We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nice Cafe

Nice Cafe
3 Government Dv, Nelson Bay, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 67 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff were friendly and was great service, however the food was average. A bit pricey for what it was...both of us had the eggs with hollandaise sauce and they have heaps of options for what to have with it, but the hollandaise had way to much vinegar in it and we were both crook afterwards. Food not worth the price

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hands down the best cafe experience for a gluten free family in Nelson Bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As a gluten free family this place was amazing, not only did they have a fantastic selection of food they were even prepared to cook fish in rice flour.

My Cesar Salad has to be hands down the best I've ever had, and I've had a lot! Fantastic presentation, succulent chicken and delicious sauce! Every one of our meals was presented with artistic flair and the flavours were to be compared to a hatted restaurant.

Great value, high class food, fantastic service and a place filled with a passion for all the right touches. We will be revisiting on our next trip to Nelson Bay!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Nice is right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great service, very friendly staff. Cool day but staff very helpful in organising a table in a warm nook. Nice to see tea served with a proper, lovely, dainty teacup. Huge serves, delicious chipolata sausage and tomato jam. Bacon and egg rolls, perfect. Love the menu inside the children's little 'Golden Books'. Good location overlooking the water. Like the summary in the menu of who the staff are and the connections, a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food! great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Those who say this cafe is overpriced obviously don't live in the city!! The prices at this cafe are normal cafe prices! And the servings are huge so it's worth every cent! love the cute menus, using children's books (I have a son and this came in very handy over breakfast). Love the tomato jam mmmm heaps better food and cafe than sandyfoot cafe that people rave on about! and practically the same price for better food, better menu options & better atmosphere! I'd highly recommend nice cafe! Will be going back here next time we visit shoal Bay Area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“SERIOUSLY...This was more expensive than Bills in Sydney”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Over $70 for 2 breakfasts and coffee (and by breakfast I mean 2 eggs, potato hash, bacon and tomato slop?? But they did make a pretty butter flower!! That must have been the expensive part). It costs less at Bills in Sydney for a hell of a lot more. This is by far the worst value for money we have encountered in Australia. Even Bondi is cheaper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nice Cafe also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Nice Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.