We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Nelson Resort to your Saves list
The Nelson Resort
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were made to feel very welcome at check in. The room was well equipped and the bed comfortable. Room was clean. The resort appears to have been recently renovated.
The location is fantastic - across the road from the marina with plenty of eateries.
We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
117
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed at The Nelson Resort (about a year and a half between each stay) and both times the ladies in reception were fantastic. Very helpful with the area and what to do during our stay and when we went to check in this time we had to wait 10mins for our room to be ready (which I was happy to do anyway, it's only 10mins) but they offered us a free drink at the little cafe in the resort. Just because we had to wait 10mins. I couldn't believe this. It was such a nice surprise. How lovely is that? The location is closer than close to everything, the mariner is right across the road about 2 min walk. Shops with nice cafes etc are just around the corner. I will definitely stay here everytime we go up to Nelson Bay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here recently for a work trip, and was impressed. Clean, well-presented hotel, close to the main shopping strip and Marina restaurants in Nelson Bay. Loved the fact that each room had a balcony, and that the standard room came with microwave, electric frying pan and a cupboard full of crockery, as well as generous portions of tea / coffee / sugar. Certainly would make life easier if you were holidaying with young children. Breakfast menu at reception was excellent - the natural museli and the big healthy breakfast come highly recommended.

The main road is quite noisy and the rooms don't have double glazing, so if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our night at The Nelson Resort was lovely.
The check in was quick with nice friendly staff.
The room was great with gorgeous views to the marina.
The bed and pillow were perfect for a great nights rest.
Will stay here again next at beautiful Nelson Bay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stopped in just for an over night on the way to Sydney. Quite new, super comfy king size bed and clean and tidy. Decent size TV no squinting needed...and a good shower head. New Coffee bar down stairs looked nice but didn't try the coffee. Service from the lady at front counter was warm and friendly.

$150 a bargain

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Was here for one night for special anniversary and was spoiled with wine and chocolate!! There was a nice suprise on the bed upon entering with a big love heart on it! The room was very clean,everything worked perfectly(book a room with a spa!).Amenities were great,my partner loved the soap. Parking is free but becareful parking on lower level has steep ramp(I scratched my bumper).Free wifi for two devices worked flawlessly(24 hr session). The pool and tennis courts were good fun.Most Importantly the staff were so friendly and helpful. Thankyou!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The friendly service at The Nelson Resort is something special and rather unusual these days offering more than is expected. Their Little Nell restaurant is a delight too. They have an imaginative menu using fresh local produce in a comfortable and attractive setting. The rooms are very pleasant. They seem to have thought of everything to make guests comfortable. The larger than usual swimming pool has a great setting and there are lots of activities to choose from including a tennis court, Gym and bikes for hire and the marina, restaurants and shops a couple of minutes walk away. Some comments has said it is noisy but they must have been unlucky as we had no trouble.

Room Tip: If you are really worried about some cars passing by ask for a room in the wing not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nelson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.