We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow factor at Wharf Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Road

Wharf Road
10 Wharf Road, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541, Australia
02 4422 6651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Nowra
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Shoalhaven Heads, NSW, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow factor at Wharf Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Transformed from a grotty boathouse into such an amazing space Wharf Road is the brain child of David and Nicole Campbell. All locals know David from The Hungry Duck in Berry with its mod Asian superb food - but it's a different kettle of fish at Wharf Road. Think beautiful meats seared on the wood fired grill, spicy enchiladas, and kingfish ceviche along with a great wine list and cocktails to die for at very un Sydney prices.
The space is spectacular, white, bright and as sparkling as the water beneath it. Every facet of attention to detail has been thought of from the cosy fire area to the quirky loos.
There are private dining spaces within the whole and a very smart terrace just built for lazy Sunday afternoons listening to Jazz with a Jam Jar Cocktail.
Food - fault less and terrific value. early week lunch specials including a glass of wine are a winner for CBD workers as are the banquet menus with 5 courses for $50.
If you haven't been here yet you have missed out on what has to be the areas best restaurant by miles.
We still love the Duck in Berry but the New child in Nowra firmly puts Wharf Road as a not to miss experience for any visitor or local.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    18
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The worst Fish and Chips I've ever had. Cold chips which had been cooked several times with large amounts of oily batter and little Fish. My 3 friends shared some bread for starters which was recommended by the staff we received 6 very small pieces of bread which if you put together would make 2 slices of bread cost $12.00 what a rip off. My friends were too polite to make a scene, just left it to me but they were also very unhappy with the quality of the food and they were locals. Any way in conclusion Crap Food which was over priced. Restaurant has a reasonable view but very noisy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, location !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon the Wharf Locavore during a recent Tathra stay and couldn't have been more impressed. Delicious food, great coffee and an inspiring and creative attention to detail. Had some wonderful seats in the sun - ideal to just sit and sip, watch the waves and let the moments pass by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Has potential.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We dined there with a party of four and whilst it was OK, we certainly think that they could do better in a few areas. To begin, we booked via email and didn't get a confirmation until about an hour before we were due to be there. Not a great start...

Upon arrival we were greeted and shown to our table by a friendly and efficient team, so that was good. The decor is modern and visually pleasing except for the lighting, which consisted of oversized incandescent globes hung on nautical-looking ropes from the ceiling. The problem was that the lights were too bright and flickered regularly probably as a result of some voltage fluctuation.

The location by the Shoalhaven River is very appealing.

The starters were stunning. We had the soft-shelled crab tacos and the sardines. The flavours were fresh and delicious and we were becoming excited about what the main courses would deliver......

However, the mains weren't anywhere near as good. We had the seafood paella and the snapper fillets, both of which were tasty but not exceptional, and the slow cooked parilla (BBQ) lamb. This last dish came out four or five minutes after the other plates. It had a wonderful texture, but the subtle lamb flavours were masked by too much smokiness, so much so that we couldn't eat much of it.

The wine list had plenty of variety and was not overpriced and the service was generally good except for the late meal noted above.

In summary, I think we will come here again. They have a couple of multi-course menus which could be worth looking at, or we will just go for lunch and have a selection of the starters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good dining in Nowra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stopped here for dinner enroute from Sydney to Sussex Inlet for the weekend. The lamb shoulder with Quinoa and devils kiss chillis was amazing. Great wine list as well!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Road also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.