We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just about perfect in Perisher..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Man from Snowy River Hotel

Save Saved
You added Man from Snowy River Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Man from Snowy River Hotel
Kosciuszko Rd, PO Box 40, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“just about perfect in Perisher..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I've stayed here for many years. Ann and Brian have been delightful hosts and it has always been a pleasure. I prefer to ski Perisher in NSW because its altitude gives it more consistent snow cover. Mount Perisher and the related resorts give a very wide selection of terrain and the instructors at the Perisher ski school have been consistently good.

When I first started skiing with my young children The Man was an obvious choice. I could pack the gear into the car and pull up and park in the only overnight car park at Perisher Valley. Valet would help us upstairs. The ski school was a 100m across the valley, as were the lifts. Rooms at The Man were comfortable, if a little basic. A lot of building construction in the snow is less substantial than you might expect. Ear plugs can be valuable. Take your own electronic entertainment if needed. There is only a basic TV in each room. I would take a portable DVD and a slection of leads when the kids were younger and I often stayed in a studio King shared room with them. These days they prefer their own entertainment on iPads.

The tarrif includes a good breakfast and a very good three course dinner each night. Service from all staff has always been tremendous. The dining area and lounge are very pleasant with good views of the mountain at meals.

The clothing drying room is extremely effective. We noticed the boot drying room wasn't drying on my last trip, so we had to shift our boots to the clothes room. Laundry facilities are good.

On snow accomodation in Australia is always expensive, but the package at The Man was simply perfect for a young family, and we continue to use it now they are young adults who ski well and love to ski.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We checked in very quick, Troy was very helpful getting our luggage up. We had the suite for our family of 5. Our rooms were nothing special, old monitor TV, the one in the kids room didn't even work!!. Rooms were warm and cosy, but you could hear the heating throughout the night. Very expensive but considering we went peak time this was as expected.
Breakfast was ample service was quick.
Dinner was nice and menu changed every day, they even had kids club were the kids ate separately and us adults could enjoy our dinner.
The chef was very creative and food was out pretty quick.
The only bad point is at approx 9pm every night kids would run up and down the corridor screaming or playing hide and seek, after 7hrs of skiing we only wanted to rest, this was not possible till the kids went to bed. Come on seriously who on earth would let their kids run riot through the corridors....I have 3 kids and I can assure you I certainly wouldn't let my 3 kids run riot.
This place is as close to the lifts and ski tube as you could get.
We have skiied in perisher for 2 years now and might try somewhere else. As the slopes are getting busy and more accidents are occuring.
I really hope this hotels has a makeover as it is still stuck in the 70's & 80's.
Old TV's with barely any reception, NO internet only in bar and you would have to go and ask for a password, which was only valid for 2hrs. The airlan wi-fi which you could buy dropped in and out and was very slowwww.
The rooms were lacking in decor and very small and cramped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great place to stay in Perisher, It is the only place with under cover parking in fact its the only place with overnight parking. The rest must ride the ski tube.
The Man Hotel has the best of food entertainment and convienence.
with pool and dart comps weekly, live music and DJ's.
Only 100 m to the ski lifts out the front or 60 metres out the back to 60km of cross country ski trails.
With the Hotel headed up by Anne and Brian Smith, you get fantastic professional service.
The rooms are everything you need. has a public bar and a very nice lounge bar, huge open fires places in both.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morayfield queensland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and two boys stayed here in the recent school holidays.. They really enjoyed the choices given to them at dinner time, and thought the breakfasts were great. The staff were really friendly and very helpful.The Managers went the extra mile to assist them everytime. So close to the ski tube and the slopes, children loved the "Little Orbits" donut shop on the platform level of the ski tube.. They will definately return to "The Man from from Snowy River".. Great views up front valley. One day there was a blizzard, so they stayed inside all day, and enjoyed all the board games and the open fire and coffee machine. Can recommend going at the end of the snow season...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Man from Snowy River Hotel in September for the Qld school holidays. A very reasonable rate for the family which included a three course dinner and buffet breakfast. The meals were fabulous, as was the friendly service (even though it was right at the end of the ski season, the staff were still friendly and welcoming). The chef was very accommodating to my husband's dietary needs (lactose intolerant).
The kids club was a hit with our two girls, which was an even bigger plus for my husband and myself to have some quiet time playing scrabble or backgammon whilst the children were being entertained.
We would highly recommend the Hotel to anyone considering staying at Perisher. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We have stayed here a number of times and have always found the service to be good. The advantage of staying here is that it is an easy walk to the slopes and you can park here - no messing around with luggage and skiis on the ski tube or skidaoos. The meals are nice, breakfast buffet plentiful. The rooms are a little plain and can be noisy in school holidays when children run up and down the corridors at all hours. it is a little pricey but definietly the best place we have stayed in perisher.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

To be fair, we liked most things about this hotel. Dinner was delicious, breakfast ok, the room had a nice enough view and the staff were nice.
However we paid a small fortune for the room (4 times the price of our previous night's accommodation in Cooma), and for what we paid it should have been perfect.
First problem was that the heating didn't work properly. The hotel has coil heating in the ceiling which was temperamental at best. We called for blankets at about 9pm but reception was closed and the duty manager not contactable.
Second problem was the bed. Our room was advertised as a King bed, but was really two beds pushed together with a queen or double doona cover (not wide enough for the bed). I'm a little over 6 feet tall, and the bed wasn't nearly long enough - first time for a "king" bed I guess.
Third problem was the "kitchenette" in our room. Didn't affect us as dinner was included but a guest hoping for anything resembling a kitchenette would have been disappointed to find it consisted of a microwave, fridge and a couple of items of cutlery.
The problems we had would not be unusual in average quality hotels - but this was a very expensive hotel and really we expected a lot better.

  • Liked — Location, meals
  • Disliked — Price, quality of bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Man from Snowy River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man from Snowy River Hotel

Address: Kosciuszko Rd, PO Box 40, Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Perisher Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located on Kosciuszko Road, opposite the skitube terminal in Perisher Valley. We have a variety of rooms to suit serious skiers, a romantic get away or a family ski vacation. Our staff offer a high level of helpful and friendly service. Facilities include undercover parking, drying room and ski room, 2 bars, open fires, dining room, steam room & gym and complimentary laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Man from Snowy River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Man from Snowy River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.