We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swagman Chalet

Swagman Chalet
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swagman Chalet
Save
You added Swagman Chalet to your Saves list
Perisher Blue | Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place was great and the owners couldn't do enough for us, great hospitality.

The rooms are small and the bathrooms tiny, the basin is in the bedrooms which I did not like at all. Not much room in the open wardrobe, but clean and warm. Nice homely lounge & dinning room, open fire and brilliant mezzanine level full of games, books, pool table and massive TV for the kids.

We didn't see our little girl after dinner, she was gone. Away with the other kids happily playing whilst we socialized with the other guests around the fire after dinner. Great because we have an only child.

The meals were hearty, good simple dishes that please everyone. They even accommodated our very fussy eater (daughter) at every meal with another option. Big tick.

The accommodation is at the back of Perisher but don't let that put you off. They have many types of snow vehicle and are happy to drop off and pick up any time for free. We loved the thing with flames down the side, lots of fun. They even took us for a skidoo ride.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

A last minute booking, we were lucky to find this little gem. We stayed one night and had a breakfast and dinner with our package. The food was great. I really enjoyed the look and feel of the common lounge/bar area. Being able to kick back and relax with a glass of wine by the fireplace was fabulous.
The only disappointment I had was the room. Although it was immaculate - it was very cold. The window wouldn't close properly and my partner had to go and push it from the outside in order to get it shut. The fixed heater against the wall was not operating properly (or at all) and we could only make use of a very small oil heater which was not at all effective for up in the snow. This made it quite uncomfortable to relax in the room. I think an upgrade to the chalet's heating system is in order.
Apart from that, I cannot fault the Chalet as we were treated so very well. This is a family run Chalet and we couldn't have received better service. From being able to watch the footie game of our choice on the big screen in the common lounge to being picked up and dropped off on the snow at our convenience. The owners were very approachable and always accommodating - that's what it's all about. Thank you very much for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our family of 4 (kids ages 7 and 10) wanted a long weekend away skiing, less than full week but more that the standard 2-3 night weekend, and Swagman Chalet was one of the few lodges in Perisher happy to oblige - we stayed Fri-Tues. The Family room (1 queen and one bunk) was basic and smallish, and the ensuite was tiny, but who spends any time in their rooms on a ski holiday! Besides, the generosity of John and Silke, and the comfortableness of the rest of the lodge more than made up it. The food was excellent, the kids were happy with the X-box when they'd had enough of skiing, and they absolutely loved being "co-pilot" to John on his many runs in the free oversnow vehicle to and from the ski lifts. All in all, a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Run by a family, everything is well catered for. The room squeaky clean with lush towels :) The food fresh and tasty, all diet catered for.
It was super fun to ride all the snow mobiles, unbelievable :)
Will come back again and again.
I have stayed at Palazzo Versace, QLD, Australia... and I can say that this place (while not as luxurious) is loads more comfortable & homey.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Staying on snow is never a cheap experience, however having stayed at a few overpriced 'budget' hotels before I was very unsure whether the $440 we splurged on a night at the Swagman would be regretted. It was the only room I could find available in Perisher, and we had to weight it up against two nights at budget digs in Jindabyne. I'm so glad we opted for a night at the Swagman!

The weather was lousy - it rained all day saturday and blew a gale on sunday - but the Swagman experience made the whole weekend worthwhile. Silke and John are exceptional hosts and the other staff are competent and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

The Swagman is a short 5 minute ride over snow from the Skitube terminal in Perisher, and John collects guests after a call from the courtesy phone in the terminal. It was nice being able to turn up 'whenever' and not having to pre-arrange a time in advance. He transported us and our luggage to the lodge in good humour despite the dismal weather.

A three course dinner is included, another reason for me to be concerned as I'm on a gluten free diet and the lodge is a long way from the eateries near the tube. I needn't have worried as the food was great, my diet was catered for, and there was plenty to eat. We chose to sit at a table on our own, but could have joined fellow guests at some larger communal tables had we wished to. The only slight disappointment was the wine list, but we did manage to find a pretty good red.

The guests covered a wide age group - from children to older couples - including a group of single young men. It could have been a recipe for an after-dinner disaster - some wanting to sleep and others wanting to party - but in reality there was barely a peep out of anyone between 9pm and 7am. The lodge has a games room with a pool table, x box, dvd player, television, and board games, and with a separate lounge bar and open fire there's plenty to keep everyone entertained.

Our room was clean and basic but perfectly good, although we did find the mattress a little hard. The bed had electric blankets but we didn't need them as the central heating did a terrific job. The shower in the morning was hot (yay!), as was the freshly cooked breakfast. Delicious! Even the plunger coffee was too good to complain about.

A luggage room is available on check out for guests wanting to leave Perisher later in the day. It was great being able to leave our luggage while we wandered around for the morning. A simple call to the lodge when we were ready to leave Perisher and John met us at the skitube terminal with our luggage. How good is that?

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Swagman again if we were to stay on snow. I would highly recommend it for couples, families, or singles as everyone is well catered for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Enjoyed a long weekend at Swagman during the 09 winter season. Rooms are basic and clean, living areas are well laid out and welcoming. Good facilities for teenagers - pool, games consoles, DVDs. Food was straightforward but plentiful. Real standout was the staff; nothing seemed like too much trouble, whether it was pickups by oversnow vehicle, food requests, you name it.. Recommended

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swagman Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swagman Chalet

Address: Perisher Blue | Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagman Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.