We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold showers & not allowed to laugh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach to your Saves list
Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Pambula Beach Rd, Pambula, New South Wales 2549, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Cold showers & not allowed to laugh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for a week over the Sept. school holidays, it was very cramped and hard to manoeuvre our van to our site. The park was nowhere near full although very busy, the showers were cold by 9am. The night watchman visited at 10.20pm on a Saturday night and we were told to be quiet, we were 3 women sitting in our van laughing and talking. To top it off, as a park employee walked past our camp we were told to turn our radio down while listening to the midday news, it was just audible. In total we were told 3 times to be quiet although the jack hammer that was being used for renovations didn't seem to worry people. My husband and I travelled for 3 months around Australia and we're never told to be quiet, this park is over the top and maybe they need a holiday!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Caravan20135, thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and use all comments to further improve and develop the products and services we deliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for only one night but wished we could have stayed longer.
We stayed in a basic 4 berth cabin which was quite dated and very small but suited us fine as we really only used it for sleeping anyway.
The park itself is lovely and our little one particularly loved seeing kangaroos hopping right by our balcony!
The park is right next to a beautiful beach and also has a great playground for the kids.

One thing to note is it was very warm and stuffy in the unit when it was only 22 degrees outside so with no fan or air con I can imagine it would get quite hot in there in Summer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi CL, thanks for review! Hopefully we'll have the chance to welcome you back to the park again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As kids, we use to go to Pambula beach caravan park in the 70s when we were in school & loved it each year. This year we took our 7 year old nephew for a week in January & he absolutely loved it! I think the park was fully booked when we arrived as there was a queue to check in, but this moved quite quickly as they very efficiently escorted us to our site & even raked it to remove the leaves & kangaroo poo before we set up our camper trailer! We stayed up near jumping pillow & our nephew was off in a flash to join in the fun! Over summer they have heaps of activities for the kids - mini golf competitions, concerts, 'red faces' nights, craft activities etc but the kids also enjoy riding their bikes in the park, swimming in one of the 3? pools, playing on the playground or when they get time, swimming at the beach which is only across the sand dunes. It is nice & safe as there is no road to cross to get to the sand. The facilities are clean & there are always staff around tidying up the park in general so it always looks very clean & tidy. i can't recommend this park highly enough if you have kids, if you are adverse to kids maybe don't go in school holidays as it will be a bit quieter.

Room Tip: We prefer sites towards the shop as more kids activities close at hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent Easter and the week following at Pambula Beach Holiday Park. If you love to be crowdered in like sardines then this it the park for you. There is actually nothing 'wrong' with the Park its just that its incredibly BIG and very very busy. I felt like I was in middle surburbia. There are lots of rules but they are only policed (by a very grumpy security guard) when it suits - ie, bike helmets must be worn and no-one was bothering to wear them, also bikes cannot be ridden in certain areas - that wasn't policed either, we nearly got collected a couple of times! My husband rode is bike to the toilet after dark (when kids are in bed) and Mr Grumpy Security Guard threatened to take is bike. Yes, he did do the wrong thing but if you're going to police some rules, then ALL rules should be policed.

The park has a rather large amenities block, always clean and tidy. All the mod cons of a Big 4/Discovery Holiday Park. The Kids Club was really great and the kids made some lovely things to take home. Big pool area and a playground with trampolines, as well and the jumping pillow. The down side to being such a big park is that it was difficult for the kids to get a go on the jumping pillow or the play equipment. Also, the office produces a very informative newsletter each day.

There is a lot of hustle and bustle at the Park, its very well run and there is lots to do for the kids, but it just didn't suit us because of its size and the fact we were jammed in like sardines. We will find another destination next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value all feedback both positive and negative and are always striving to improve on the products and services we provide to our guests. Should you like to discuss any particular aspect of your stay with us please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Never before have we been escorted to our site and seen that the site had been pre- cleaned due to the local kangaroos. Lovely even leveled and some slab sites even marked correctly to set up awnings. Heated tiles in the showers, both heated and outdoor pools, also with one of the cleanest and best camp kitchen we've seen. Keep up the great hospitality guys, we will be back and have already spread the word to other travellers, well worth the extra 10min trip south of Merimbula.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are a young couple who stayed in the double cabin for a one night stop over on our way to Sydney and I wish we could have stayed longer. Cabin was small but comfortable enough for the both of us, nice hot showers, basic supplies on hand and as we booked and paid online we literally were greeted by the friendly staff, given keys and some helpful information and sent on our merry way within 5 minutes. Best part about this place is the location - beautiful beach a 30 second walk from our cabin. As we visited over the easter weekend I was also really impressed as to how well kept the park was considering the large amount of people staying, obviously a fantastic place to stay if you have kids as well. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, thanks for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in a nice 3 bedroom unit within 100 metres of the ocean. Great swimming pool area and playground for children. There are plenty of friendly kangaroos on the property.

The unit had all you could need in the way of facilities, the only criticism is that it could do with either ceiling fans or air conditioning. The bedrooms are far enough away from the living area for those who like an early night. The main living area is light and airy with windows on 3 sides.

It also has excellent access for anyone with a disability. We travelled with an 85 year old and there were no problems.

A nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach

Address: 1 Pambula Beach Rd, Pambula, New South Wales 2549, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Pambula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pambula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Holiday Parks Pambula Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.