We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lure to your Saves list
Oaks Lure
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My hotel style room was very comfortable with a small kitchen. The bed was big and roomy and the bathroom spacious. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the main shopping area with a supermarket, restaurants and many specialty shops and also close to the Marina with more shops and restaurants. Something for everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Its is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Oaks Lure Aparments.
Thankyou for your lovely feedback, its great to know how much you enjoyed your accomodation and the facilities at our lovely property.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Nelson Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    56
    39
    20
    17
See reviews for
45
62
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the Oaks Lure in December 2013. Given it was peak season, we payed a premium, however when I realised what we got for the $250 a night we paid I was bitterly disappointed!
1. The room was advertised as a king bed HOTEL room. However upon arrival we were advised that I had booked an unserviced room. This was not clear at the time of booking, and given how much we paid a night I felt very very cheated!! How is a hotel room unserviced? We used the same towels for our entire visit because I refused to pay extra for new towels!
2. Our HOTEL room had a joining door to another room and I could literally hear out neighbors all night! Terrible!
3. They offer free parking but its on a first come first served basis. A couple of nights we went out for dinner and came back only to realise there was no space for our car and we were forced to park on the street.
4. They have free Internet, but they did not have WIFI (or we couldn't get a signal from our room). So I couldn't even utilize this service on the iPad.
5. Cleanliness left alot to be desired - the linen was dirty upon arrival.
6. The best thing this place had going for it was its location - just a short walk to the shops and marina.

The apartments may be good, but I really can't comment because we didn't see them. In terms of a hotel, I was very disappointed. If you're looking for a hotel in Port Stephens, look elsewhere, or don't pay any more than $120 a night for this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback with regard to your recent stay here at Oaks Lure Apartments.
It was dissapointing to hear your comments regarding your visit with us.
As previously discussed we do offer different packages to offer alternate options to guests. To ensure your stay was enjoyable and comfortable we did however supply you with all extra linen at no expense to you throughout your stay.Our parking is FOC and therefore is not allocated. As you stayed with us during the days leading up to NYE this is the busiest week of the year and sometimes a couple of spaces fall short and during this time can be hard to avoid.
We do offer offer FOC internet however this is not advertised as WI-FI.
Please be assured had we had been made aware of any housekeeping issues with your room during your stay we would have attended to this immediatley. We take pride in offering the highest of standards to our valued guests.
We were happy to address your issues during your stay and as discussed Oaks Hotels & Resorts do have alternate accomodation options in Port Stephnes with more of a "resort" atmosphere which may have been better suited to your needs.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future to one of our many properties we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very nice place to stay, the reception staff was very helpful. Rooms are nice and give a refreshed feeling. Hotel is a walking distance from Marina. Swimming pool is small but good for kids with maintained temperature. Highly recommended to people who want to stay in Nelson Bay.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and found our service friendly and helpful.
We are in a great location here in Nelson Bay being just a short stroll from the Marina and all it has to offer.
Again, we thankyou for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really lovely accommodation. Very very family friendly. Friendly staff, helpful, beautifully clean... Pool is great with a small paddling area great for little ones. really lovely feel. clean comfy beds and bathrooms. Watch the stairs in the split level rooms, quite steep but manageable. We loved our stay. Other guests lovely, friendly and respectful. We wanted to stay longer. Will definitely be back. Thank you Oaks Lure!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments on your recent visit to Port Stephens.
Oaks Hotels & Resorts aim to provide the highest standard of accommodation and customer service to our valued guests. It is always wonderful to hear such great feedback.
It is great that you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our lovely pool area whilst you were here.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Nelson Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This service apartment was very large and had a well-equipped kitchen, lounge area, dining area and room. We stayed in a room that had 2 sub-set rooms inside...i.e. there was door which led to apartment "A" and then apartment "B" then there was a long staircase (which was very difficult for us to unload our luggage). There was a very large balcony and garden area but no view. Our bedroom was also right next to the where people walk from reception and didn't feel private. Price was very reasonable as we went during May. About a week after our stay staff called me and accused me of using the other apartment "B" and that there was evidence someone stayed there. I only travelled with my partner (2 of us) and felt very upset of this accusation. After the conversation there was no more follow up on this issue. But if someone did sneak into the other apartment, i would highly question the safety of this complex.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback with regard to your stay with us at Oaks Lure apartments back in May this year.
It was pleasing to hear that you found your accomodation to be clean and spacious and of good value.
At times the requirements of our guests change with perhaps some extra family members wanting to stay in which we are more than happy to accomodate should there be availablity.
It is necessary for staff to follow up on guests from time to time to clarify a situation as this is an operational requirement. Please be assured that any phone call made from our office is purely to ask a question and not an accusation of any kind.
We hope you can appreciate the need for us to investigate different situations to ensure all of our guests experience the highest of customer service and also to experience the best stay possible.We hope to be able to welcome you back for a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

