food - it would have been a 5/5

shame, hope this feedback helps not hinders them

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed for 4 days and we enjoyed it very much. The staff were excellent and the owner, Hans was always very welcoming. Meals were included and were brilliant, rooms large and clean. It is positioned right next to The Eight lift, very convenient. It was great to have access to a laundry as well - the cocktail bar had a lovely ambience to it. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenscliff, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Fabulous location adjacent to the main chair on Front Valley, truly ski in, ski out. What was remarkable was that unlike other ski holidays we've had, the staff here made the difference. Without exception all friendly and helpful including of course Franz the owner who was a charming and attentive host.
The food was also remarkable. We were expecting at best pub type buffet food. Every night we were treated to a choice of entrees, mains and desserts restaurant quality and delicious. I would come back for that if nothing else.
Perisher turned on the most delightful sunny week for us too which helped our experience, but if you were unable to hit the slopes every day, the hotel had very pleasant public spaces to relax. Our rooms were very basic and small, but clean and comfortable. Would definitely return and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Perisher Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perisher Manor

Address: Kociusko Road, NSW, 2624, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Perisher Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perisher Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.