We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   81 Stockton Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Nelson Bay B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and it was a truly relaxing stay. Trish and Iain are great hosts and their local knowledge is so useful making it such a great B&B experience. We had the room with the spa and it was so luxurious. Everything was clean and tidy, the cooked breakfast was great and this was an all-round perfect getaway.

Thanks guys,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have been visiting here for "ever" and have never written a review. Everything is class including its owners who only have your comfort and enjoyment in mind. Without doubt great amenities and proximity to Nelson Bay itself make this an ideal 2-3 night stop. Value for money is outstanding as is the breakfast and afternoon tea which Trish prepares. Rarely have we stayed anywhere and walked out thinking that we were friends rather than guests. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a spa room. its worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay. Recommend the spa rooms! Great location and what a relaxing atmosphere! Will definately be back! Just a short walk into town which was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle in our little oasis retreat! The room was modern and perfect! Breakfast was delicious and Trish was such a gracious host. Thankyou!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Portland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in one of the B&B's spa rooms for a weekend. Iain and Trish are fantastic hosts with a wealth of local knowledge from where to eat out to all the local attractions, whale watching, stockton beach sand dunes etc. Our room was very clean, tidy and the luxuriousness of the spa just topped the weekend off. This brings me to the smell of waking up to freshly baked bread in the morning for our lovely breakfasts. Overall we thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Nelson Bay B & B happily to all our friends and family. Thank You Iain & Trish we will certainly be back!
Regards Barry & Rachael

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Relaxing Getaway for my partner and I. We both appreciated the hospitality of the hosts and the comfort of the room. The spa facilities provide a perfect opportunity for couples who want the opportunity to have some relaxing time after a day in the sun. Breakfast provided is deligtfuly fresh and will wake you up for a day on the beach.

Room Tip: For couples, be sure to choose a room with a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I would like to Congratulate Iain and Trish on their unfailing hospitality and wealth of knowlege about the activities/attractions and eateries in the area.
Such a Beautiful House and Tasty Breakfast each morning.
It was truly a memorable stay, Thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A most enjoyable 4 night stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Great location,convenient and quiet. Our hosts, Trish and Iain made us feel most welcome and were very obliging. Breakfast was a delight each morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 81 Stockton Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson Bay B&B (AAA 4 1/2 star rated since 1997) is located in the heart of Port Stephens in the township of Nelson Bay. Just 800 metres to the centre of town, you have the convenience of walking to restaurants, marina, boating activities, beaches, but still enjoy the peace of our bushland setting. Our architect-designed purpose built B&B suitable for adults only, offers comfortable and private accommodation in a separate building. (more like a boutique motel)The B&B offers separate accommodation including 3 queen rooms, each with ensuites, A/C, Ceiling fans, Bar Fridge, Tea & Coffee facilities, Flat TV, DVD, Cable (foxtel) and free wireless internet. The tariff includes a great continental breakfast (cooked breakfast at additional charge) which includes Fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, juices, latte, tea, etc. and our homemade bread for toast.2 rooms have private enclosed balconies with private Spa's, 1 room has a private balcony overlooking a bushland reserve. Other facilities include a guest lounge/dining area with gas log fire, BBQ area, Microwave, Coffee machine, guest laundry, library of movies, free wireless internet, office facilities, off street parking,tour bookings with discount on tours.We also do gift vouchers, with no expiry date.The accommodation is not suitable for people with mobility issues as there are stairs to the B&B.We are approx a ten minute walk to town centre, whether you want a quiet break or an active holiday, Nelson Bay B&B will provide you with comfort and service so you really enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Bed And Breakfast Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.