We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food + basics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Lodge
Kosciuszko Rd., Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food + basics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I agree with everything written in all the previous reviews - all true. Matterhorn is a lower-cost option with a few cut corners (eg. some tattiness, breakfast could be more generous, young staff). So if you don't mind those things it is good value and amenable service. The only real negative was the uncleaned table in our room which meant that dust was all over the rims of the upturned cups. During our stay, our daughter became very ill and we got looked after well: being offered a lift to the doctors, food requests met and given a late checkout. Aaron was the stand-in chef for 2 weeks and did a fantastic job (with 17 years experience as a chef, of course) - so nice to have fresh veges that are not overcooked!! Food is so important after a full day's skiing and this is where the Matterhorn excels. We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our experience at the Matterhorn was exactly what our family needed. We took our 3 & 7 year old boys for a ski holiday and the Matterhorn had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. The chefs made us AMAZING meals for dinner and the kids meals were the best any restaurant has ever served up in the way of kids meals. Aaron the Manager was extremely friendly and ever so accommodating, being on hand when needed and delivered everytime - absolutely superb! Skye was extremely friendly being available nearly all the time and Mitch was on the ball at the Bar. All other staff were very nice - couldn't fault the staff at all :) The only negative I had was the comfort of the beds, the mattresses were not comfortable at all. The only other thing would be the walk to the chairlift in the morning with my small boys, but if lucky you could catch a ride with the oversnow. Returning guests suggested leaving ski gear in a locker for the week down at Perisher, thought this was worth noting as I would have found this a handy tip. All in all I would return to the Matterhorn next year as I felt it is great value for money. My boys loved the kids play area (lots to do) and quickly made friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Matterhorn is a family lodge for kids as they have a big games room that allows parents to have a drink & chat around the bar area . However I would strongly suggest if you are staying as a couple, singles or adults only that you dont stay here. We stayed as a couple for a week & the kids dont just stick to the games room, they also run all over the lodge , running upstairs in hallways outside the rooms chasing each other in groups ,screaming & slaming doors every evening until they went to bed. The parents sit down at the bar & drink whilst the kids just ran a muck. You cant watch the TV evening news, forget a movie. We went out at night to other lodges just to get some peace in a more orderly enviroment. The manager Aaron is a nice young chap who seemed friendly enough & worked hard behind the scenes but not over engaging, the host named Sky greated people in her pyjamas & addressed you as a child with a militant rundown on what you can & cant do when first stepped in the door . The Matterhorn is a more budget type commercial lodge with a good position for skiing out, however the walk home with ski boots carrying skis is a hard slog. The food was good, but didnt like how they served small serving sizes as you cant help yourself to breakfast, ( normal for dinner but not for breakfast ) , like i said budget.
I feel the biggest problem wasnt the lodge itself , it was the onsite staff , they were far too young to keep it orderly & the host Sky needs to learn customer service skills if they want get repeat business. A lot of people commented on this. Aaron seem to work hard but all the staff were far too young to keep it orderly & being so young converations to guests seemed limited .
If you want to get drunk & let the kids run a muck this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The Matterhorn is ideal for families and groups and generally we dont have too many issues with kids behaving badly as they usually too tired from skiing. I can only apologise on behalf of the staff (and parents?) that it impacted on your stay. I'm also glad you generally enjoyed the meals and that you said the lodge was ok. Aaron does work hard and will be disappointed that on this occasion it appears we didnt get the balance right between letting guests' children have a good time and being mindful of others in the property. Hopefully you may consider the smaller Corroboree with its better position, or, our other property The Stables which is ideal for couples wanting privacy and a little luxury when next you visit Perisher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongbar, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My family of five have returned from a 5 night stay last week and really enjoyed our time at the Matterhorn Lodge. Food was great and the lodge room met our basic needs. We got clean towels and basic room service during our stay, but to be honest we didn't spend a lot of time there - skiing and sleep were the priority. Aaron and Skye were very helpful and I thank Aaron for the late night pick up from the train and easy transfer back when leaving. This saved us a lot of stress. We had a comfortable 'Lodge Style' stay - plenty of kids and friendly talk at the bar.

