We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halifax Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Halifax Holiday Park to your Saves list
Halifax Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   5 Beach Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“fun family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

hi we stayed at the halifax in september with my husbans and 2 boys it was wonderful position and the park was loveley , i would recommend this to any one with a small family, the rooms were very clean and the balcony was in a perfect position for a awesome veiw at sunset the kitchen had everything we needed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
37
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

While the location is good the early closure of the office and the lack of effective after hours security means you should not count on getting a decent nights sleep. If you choose to stay make sure you are a LONG WAY FROM THE amenities block and and outdoor entertainment area if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park although I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay due to noise. Our team works very hard and takes great pride in offering a great holiday experience and we encourage you to always speak to our management team during your stay who will do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one.

During the school holidays Halifax Holiday Park provides several activities for our guests which includes musical entertainment, sausage sizzles, kids discos and much more although all of these activities finish by 9pm.

All other noise of a disruptive nature is to cease by 10pm and to monitor this Halifax has several processes in place which includes a static security guard, plus the oncall mobile number for after hours problems which is advertised on your welcome letter, park rules and park map information.

Once again, I apologise that you did not receive a good nights sleep during your stay in our busiest summer period. Any feedback both positive and negative is always passed onto our team to improve park operations and service. I would also like to recommend that a different site might be able to be allocated depending on availability as the powered sites closest to the recreation area are generally families with children which will also create some extra noise. Please talk to reception or management for further information.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed on a powered site and cannot complain about anything at this site We arrived Christmas Day, unfortunately pouring with rain and putting up a campervan was challenging. Weather ended up being sensational. Fantastic amenities, nice hot water everytime we had a shower. Maybe the only thing that could be updated is to put in the dual flush toilet to save water since the water saving shower heads are already used. Will definitely be going back there again. Is a nice walk up to the lighthouse and around 20-25 minute walkl into Nelson Bay and around 7min walk to Wests Diggers. Can't understand why other people rate this as poor, all I can say is they must be hard to please. The park was busy while we were there and lot of people coming and going.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a villa, ask for the ones with the beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Halifax Holiday Park. Halifax Holiday Park recently won in 2012 a Gold Gumnut Award which is the highest achievement you can receive for environmental sustainability from the Caravan and Camping Industry Association of NSW. Your feedback has been passed onto management.

Thanks for taking the time to reveiw Halifax Holiday Park and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here in Early December for 2 nights on a powered site with our dog as well, we chose this place due to it being pet friendly as well. the place is small but tidy it has a great BBQ area, and is close to Little beach ( although if u plan to take your pet this is not a pet friendly beach) Bagnalls beach is which is about a 40 minute walk of 5-10 min drive from Halifax, I found the place friendly, and would go back in a second, lovely atmosphere! tidy amenties and good recycling facilities,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi,

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Halifax Holiday Park. The park is in a great location with great facilities and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on a powered site with our caravan originally for 3 nights but stayed an extra night as we liked it so much. Location is great as we could ride our bikes into town & fish from nearby beach. Value for money, clean amenities & cosy atmosphere - feeding the rainbow lorikeets was a nice bonus for my 11 year old daughter - would definately recommend this one!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and we appreciate you taking the time to tell Trip Advisor visitors about your stay. We hope you welcome you and your family back to Halifax Holiday Park again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We loved this place, we stayed in the accessible cabin with 3 bedrooms.. Quality appliances, comfy huge beds and lots of room.. We have 2 young children so was great location right on little beach and access to shoal bay beach.. The staff were excellent so friendly and accommodating.. I'm a travel agent and have stayed in many hotels, resorts and cabins and this was by far the best cabin iv stayed in! I'll come back here in a flash was a shame to leave

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We were delighted to read that you loved your stay in the 3 bedroom accessible cabin.
The majority of the cabins at the park are only a couple of years old with modern decor.
Thanks again, and we hope you welcome you and your family back again soon.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have a camper trailer and stayed for 1 week. Park is well located to Nelson Bay (could walk) access to 2 beaches and boat ramp and a great takeaway/coffee shop. Amenties very clean and general park area towards the front are well maintained with a good bbq area but the camping sites are the worst Ive even seen. All dirt and uneven covered in sticks from the numerous trees some with huge tree roots, would hate to see them in wet weather. The caravan sites arent much better but they do have the slabs. The council seriously needs to put in drainage and returf and if they are constanly being uesed artificial grass slab in the centre as Ive seen in other parks. Would only recomend to stay there if in one of the nice cabins or on a slab site in the front section (the back van section bare and dry and seams isolated to the rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing_Manager_OR, Marketing Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Halifax Holiday Park. We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative and use reviews as a way to train staff, improve the park and improve park operations. You are right the park is located in a great spot with some great cabin facilities. I was disappointed that you were not happy with the powered site due to the surface. The powered sites at Halifax are very popular and therefore have trouble maintaining the grass due to it being covered with tents / camper trailers the majority of the year. We are looking into this as an opportunity for improvement and once again would like to thank you for passing on your feedback.

Kind regards, Madeleine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Halifax Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Holiday Park

Address: 5 Beach Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax Holiday Park is located on a peninsula between two beautiful beaches. Little Beach and Shoal Bay boasts crystal clear water, white sandy shores and gentle waves. The park is a favourite for all boating enthusiasts with an easy access boat ramp, calm waters and an excellent marina nearby. Halifax if the largest and most diverse dive site in Port Stephens therefore Fly Point is a must see with the stunning underwater gardens for scuba divers and snorklers.Just minutes away is the triving business and entertainment hub of the blue water paradise, Nelson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Halifax Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halifax Holiday Park Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halifax Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.