We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zest - CLOSED

Zest
16 Stockton Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
(02) 4984 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were initially a bit hesitant coming here due to previous TA reviews but any concerns were quickly eased. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was attentive with pleasant staff. If any criticism it was the high cost of wine by the glass however the wines listed were superb. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    26
    17
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Zest is the perfect place for a special dinner. The food is unreal - I can see why they have receieved Chef's hats. Both everything my partner and I ate was delicious - Highly recommend the passionfruit souffle!
The service is great also.
It's a really nice night out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“hopeless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

the service was straight out of fawlty towers with --spilled wine-no apology. then we had to clean up the spill for them. we had to ask for salt. they tried to take away our drinks before they were finished without even asking. the food sounded good in the menu but turned out to be really bland and tasteless. and the servings were ridiculously small--by any standard a very overpriced and disappointing night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“High Expectations-High Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoy premium dining in Sydney and do not mind paying top dollar for an enjoyable experience. Whilst holidaying in the area we we selected this hatted restaurant, expecting a night of fine dining. The menu at Zest was enticing and we each ordered three courses. However the portions were minute, comparable to the size of a course from a degustion meal. When patrons are paying in excess of $200 per couple for a meal, they expect not to leave the restaurant hungry.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Totally Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at Zest over the holidays and we were very disappointed, expectation was high as this is a hatted restaurant. After ordering a $100 bottle of wine it was decanted away from our table and we were not even shown the bottle. Could have complained and should have, however we let it go as the waiter was young and inexperienced.
(still no excuse). After finishing our mains we were totally ignored and after quite some time we were brought our bill without being asked if we would like dessert or coffee. Even though we both enjoyed our entree's and main's and we would have ordered dessert etc. we don't feel the $220 bill was worth it as the service was terrible. Management needs to train staff and have a supervisor on the floor as is expected in a hatted restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.