We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surviving the Marina Resort‎” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Port Stephens Marina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Port Stephens Marina Resort to your Saves list
Port Stephens Marina Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Magnus St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Surviving the Marina Resort‎”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This reviewer wishes to save fellow holiday makers the loss of sleep caused at the Marina Resort- Nelson Bay.
Warning the Marina Resort is not for those wishing to sleep. The cautionary tale takes place in their "luxury room"!

If you are holding a party or going for schoolies you may be in luck as it seems anything goes at Marina Resort. Please do not stay here if you are hoping to get even a wink of sleep.

As we walked towards our room the sounds of hard/ fast electronic music belted down the hallway towards us. We entered the room hoping this would dull the volume which sounded like a dj set up complete with large amps. We were dismayed to find the noise in our room was only added to by loud yelling from the balconies heard from across the other side of the building.

We immediately requested a room change at the reception. However they told us everything was full for the night. "It's ok" the staff member said "we’ll tell them to stop". We asked for a dvd player (not provided in the "luxury room") in the hope we could drown out the music. We were handed a dvd player at the front desk.

10 minutes passed and a few loud knocks later the voices were heard walking down the hall and out through the lift.

Peace at last- or so we thought. It was 8pm and we hoped some of the party goers were visitors rather than guests. Little did we know that rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor were also booked by party goers.

After playing around with the dvd player for 15 minutes I gave up and called reception for help. A man came up and tried to make it work for 10minutes before leaving to get the manual. We were able to make the DVD work which later provided some assistance against the parties.

At around 1.30am we were woken by the party guests return. The sounds of drunken yells, screams and dry reaching were shortly followed by loud music again.

I reluctantly dressed and made my way down to reception. Feeling sorry for the man who I had clearly woken up, he accompanied me to the rooms. He asked me if I had trouble with noise on the 3rd or the 4th floor, explaining they were both booked by loud party goers. The music stopped temporarily after this for 10minutes, before starting again.

Through the wall the drone of a spa bath could be heard followed by loud crashes sounds of people being thrown in (from their yelled protests it sounded though this was against their will). I decided to use the DVD as sleep proved futile. Loud cries and yells could be heard all night followed by loud sex at 4.15 in the morning and around 5.10am a loud sobbing crying echoing down the hallway.

It was a very long and regrettable night and I told reception we could not stand a second night without sleep. We were offered a bottle of wine, a few drinks in the restaurant by way of compensation to entice us to stay a second night, with a room downgrade to the other side of the building. We were told the room downgrade was the only room available on the other side of the building and that we would be refunded the difference for a proposed second night (for which we had paid).

We declined to stay the second night as well as the complimentary "bottle of wine and drinks"- I guess to help knock us off to sleep. The other guests I imagine would have been only too happy to accept all additional drinks.

Please don't make the same mistake we did, the Marina Resort refuses to refund your lack of sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    32
    26
    14
See reviews for
20
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed here for one night only, and that was enough. The room itself was big enough for our needs with a beautiful view of the harbour from our fourth floor balcony, but on the whole the hotel is very outdated and in desperate need of a refurb. We where booked into the hotel by the Tourist Inforamtion centre and for a hotel in such a prime location I was expecting more. The breakfast room was pleasant enough with a good selection of food and again - great views of the harbour. All in all we where happy enough with our 1 night stay but wouldn't want to spend any length of time here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

This place was by far the worst place i've ever stayed at! The people who worked there were nice but were not very organised! There were dirty plates with food on them sitting in the hallway all day, not surprised the place has insect problems!

When i first entered our room it stunk so bad i had to spray perfume and open the windows, disgusting! and all the furniture had a nice thick layer of dust on top!
The lounge looked really old and had a bigburnt spot on it not to mention half the arm had caved in on the lounge also.

The spa bath had not been cleaned because the were strands of hair caught in the jets, and genital hair in the shower cubical. Im not a fussy person but this place was really below par! we ended up leaving early!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

Receptionist was friendly and helpful, was staying in a second floor room. The room had not been cleaned, the carpet was filthy there was a rotten apple core near the bin and urine on the toilet seat. The furnishings are extremely outdated and later on that night flying ants kept coming in somehow through the closed balcony doors, there was no fly spray in the bathrrom (just cockroaches and silverfish) I regularly travel to Nelson Bay for work and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parramatta, Australia
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
1,348 helpful votes 1,348 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Arriving here after sunset, we were greeted by a huge red neon sign on top of the building reading ‘Marina Resort’. It actually isn’t a sleazy 80’s disco or massage parlour just a hotel with a big red neon sign.

The reception desk is small & cramped with pamphlets & advertisements of local services/businesses & resembles a school canteen, no joke. The reception & its waiting area reminded me of a public hospital with dull carpet but the old guy checking us in was friendly & helpful.

Our room on the 3rd floor was a studio style room with a queen bed, lounge chair, side tables, lamps, empty mini fridge & a small 51 cm TV with basic cable channels. The walls were much like a motel’s, cold & brick. The balcony looked & felt like a WW2 pillar box being walled in by solid brick on both sides which meant that the sun’s rays don’t actually touch the room which is a pity.

As the sun rose in the morning, it revealed why the physical failings are minor. The view overlooking the marina & blue waters were beautiful. The hotel is actually built on a hill overlooking the marina where you can see yachts & water vessels bobbing in the artificial harbour.

The top floor restaurant’s views were even better & brought a little excitement as to what our day’s activities might include. The restaurant itself is as ordinary as the hotel building with ok continental breakfast choices which are pretty standard for many places, try it at least once if not for the spectacular views.

The hotel is located within walking distance to the Nelson Bay CDB & marina. There are business conference rooms, a swimming pool & large areas of green lawn.

I would say it is more motel than hotel but is way better than staying in a motel without its great views. We paid a special price of $170 for 2 nights online so my complaining makes me look rather grumpy.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We found this place to be very close to town. We had 6 people stay in one large room. Two queen beds and the other two on a sofa bed (very uncomfortably) The spa bath was good though the decor was VERY outdated. The view was great and we had a huge balcony. It was priced reasonably.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Paid AUD99/night on wotif. We got room #007 - Ground floor, 2nd room next to the Reception. Personal rating: 5/10. Cheap accommodation so didn't expect much. Though room is spacious, I think it seriously needs to be refurbished. Found 2 dying crickets in the bathroom ;( Location is fine as it's only a short walk to town centre

  • Liked — Short walk to town centre
  • Disliked — Dying crickets in bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Stephens Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Stephens Marina Resort

Address: 33 Magnus St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Stephens Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Resort is a great place to stay while you explore Port Stephens. Marina Resort is well located in the heart of beautiful Port Stephens overlooking Nelson Bay Marina. A short 5m walk to the Dolphin & Whale Watch Cruises in the Marina, Cafes & Beach. Marina Resort is conveniently located near all of Port Stephens major tourist attractions. Our recently refurbished 44 room hotel offer spacious comfort with great views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Port Stephens Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Stephens Marina Hotel Nelson Bay
Port Stephens Marina Resort Nelson Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Stephens Marina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.