We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Perisher Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Lodge
Kosciuszko Rd., Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great family lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Matterhorn Lodge for a ski weekend. The rooms are generous in size, the food was great (& well sized for hungry skiers!), common areas were roomy & the entire lodge is well run by friendly staff.
Location wise the lodge is a bit of a hike uphill on snow (or slush) covered roads from the main ski tube terminal so you do rely on the oversnow transport to get there. In the mornings however, it is possible to ski direct from the lodge door to the quad chair (providing the creek is well covered with snow & you get a decent run up).
The lodge advertises complimentary pick ups with luggage on Friday afternoons from the ski tube from a certain time, however we called them earlier than the designated time & they were more than happy to come & get us. Likewise on the Sunday morning, we were able to have our luggage transported earlier than advised so we could stow it for the day elsewhere & get an earlier start on the slopes.
For people unable to keep their car parked at Perisher for the weekend, the Sunday transport times may not be convenient - (either between 9am-10am or 2.30pm which means their final ski day is cut short unless someone takes the ski tube back to get their car & returns to Perisher for the bags to be stored for the day). I wonder however if the lodge would be flexible with this if asked as they were very happy to help with everything else.
For kids the games room adjacent to the bar was great entertainment. Adults could be close enough to supervise their children, while still able to relax around the fireplace. Bar prices were expensive, but so is everything on snow. I was pleasantly surprised with the Friday night meal we bought over the bar (not included in the package price). This cost $15 for adults or $10 for kids for a generously sized dish (3 choices). Given that we were effectively 'trapped' in the lodge for the evening due to poor weather, they could have charged what they wanted for food & we would have been forced to buy it.
While staying on snow makes for an earlier ski start, in Perisher you are disadvantaged by the terrain in the village as it is difficult to walk at night on the snow/slush covrered roads. These are not cleared because they are used by the oversnow vehicles - & paying $12 per person for a one way trip of 800 metres seemed a rip off.
Overall we were very happy with our accommodation choice - but think for better value next year we'll ski overseas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Matterhorn Lodge boasts a great location & friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, clean & warm with access to a bar & welcoming lounge area with a fire, pool tables, flatscreen televisions & video games.

The managers Lee & Shaye make incredible hosts who are knowledgeable & down to earth. Highlights for my partner & I (after exhausting days on the slopes) was the mouth watering lamb rump & Rainbow trout served with friendly, interractive staff. The Matterhorn is good for families, groups & couples alike.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The service here was below average - I never saw a person at reception to ask questions about specifics of our stay (if our room was ready, meal times, transfer options) My $15 dinner on the Friday night was cold but the portions were nice and big so it did fill your belly. The bar was uninviting and seemed more worried about socialising with other staff member rather than worrying if my family would like a drink or any assistance.

The rooms were dated and not touched since original opening of the hotel, there was also rubbish under our beds - The bathroom was very small and the towel rack was not secured making it difficult to have your clothing or towle in the bathroom whilst washing. IT WAS A NICE LARGE FAMILY ROOM BUT FOR 6 PEOPLE IT HAD ONLY 2 ARMCHAIRS IN THE SUNROOM MAKING IT DIFFICULT FOR US TO ALL SIT AROUND TOGETHER AND HAVE A NICE CONVERSATION ABOUT OUR DAY.

Location to Perisher was great and there is a nice big family area with games and lounges where parents like to let thier children run around whilst they relax. We had a great view of front valley from our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Matterhorn has a few years under its belt,however the rooms are spacious & very clean. Staff are amazing all are very welcoming & you are made to feel very comfortable. After a days skiing to be able to enjoy a glass of wine by the fire whilst the children played in with games room was blissful,then to be invited into the dining room , place your feet under the table & be served a delicious meal ,it does not get any better than that that.

