We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Platters on the Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bub s Fish and Chips

Bub s Fish and Chips
1 Teramby Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 4984 3917 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 67 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best Platters on the Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Shoot down to Bub's for a nice platter for lunch in between your daily activities....great location right on the doorstep of the fishermans co-op...Fresh off the boat

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    33
    22
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Apparently voted best Fish and Chips in NSW for several years. The fish and chips were good, but I wouldn't say the best that I've ever had. Still worth the visit!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Undercooked Lobster Mornay and chips. Burnt Dory Filet!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Lobster Mornay was frozen than put on the grill which may explain why center was cold and Mornay tasted floury underneath the grilled layer of Mornay. Chips were undercooked however they manage to cook something! The dory filet was cooked...flip around and one side was burnt. Overall quality was just so bad. They totally the town of Nelson bay down!!

VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really disappointing - Rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Im a local in the area and went to Bubs to get some takeaway for myself and 2 out of town friends.
We were there during the easter break so I knew that there would be a crowd and a long wait for service. Ordered grilled Snapper and chips which cost $17.90 for 1 serve. Waited 30 mins and got our takeaway.
Tiny serving of fish, about 10 chips (seriously!) and an egg cup full of salad. The fish was rubbery and dry and the chips were cold. You have got to be kidding Bubs!!! Why would anyone support you?? Why would locals support your business during the long cold winters when you serve up rubbish like this!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closer to "Worst Fish n Chips in NSW"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Lunch: A real effort to get served, rude lazy female counter attendant, both serves were cold and took around 30 minutes to arrive despite hardly any customers. They didn't have some of the advertised fish despite there being two fishmongers nearby, what was displayed looked old/stale, and was grossly overpriced. The room and tables were unwiped and floor was dirty with spilt food. The kicker was there was no cutlery to eat with and when I asked for some I was given a plastic fork, but no knife. Attendant said "our boss doesn't supply us with plastic knives" - lucky us!!! Might account for the cold meal as I assume we have to eat with our fingers. 1/10 with the one being for the setting!!! If this is the best NSW regional can offer I'd suggest to only buy FnChips in the cities!!! A change in attitude & a random visit from the health authorities maybe??

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bub s Fish and Chips also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Bub s Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bub s Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.