We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, inviting home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perisher Valley Hotel

Perisher Valley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Perisher Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Centre, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, inviting home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in late July and didn't want to leave! Service was fantastic, everyone we encountered very friendly and offered to help with bags, ski gear etc. room was beautiful, very clean, warm and with plenty of space - and the views!! A Mountain View room looks out over the Front Valley. Food was delicious and filling, the breakfast buffet had soooo many options! Yes, it's expensive, but when you can ski in and out, it's so worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We found PVH to be outstanding from the moment we arrived and were collected by the lovely Tom for our over-snow transfer. The staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Our room was cozy, tidy and had everything we needed and was always lovely and fresh when we came in from skiing. Staff remembered our names, what we liked to drink and helped with organising ski lessons.

The food was absolutely excellent and everything was included so there were no extras to pay.

Unfortunately our stay was cut short when my young son broke his leg. I was there with him on my own and it was at this time that the PVH staff really shone. I could not have received more help and care from them - everything from taking care of our hire gear to helping pack up our room and going down to fetch my car from the Skitube parking lot - they went truly above and beyond. I will always be grateful for the outstanding care the took of us. The lovely Tom even called us a couple of days later to see how my son was doing.

There will be nowhere else for us to stay in future - Perisher Valley Hotel has won us over 100%. Sure it's not cheap but it's worth every penny and more, and the staff are worth their weight in gold.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a week in September last year. Whilst the beds were comfy and we had a great view out over front valley I found the rooms to be quite outdated and in need of a bit of a make over (including some stained carpet and an old tv) and not really worth the quite exorbitant price you pay for them! The staff were friendly and approachable and the location is ideal for ski in ski out. We would stay here again for the location and ease of being able to drop into the restaurant for a hot chocolate or back to your room in between snowboarding but the price is definitely a negative!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you want to be right on the snow, then this is the place to stay. Great location overlooking front valley.
Buffet breakfast served in Snow Gums Restaurant overlooking the front slopes, with newspapers on offer. Our kids beds were turned out whilst we were enjoying the ambient dinners listening to the evening entertainment.
Service was very friendly, personable and nothing was a problem.
We could purchase our lift tickets from reception and ski hire facilities available under the hotel itself.
Kids klub available in the evenings during school holidays.

Room Tip: Mountain view suites have an enclosed balcony overlooking the front valley where the kids are having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

As a first timer at a snowfield I was advised by Perisher Valley booking staff to stay at Perisher Valley Hotel as it was on snow and this was supposed to be better for first timers. What a joke. Luckily I only booked two days. The hotel rooms were very run down and dated and were apparently supposed to look Austrian (I have been to Vienna several times and I never stayed in a hotel like this one) and there is absolutely nowhere decent to have a meal at Perisher of course apart from the hotel itself. I was also promised an evening kids club which did not occur and in any case was actually just a lady from the shop downstairs doing a bit of babysitting. Good God - it was a nightmare. It was a case of overpromising and underdelivering by marketing and booking staff. And yes the rooms are ridiculously overpriced. The staff were friendly and apologetic - that was the only good thing. I have been to many places around Australia and around the world, and I can safely say this was the worst holiday of my life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolphin Heads, Qld
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great local...good food ...dessert a bit scratchey. Ski in ski out brilliant!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

You cannot get a more family friendly ski destination that this one. You can literally lie on your bed and watch your children ski! Fantastic location and especially good this year with the bumper snow season!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perisher Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perisher Valley Hotel

Address: Perisher Centre, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Perisher Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perisher Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.