We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty to do. A good day out, instead of going the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toboggan Hill Park

Toboggan Hill Park
Salamander Bay, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 4984 1022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 18 Attractions in Nelson Bay
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Plenty to do. A good day out, instead of going the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Lots of activities so close to Nelson Bay and Salamander Bay. Very reasonably priced too. Take the kids and have a ball!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    15
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Spent much more time than expected here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Caveat: It was ACT's school break but not NSW, so everything was much quieter than normal.

That said, we purchased a family pack of 12 activities for $80 (and they were increasing it to 16 activities); they offered 16 activities (bumped to 20) for $100. The activities included most anything that the park offered: maze - which wasn't staffed this particular day so didn't actually cost us anything, jumpy castle, rock climbing wall, kiddie kars, Splash Down, mini golf, and the toboggan rides. (The hot ice skating is only available with the larger family pack.) Children must be 8 to ride the toboggan alone, but when riding with an adult, they are not charged for a ride. It's a fun experience, but 3-4 rides is probably enough for the day. The mini golf is 19 holes and has some unique structures. Note that the golf winds through trees, so bug spray may be good for those who are bothered by mossies.

We expected to spend a couple of hours but ended up wishing they had a cafe so we could get a bite to eat. (They may have more food options during busier periods.)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Liked the toboggans, the putt putt, the Splash down waterbombs and indoor climbing. Great value for a family with four kids, plenty to do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Most attractions were fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Toboggan Hill Park was a great park for the entire family but the downside is that there is nothing for the thrills like me. I still had a great time as I rode to toboggan 3 times and went rock climbing. The maze was frightening and also a let down but the mini golf was a treat. I would only recommend this place to families that have under 10 children because there isn't much for the older kids or adults except the toboggan.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's for the little ones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Most were families with kids aged under 10. Right across from the water slide place. Not our cup of tea, $8 per ride down the hill but family packages avail too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toboggan Hill Park also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Shoal Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Toboggan Hill Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toboggan Hill Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.