"Cant wait to go back "

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed late Sept and had plenty of snow to the door. The lodge is one of the closest and ski-out in the morning is great but trudging the 100m slightly uphill in the afternoon is not at all fun.
Accommodation was clean and comfortable though certainly not plush. We had a family room of the lower floor and had no issues with noise. The light in the tiny ensuite was on a timer that was a real pain until I fixed it with a toothpick. The lounge area is nice and there are some game tables for kids to play at while waiting for dinner. We really enjoyed the food, good quality and large servings, friendly staff. I actually found the one meal time good as everyone was eating together and you got to recognize the other guests. Dinner on the Tuesday was brought forward so people could go night skiing on front valley. We arrived early and were able to get into our room @ 12:30 so got a full afternoons skiing on perhaps the best day of the year. The lodge does do it's own oversnow pickup and drop-off but not at really convenient times for use to catch the bus to Canberra.
Memories of the afternoon trudge may mean looking at one of the 2 or 3 hotels "on-the-lifts" next time (we had stayed at RiverInn@ Thredbo previously) but this was good value and probably a better resort for children who are getting above "beginner"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

A friend and I stayed Friday to Sunday in July and booked it thru a Jindabyne booking service. The information we were given said that free over snow transport by the lodge is available after 3pm, we arrived 9:30am and because of the wet snow on the tracks paid for a Hans over snow ride at $12 a head for a 300m trip only to find out later from the lodge manager that he could of picked us up if we had phoned

The staff was friendly and helpful, on arrival the manager did check if we could go straight to our room, it wasn’t ready so showed us where we could stash our gear while we hit the slopes

The rooms were bigger than I expected but the ensuite was quite small in comparison, the single beds were comfy enough, the fixtures and ensuite are quite dated. The building itself has been built as cheap as possible and it looks as though not much has been spent on it or the furniture since. The bar did run out of a couple of things and the prices were not bad for the location except a bottle of 1.25 litre of coke was $10, so bring your own

We had different experiences with the food, our accomm. Package did not include Friday nights set dinner menu which included a beef Thai salad as an entree, on asking we were told if there was enough left over we could have it as a main for $15, it was really good. Breakfast on Saturday consisted of cereals, canned fruit, yogurt, toast and a selection of hot foods (from memory, hash browns, sausage, baked beans and what looked liked powered eggs which most people seemed to leave on their plate) you could not get bacon and eggs. Saturday night’s dinner is again set along with the time (everybody is expected to be seated for it at 6:30)with soup as entree (not bad) a beef stew (well below average) and a vegetarian dish, and either ice cream or the sticky date pudding to finish. Sunday breakfast much the same except bacon and eggs (poached only) was available.

From the front door we could get to within 20m of the lifts, you had to make sure you had a clear run. The run back to the lodge is a different story, coming off the slopes flat out and I mean flat out, jumping the creek we still fell short of the main road and had to walk about 300m in the slop back to the lodge. The lodge is still closer to the lifts than most of the others

Would we stay again, yes but we would bring some supplies with us

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Travelled to Perisher with my daughter for a long weekend.
The hotel is in a great location about five minutes walk from the SkiTube station and the main Perisher centre. If the roads are clear, don't succumb to paying for the Hans Oversnow taxi ride as it really isn't worth it.
The hotel is quite nicely laid out with a decent sized lounge area and games room (combined) to keep the kids occupied. As the area is licenced it means you get to have a post ski drink, without the kids getting bored. Made for pleasant evenings sitting by the fire.
The rooms themselves were okay for a ski lodge. Some of the furniture was in pretty bad shape, but overall it was clean and comfortable and fine for crashing after a day on the snow. One problem for light sleepers is the proximity of the artificial snow makers that run continuously through the night when there is no natural snow.
All the staff were friendly and good with the kids, so no complaints there at all. Breakfast was okay in the mornings, with choice of cereals, toast, yoghurt/fruit and a basic cooked buffet. Plenty of juice, tea and coffee to suit.
The only thing that really let it down was the quality and limited choice of the packaged evening meal. They offered a meat or vegetarian choice for adults and a single choice for kids. If you have kids who are fussy eaters, they will probably go hungry most nights forcing you back out to Perisher Station to get a meal. The overall quality of the meal was cheap pub or canteen equivalent and you are stuck with a rigid 18:30 sit down time, ruling out evening skiing if available.
Overall I was quite happy with the lodge, it was just a shame that the food let it down so badly. Would recommend it for families but not for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matterhorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Lodge

Address: Kosciuszko Rd., Perisher Valley, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2624, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Perisher Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty lodging in Perisher Valley
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Hotel Perisher Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matterhorn Lodge to your Saves list