From the outset I would like to state that I have absolutely no problem with the staff at The Oaks Lure @ Nelson Bay. Danielle & Leah were pleasant, polite & very helpful at all times. What I do have a problem with is the lack of full disclosure of what is & is not included in my booking fee. When the website says a King Size bed I don't expect 2 single beds pushed together on a King size base. Every Hotel/Motel I have stayed at for multiple nights includes in the booking price services such room cleaning, bed making, replacement towels & toilet paper etc. I found out later much to my disgust that you have to pay extra for what I feel are basic services. Disclose/state these facts on the 1st page of your Advertisement so I/We know what we are paying for before I pay my money & confirm my booking !!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Nelson Bay.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
It was lovely to hear your comments with regard to Leah & Danielle. All staff take great pride in giving the highest of customer service at all times.
With regard to your bedding these are King Size Spilt beds which have now become quite popular within the hospitality industry. They enable us to provide multiple bedding options to our guests which we find works very well. As we are Serviced apartment style accomodation we offer differnet rate package options to guests. If an unserviced package is selected by a guest we do charge extra for replacement of extra items required during their stay.This allows us to offer our rooms at a reduced rate which are great value. We do however offer daily servicing which included replenishment of all items daily should guests prefer to select the serviced rate option.
I appreciate your thoughts with regard to the above as we do understand that their is always room for improvement. We strive to have all guests experiance an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We hope to welcome you back again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I understand that the development has different categories of rooms. We stayed in a hotel style room on the road side. There we no views.

Everything about the accommodation is at best adequate. The room was small, a bit like walking into an Ikea demonstration suit. Clean, neat, simple, white, and cheap. Probably OK provided they plan to replace every 4 or 5 years. (It is due for an upgrade). The bed was a disgrace. They sell a King Size double bed which turns out to be two king size "single" beds out together. I hate “zipper beds” but this did not even have a zipper. So as we all expect, you find yourself waking during the night as you slide between the beds.

Bench space is limited, bathroom mirror is the smallest we have ever seen, TV is an older style (ie not flat screen), only one down light in the main part of the room. Bathroom exhaust fan sounded like a roadside jack hammer. The room included a refrigerator, microwave oven, tea making facilities, radio and DVD player and tissues, yippee. No blinds, only shear curtains and external "fins" or "blades" that can be closed or opened by hand after opening and leaning through a window. The room was air-conditioned. There are an insufficient number of power points. You have to crawl under the cheap Ikea style desk to put plugs in and out if you want tea and toast and you can't do that and have the radio/DVD player on. Bed end power points are hidden behind the bed, and it is a struggle to get to them. Power points are Important today with the number of electronic equipment we all carry around with us and which need to be charged. Congratulations though for having power points in the bathroom.

The swimming pool and surrounds are very nice and the water was a pleasant temperature. The pool faces north. As is common there are not nearly enough pool lounges or chairs for the number of rooms. Sad that they don’t provide pool towels. I am not sure I have come across this before. We were told to use our room towels, which were at this point wet and as the room aren't serviced daily, no chance of a dry towel. So, you need to pack your own pool towel!

It is within an easy walk to the main town and about a 10 minutes walk to nice breakfast cafes.

Service was friendly and OK. One of the light globes in the room had blown and it was quickly replaced.

As noted Oaks Lure is at best adequate and only while/if the rates are at the lower end of the range, say below $125 per night for a non view room, would I consider it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Port Stephens.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
As you did book our basic room type being the hotel room, these do only provide basic facilities for guests and enable us to offer affordable alternate booking options to our valued guests. We have some lovely 1bd and 2bd apartments which offer views and upgraded facilities.
Guests are offered different accommodation tarrifs which can include serviced or un serviced options. We would have been more than happy to offer you fresh towels at reception for a small fee throughout your stay. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our position and lovely surrounds of Nelson Bay. Our pool area is really lovely and we are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy this popular area within our property.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to Oaks Lure, or one of our many other properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Address: 20 Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay
Oaks Lure Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.