We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kohli's Indian Restaurant

Kohli's Indian Restaurant
116 Kinghorne Street, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541, Australia
+61 2 4421 0300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 60 Restaurants in Nowra
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Kohli’s We trust that you will have a truly unique and distinctive dining experience whilst indulging yourself with the true taste of fine Indian cuisine. From the seemingly infinite diversity of culinary creations existing throughout the Indian subcontinent we have chosen to present some of the more characteristic, yet legendary dishes. We hope that you will have a great time enjoying the a very authentic and varied Indian cuisine along with a very personal service at Both of our Restaurants at Nowra, NSW or Batemans Bay, NSW be it a Dine In or a Take Away experience... :)
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We've eaten at Kohli's twice now and ordered different dishes each visit. The food is okay, but not great. I've eaten Indian food in many, many different restuarants all over the world and this was one of my least favourite Indian dining experiences.

The staff were very friendly, the portions were reasonable value for money but it was not the fantastic dining experience I had expected based on other trip advisor reviews.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sanctuary Point, Australia
1 review
“"FANTASTIC" Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We live roughly 30mins South of Kohlis and it is nothing for us to go there once a fortnight the staff are passionate about the customer and of course the food is as I stated above.
Kohlis, is highly recommended for the locals or the traveler.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentine dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Went here for Valentine dinner with family and had a lovely time. Restaurant was decorated and service great. Everyone enjoyed the meal they ordered. Will definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food .... ever? Certainly comes close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place wins awards constantly, and its no surprise. My family have been long term customers from the time they opened their doors. Many Indian places come and go - and a few things that are key to survival in the spicey food game, Kohli's got right from the beginning. #1. Do NOT modify traditional Indian dishes to what you think Australians like! Dont assume that you will do better if vindaloos are not so hot and then throw in a bit of chilly powder when someone wants it xtra hot! Kohl's food is TASTY as well as the appropriate heat for each trad dish! Some claim they are expensive.. but you honestly get what you pay for here... and the competition is all getting "sliced and diced" cause Kohli's food is a knockout!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Indian food but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The food is very nice with very good portions . We have eaten here a number of times. The house wine also nice however the service was extremely slow -over an hour for mains. Admittedly was very busy Saturday. The owners are friendly. food is definitely tasty. However It is equivalent to upper Sydney price range for Indian in Nowra ... So it is overpriced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kohli's Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Nowra, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Kohli's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohli's Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.