So comfortable that my husband has rebooked a weekend next week. Very sad that it is with his work mates!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for the great review.....but sorry about hubby rebooking with the mates! Guess it wont help if I told you we currently have well over 2Mts of snow, with more on the way as I write. You still have time for a girls weekend away if you are quick??? Thanks again for taking the time to post!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Having just got back from 5 days at The Matterhorn I wanted to share the fantastic experience we had. The kids loved the big games room and nothing was too much trouble for Aaron the manager and the young staff all seem to enjoy their jobs. We found the meals were great and better than what we expected particularly when considering The Matterhorn is a ski lodge and not a hotel. The location to the lifts was great and the price makes this our first choice for next year and we can’t wait to comeback.

All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave the great feedback. We sincerely believe The Matterhorn offers great value for money, particularly when coupled with the Family Pack and Awesome Foursome specials. This makes the unique experience of staying "on mountain" accessible to a whole lot more people. Thanks again, Aaron and the crew hopes to see you back next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Very old and run down. Dirty rooms, no cleaning done the week of my stay. No clean towells and no towell rack to dry towells out in our room. No power point near kettle to boil so your kettle hangs from the power point in the bathroom. Bar very uninviting, staff more interested in their own FB than serving customers. Broken equipment in games room. Run out of different foods for breakky therefore accused of having extra people stay in our rooms. Our expectations were not high, we are campers but a clean room and toilet would have been nice & simple things like green veg with main meals would go a long way. I would not recommend this lodge & have never complained about accommodation anywhere before. That wraps it up for me.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Really disappointed to get this review. I believe the writer (as was the previous) were part of the large group that stayed during the post school holiday period in July. We believed we had dealt with all the group's members concerns in a timely and professional manner by corresponding directly with them. Clearly not! All that is left to say is that I hope that when next they travel to the snow they can find a property commensurate with their budget and one that exceeds their expectation in both location and levels of service and that they acknowledge that on TA as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bowral
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were a family of 4, We were Instructed like Children as soon as we checked in. Things were broken like towel racks etc, no glasses in room to get a drink of water. Towels, Pillows and Glasses in short supply and had to argue with staff to get these thing. We only had our rooms looked at once in 7 days. While food was really nice, we were hassled for eating Meals we hadnt paid for and found the staff less than friendly , rather tellling us all the problems rather than fixing them. A few simple hospitality manners would have gone a long way , The Mattherhorn appeared to be rundown with alot of the games room equipment broken and the bar area old and looked dirty.

Room Tip: make sure aske for a room with enclosed Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, General Manager at Matterhorn Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Obviously disappointed to get a review as such but I believe the writer is referring to the week after the NSW/ACT school holiday period. Since that time maintenance and provisioning have been undertaken to repair the electronic games and towel rail etc. Again our apologies for the food issue, but our lodge management believed they had more guests inhouse then our licence allowed, a serious issue and one that was never resolved to anyone's satisfaction during that week. I am pleased you the thought the food "nice" though. The property although built in the 70-80s (as were most of the commercial lodges in Perisher) could be described as dated but we sincerely believe the product represents excellent value for money, considering the ski out location and the opportunity to access Family Specials, Awesome Foursome and Pay 4 stay 5 deals etc. during this week. Having said that, we would clearly love to refurbish the entire property but are limited by the seasonal nature of our industry and the income associated with it. In closing, I hope when next the writer visits the Snowy Mountains the property chosen meets the expectation, and again sincerely apologise that we failed to meet that expectation on this ocassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matterhorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Lodge

Address: Kosciuszko Rd., Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty lodging in Perisher Valley
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Perisher Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Lodge to your Saves list