We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute dump, avoid at all costs!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Motor Inn

Outback Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nyngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Outback Motor Inn
Save
You added Outback Motor Inn to your Saves list
Mitchell Highway, Nyngan, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nyngan
Merredin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An absolute dump, avoid at all costs!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night. We have two small children. We were just staying in the town for one night before travelling to Dubbo. It was absolutely awful. Where do I even begin? The room was really dirty, the carpets dirty, and the pillows stank. Everything was old and broken, there was no lock on the door. The bathroom was old and the tiles near the sink were broken and cracked all along and hanging off. It was very dirty and the towels provided were boardy and s,elt like sewage. Needless to say we did not hang about for breakfast, checked out as quickly as possible. This is the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in. An absolute disgrace.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed with five mates during july 2012, only for one night, in two rooms. Look the bathrooms may be a touch small, but we had a nice balcony, a few quiet beers at the local services club and a wonderful home cooked meal in room at night. the beds were pretty comfortable and the location quiet. it suited our needs perfectly and i can recommend especially to fishos breaking up a trip to the darling at louth or tilpa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Country hotels/motels in Australia are quite variable and like many have stayed in quite a few. Nyngan is a nice enough town, but f this is the best it has to offer... I am concerned. I had one night on business. The room was very tired and worn, and while not filthy, was in need of redecoration or demolition. I stayed in the wing perpendicular to the highway and to the south. There were two dogs who barked all night and kept most people awake I would imagine. It may have been a roo shooter with dogs in his ute, who knows.

The meal at the restaurant was probably better than expected. Just.
Overall OK as somewhere to stop, but the tired old rooms just left a lasting impression.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This place badly needs a major refurb. The room was depressing, dark and dated. The tiling was from the 1950s era. A broken tap fitting and filthy carpet indicated a lack of interest of the owners. Credit card welcome signs abounded but no mention of extra charges for using them. The Restaraunt was very ordinary and disorganized. A motel of almost last resort. 2 stars.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I can only comment on the massive family room we stayed in which was great. Kitchen modern, no cook top but had a microwave, small fridge, toaster & sink. Great big flat screen tv, modern leather sofa couch. Beds were queen, single and 1 x bunk beds. Dining table. Air con had a mind of its own, but once we worked it out it was ok. Bathroom does need updating, but it was big and kept clean. Shower had great water supply, and staying in winter the nice hot shower with great pressure was a god send. Having a 2 year old we took advantage of the kids play area. I didn't see the pool so cannot comment. Food was awesome. Hot, tasty, and a decent size. I'd stay here again..

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stopped here for our final night of our trip, and there is nothing bad to say about the place. Rooms were clean and tidy, very spacious and comfy. Meals were wonderful, very filling and tasty!
Staff were great also, very friendly and accommodating. This will be our final stop on trips to the outback from now on! Our whole group loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Very helpful staff, room was lovely and clean, enjoyed our stay overnight.
Breakfast was served to our room - excellent meal and hot!
Would go back on a return visit.

Room Tip: Room situated on a main street towards the back of the complex but noise was not a problem for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outback Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Motor Inn

Address: Mitchell Highway, Nyngan, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nyngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nyngan
Number of rooms: 48

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.