We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martys at Little Beach

Save Saved
You added Martys at Little Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Amazing place. Friendly staff, they really go out of their way to make you happy. We stayed on the ground floor and it was handy next to the pool. The pool was heated, sooooo good. I would recommend to anyone into quality accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do try at all times to exceed guests expectations and very pleased that you enjoyed a great stay -- thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    38
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Marty's has excellent reviews, and they are absolutely deserved! We (family of four) stayed for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The room was clean and stocked with the essentials. The rooms had ceiling fans and loads of windows so it was easy to control the temperature to be comfortable.

The rooms are very modern - tile floors, updated and comfortable furniture, free wi-fi that's reliable and speedy (except in the evenings when usage increases). Window shades are obviously quite new. DVDs are available to borrow (for free) from the office.

Little Beach is a two-minute walk in one direction and another beach is three minutes in another direction. They also provide a heated swimming pool, good for those less than perfect beach days or even getting in a final dip before turning in for the night.

The BBQ is available, clean, and stocked with tools. It gets cleaned every day. Except for the birds outsdie, the hotel is very quiet.

The owners take pride in their hotel, and it clearly shows. The staff is friendly and accommodating.

The two items to note:
- Marty's is advertised as a self-contained apartment. Your room will /not/ be cleaned or made up daily. You will get clean towels every second day and room refreshing weekly. If you expect someone to clean up for you, this isn't the place for you.
- Complementary laundry facilities are available but you must provide laundry soap. There is only one washer and one dryer, so it frequently is not available during the opening times of 8am-5pm. There is a clothes line, but it isn't clear if it's available for community usage. The staff uses some of the lines during the day. A trying rack is available in the room and is a great addition.

Room Tip: All rooms are near the pool, but it closes at 8pm, so this isn't an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Sounds as though you had a great holiday at Marty's ... this we like to hear !
Many thanks for your great review ... it is very much appreciated.
Our apologies if there was no clothes washing detergent .... we do provide this for our guests and we obviously hadn't replaced ... usually under the laundry tub !
Hope to welcome you back one day !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

The 2-bedroom apartment we stayed in was spick & span, beds were clean & very comfortable, I've fallen in love with their fluffy quilt. Beautiful apartment with a very well-equipped kitchen & comfy sofas.

Great location, walkable distance to the beach.

Jenn was very accommodating & friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Marty's !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend staying here at Marty's. We have stayed here a few times before and it just keeps getting better and better! We are a family of 5 ( 3 young children) and can't recommend this place highly enough. Our kids just have a ball around the pool and playground and we love it as the pool and play areas are so conveniently located to the apartments, so feels like a holiday for us too! It is located in a top spot to Little Beach, Shoal Bay.. we didn't actually use the car.. we walked everywhere!
We have stayed in a few of the apartments now and they are all fantastic for different reasons, but I must say they are all so immaculately clean and tidy and just have little touches to make them so homely and set them apart from other places we have stayed! Jenn and all the other staff were so incredibly friendly and welcoming, we didn't actually want to leave!
Can't wait to come back for another holiday.

Room Tip: For young families, suggest a ground floor apartment, but any of them are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello to the WHITE Family
Thank you so very much for your fantastic review... it is OUR pleasure having such a beautiful family staying at Marty's ! Look out for the photos that you sent ... we have posted on our Facebook page. They are great !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found Marty's to be clean and comfortable, in a great spot in Port Stephens. It's a very short walk to 2 beaches and close to town as well. The heated pool was great, especially after a long drive that day in the rain. We received a friendly welcome on arrival. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We would like to say thank you for your fantastic review.
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This Great boutique accommodation is going to give the places in Port Stephens a run for their money. From the first phone enquiry through until the end of our short stay we couldn't fault the service. Jen was so very helpful. Every detail of this self contained accommodation was given meticulous attention both inside & out. We have stayed in 5 Star Hotels before, but this little Gem of a place was cleaner than any accommodation we have stayed in. Modern clean decor, Comfy Bed with best quality linen, helpful travel advice, complimentary DVD library, Privacy, Guest Laundry with dryer, Great pool, & very clean BBQ area with plenty of room for seating and only a 2 Min stroll on designated pathways to Little Beach and Shoal Bay. The sunsets at Little Beach make this location very special. Everything about this property internally & externally is maintained with pride and makes for a very comfortable relaxing stay. We felt very at home and wish we had longer in this beautiful little place. We will be back one day.

Room Tip: If you have children the lower ground apartments would be very handy for the children swimming in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
This review is why we love hospitality ..... the hard work is worth it when you can exceed a guests' expectations ! It is very rewarding when you can make a holiday memorable. Thank you so much for choosing Marty's and we would love to welcome you back ... you are now part of the Martys "family" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in a Queen studio room for our anniversary getaway. It was a shame that all the packages they offered was booked out, but they still managed to do something nice for us (made a big heart shape out of lollies in the middle of our bed) as I made request to surprise my partner. They also had complimentary gifts for us to say thank you for our stay which is thoughtful and adds a very nice touch to our experience.

Jenn the receptionist was very friendly and welcoming, she gave us a personal service of showing the property and what's around for us to do and see.

Great location, nice and quiet street, stituated inbetween two beaches which are less than 4min walk away, and you can catch the beautiful sunset from little beach or the sunrise on the other beach. Also its just less than 5min drive away into the main town.

Definitely recommend it for other couples, and would stay here again for our next trip to Nelson Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review !
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Glad you enjoyed the surprise ..... " it's the LITTLE things that count" !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay
Martys At Little Beach Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martys at Little Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.