We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The comfort of home from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martys at Little Beach

Save Saved
You added Martys at Little Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martys at Little Beach
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The comfort of home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We recently travelled over from England with our 7 month old baby and had a stay at Marty's. It was perfect for our needs. The apartment was clean and fresh and fully equipped with all the facilities we required for ourselves and our little one. It felt like home from home which was perfect after such a long journey.
The heated swimming pool was perfect for our baby to splash around in and is gated for maximum security and peace of mind. The location is perfect being close to amenities and only a couple minutes walk from a gorgeous beach. Staff and management were fantastic and always friendly and happy to help.
Martys provided our family with a hassle free, fantastic holiday enjoyed by all! A definite recommendation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hello to our "English" visitors !
Thank you for your recommendations and comments. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us - very enjoyable and rewarding. We hope to see you back again NEXT YEAR !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    38
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My daughter and I (plus dog!) had 4 nights at Marty's and we could have stayed another week.
Delightful staff, extremely helpful and friendly. Brand new rooms that look amazing.
Doggy beach a few minutes away - Bagnall beach. Heated pool to 26 degrees. DVD and toy library. Wifi. Foxtel. Plus a pet friendly apt with its own enclosed yard. We cant wait to return!
Thank you for a wonderful stay :-> (Apt 2)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Many thanks. We are so pleased with the comments we are receiving about our 'pet friendly' apartment. Give a pat to your beautiful puppy for us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Marty's on Litlle Beach for 2 very long days....We didnt sleep both nights we were there. The booklet in the room says all over it to remeber to relax and recuperate what aload of rubbish...Tried to sleep in, the cars were coming and going all morning while people talked loudly just outside your window no clue or care for others who wanted to sleep in past 8.45 am because their on holiday!!!!! Its not a crime !!!! The apartment next to Martys lives a bunch of fruit loops obsessed with mowing, wiper snippering and blower machines, and machines that cut edges from 8am till 7pm...Not to mention the girl who lives in the back unit is a stalking wackjob.....watches you constanly and stalks your every move them moons you because she thinks you have nothing better to do than to watch her beware of your cars to people this girl is a werido.....If you dont like people being around move from the units u live in......She stands naked flashing people and believe me most men would like this but get a close up before hand...I have never felt more uncomfortable than at Martys and we would never stay there again....Soryy to be so negative but I truly felt we wasted our money staying there.....

Room Tip: Dont pick and rooms that are from 8-14
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The issues that you experienced were not on our property and, therefore, out of our control boundaries but obviously affected your stay. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. We do hope that the apartment facilities meet with your approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at Martys in a two bedroom upstairs apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool area.The apartment was very spacious and clean. It was very well furnished and had all the equipment and utensils we needed for a very comfortable stay. The pool area also contained two BBQs and childrens play equipment. The heated pool was appreciated as the the water in the Bay was still a little chilly. The location was quiet but very close to both Little Beach (very good for children) and Shoal Bay and there was a cafe just around the corner which served great breakfasts.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms get less noise from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back whenever you are in the area again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights with our two boys (age 6 months and 3 years) at Marty's this week, as a way to break a road trip between Byron bay and Sydney. Our apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location, 2 blocks from the calm water of little beach, about a block from Shoal Bay, is fantastic. And the pool was perfect for our older road warrior to burn some energy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and had a relaxing time.
Hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Marty's for a family weekend and were delighted with our spacious 2 bedroom accommodation, the largest in the apartment block - No 1.
I accompanied by daughter, son-in-law & their 2 children for this weekend away and enjoyed a relaxing time by the pristine pool and barbeque amenities. The rooms were spacious, spotless and tastefully decorated. Our apartment was on 2 levels where the kids or the adults could have their own space in the downstairs entertainment area leading to an enclosed courtyard. Everything and everybody was so 'guest friendly' with a fully equipped kitchen, modern bathrooms, air con and all 1st class amenities.
We also loved the 2 minute walk to Little Beach!
Definitely we will be returning to Marty's at Little Beach - perfect for the kids and adults.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor apartment, as we did, if you have young children and want to constantly keep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to host your family 'get-together'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our family of 5 (3 kids aged 8, 5 and 4 months) stayed at Marty's over the weekend and we truly didn't want to leave. We have stayed there before the renovations and now after and it is just so fantastic. All the apartments have been fully renovated and are like brand new! We stayed in a 2 bed apartment on the ground floor and it is just so easy with the kids playground and pool within easy view and distance, yet all enclosed so we could let them play to their hearts content! Highly recommend apartment 3 as it is private with a little grass area for the kids to play as well as easy access to pool area.
Special mention of the cleanliness of the whole apartment complex - we have stayed at a lot of apartments and the whole place was spotless!
Marty's at Little Beach is in a top spot - on the beach one way and walk 2 mins to kiddies beach the other!
We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn A, Manager at Martys at Little Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Many thanks again Lisa for your comments. We are so pleased that you visited us again and had a chance to experience our refurbishments. We are more than happy to have you and your family stay with us anytime. Beautiful family !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martys at Little Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martys at Little Beach

Address: Cnr Gowrie Ave & Intrepid Close., Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Casablanca Apartments Martys at Little Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Martys at Little Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location! Location! Spectacular Location!Quietly nestled between two of Port Stephen’s most idyllic beaches but still close enough to the heart of all the Bay’s great restaurants and attractions, Marty’s is in the perfect location to do everything or....absolutely nothing at all!Totally refurbished inside and out in August 2012 - you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the style, elegance and quality - not to mention the affordability!So when you arrive, leave the car (and your stress) in the car park - you won’t be needing them - and take a two minute walk west to stunning Little Beach. Soft white sand, perfect swimming for the kids, boat ramp and one of the best scuba diving spots on the east coast.A tad breezy today? No problem. Simply walk two minutes east and find a protected spot on the uncrowded Shoal Bay Beach - postcard perfect!Take a big deep breath in.... now exhale... and relax... you’re on holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Martys at Little Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martys At Little Beach Hotel Nelson Bay
Martys At Little Beach Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martys at Little Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.