We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill

Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill
152 Kinghorne St, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 60 Restaurants in Nowra
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Byron Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Interesting concept of "cook your own" at the table. Using hot rocks, the meat/fish is brought out to you raw and you cook it on the stone.

We ordered from the $32 three-course menu deal - works out so much cheaper than buying separate dishes as the mains alone are around $30each.

Bit of confusion regarding drinks - told by one waitress that we had to go to the bar and get our own, but then we watched another waitress take orders/deliver drinks to other diners. ALSO
when we arrived we were given a table at front door and up against storage door as was told that they were fully booked (we arrived at 8pm) yet restuarant wasn't full, and for rest of evening the many tables remained empty, including two 2seater tables with cosy atmosphere. (there were also 5 4seater tables free the whole time we were there).

Food was very delicious - salt&peper squid was very tender, the veges with my main were delicious, good portions of meat - I had the salmon and hubby the steak. good range of sauces/graveys - definately recommend this restuarant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value with a volcanic rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Travelling to a regional town in Australia can often conjure ideas of a bland dining experience. For those who have travelled long distances, sadly it is almost inevitable that even the most discerning gastronomer (foodie) will settle for some “classic” meal that has been served over and over again.

The Shoalhaven has a new restaurant on show – The Southern Stones Bar & Rockgrill located on Kinghorne Street, Nowra. An exciting culmination of quality and value for money, this new and exciting dining experience is not to be missed.

Re-inventing the original Shoreline Restaurant, the owners have realized a prime opportunity and have created a new culinary experience that forces a relationship with the people of the Shoalhaven. Importantly in today’s economic climate and value for money.

Out of the fiery grill, the diner interacts with their meal and consequently enjoys an experience like no other in Nowra. The Southern Stones Bar & Rockgrill is a restaurant that locals are proud of and are always willing to bring their guests along for the great culinary experience.

Upon entering the restaurant you are instantly greeted with a smile by Julie and her team and once seated menus are promptly brought to you. The restaurant has a new and fresh modern approach. The walls are a vibrant splash of red and white with large artistic mesh lights suspended from the roof and the bar could almost be mistaken for an area that has been transported directly from a chic hotel in Sydney. The tables and chairs are simple and free in their approach and once seated, the decision making begins.

Ultimately you cannot draw your eyes away from the last page of the menu that boasts a hearty and well-priced three course menu including satay chicken tenderloins delicately garnished for entrees before heading for the jewel of the Southern Stone Bar and Rockgrill – the main course. You cannot go past the tender prime lean rump steak served to you on a searing volcanic hot rock allowing you to cook the steak exactly how you like it and it is served with a selection of fresh garden salad and vegetables and a side of classic potato chips. For those who like a little extra on the side, you cannot pass up one of Chef’s delicious sauces.

It is always comforting when a menu reflects a diverse range of tastes and requirements, and vegetarians are well catered for. A unique Mediterranean blend of vegetables that can be served to your table on a volcanic rock certainly changing the way you will think of a “red pepper” or capsicum.

Aside from the three course menu, the Southern Stones Bar & Rockgrill offers a great deal more. For the not so hungry diner a selection of entrees such as oysters, prawns and crepes will keep you satisfied or perhaps enjoy the Moroccan spiced lamb cutlets, beef medallions and the Caribbean spiced pork. A delicious fresh selection of salads and fresh vegetables are also available.

Southern Stones Bar and Rockgrill at the Parkhaven Motel is an exciting and interactive dining experience, that is not heavy on the hips or the wallet but coupled into an evening that will have you coming back for a little more volcanic magic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mittagong
1 review
“from bad to awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had travelled to nowra on a sports weekend with my hockey team where we booked at a local renowned restaurant for our meals after a hectic day only to show up and they couldn't seat us as we had been double booked so we were just going to go to the pub for dinner when we drove past the rockgrill and someone suggested we try there so we went and asked. The girl at the counter asked if we had a booking and we said no and was told they were full as well but if we were happy to have a drink at the bar for a few minutes they would re-arrange some seating and fit us in , fortunately a large table had almost finished and we were in with in 10 minutes. We all had the 3 for 32 deal which was awesome, garlic prawns for the entree main was salmon on the rock which the waitress suggested nokcham as the side sauce which was really nice with the salmon and had stickydate for dessert which i must say was the best id ever had the rest of the team enjoyed their meals saying the steak was the tastiest piece of meat and the squid a winner too after a few ales and a discussion with the gorgeous manager we have decided to use their motel and dine at the restaurant next time we come to town

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fresh, new experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

What a terrific way to eat a meal. Cooking on the Rockgrill was so much fun and something we had never experienced before the kids loved it too! The staff were warm and friendly and we had a hard time deciding what to order as there was so much choice. What a great addition to Nowra definitely be back again and again thanks for a great experience

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

For $32 and 3 courses it was good value, however I really don't want to go out and have to cook myself! The entree and dessert were good. As you have a hot stone to cook your main on it splatters all over your clothes and if you like your steak rare you have to eat very fast. Very noisy and busy and a bit slow at times. One of our party was jammed in so tight against a post she was very uncomfortable. The wine service is a bit poor. Didn't have the wine we ordered and took forever to tell us and then bring something else. Easier to go to the bar yourself.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill also viewed

 

Been to Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Stone Bar & Rock Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.