We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort, just an hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Nelson Resort to your Saves list
The Nelson Resort
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Arnhem, Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not a resort, just an hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Based on the name we expected a ittle bit more from the resort hotel.

Based on the reviews and the noise complaints we booked a garden view room, but we got a room viewing the road. I didn't really see a garden... so I am not sure if the garden rooms are located on that side or that we were not sleeping in a garden room. And it can indeed be noisy, but the small bed kept us more awake at night.
The bed was small and you could feel every movement of the other person. Very uncomfortable if a small bed is not your preference. Also we could only get two access code for the wifi. We asked for more for other devices, but that was refused.
The small kitchen, big bathroom and the complimentary bottle of wine and newspaper were nice. The pool area looked nice as well, but we didn't use it.
Loation is great, near the marina and via the parking lot access towards the town center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMCBalmain, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
It sounds like a few things did not suit you, so apologies we have disappointed. I would agree with your comment that we are not a resort - while we do have great facilities like gym, heated pool, tennis - we are not a typical large resort style hotel. We do think of ourselves as a small boutique resort, however that does not translate clearly in our name I know. So for that reason we are going through the process of shortening our name to just "The Nelson" to avoid the confusion.

We do have quieter rooms (and indeed already 2 of the rooms on the street side have had new soundproof glass installed so they are now super quiet also), and of course we have rooms with king sized beds that would have suited you better.

Thanks again for your comments, they do help us to make the hotel better!

Regards
Andrew
The Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
117
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crookwell, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Genuinely kind girls. Rooms were spacious and clean, nicely furnished. Had everything we needed. Pool was great! Tennis court was fun, close to everything. Would stay here again. Loved it! Value for money

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the night with 2 other couples on the 3rd feb. Good room large with kitchenette and dining area. Bit noisy in the morning as had room on the front near road. Overall very good , clean and we'll stocked with coffee,tea and milk for hot drinks.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Late check-in service is available (I arrived at ~11pm). Staff is helpful if you require assistance.
I booked a room (2 queen beds) with spa for 3 adults. The room size is reasonable, clean, and has an ocean view (with quite a lot of obstruction). It is just 5 min walk away from the Nelson Bay Marina and shopping district.
The only thing that annoys me was the lack of lift. I don't mind carrying luggages for a couple of floors, but for people who have knee problems, like my mum, ascending and descending could be exhausting and painful. The hotel do have rooms located on ground floor (like a motel), should enquire those if mobility is a concern. Otherwise, I am happy with it.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms located on the ground floor if mobility is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have been remiss in not writing this review sooner. I just cannot praise The Nelson Resort highly enough. Last November I organised a huge family weekend at The Nelson for my mother's 80th Birthday, and family came from all around Australia and New Zealand to be there.
During the many months leading up to the big weekend, the staff (mainly Debbie but also Emma) and I exchanged countless emails while they helped me with booking (and changing) rooms and planning the event. They couldn't have been more helpful or obliging, going above and beyond to make sure everything was just right for us.
The weekend was so wonderful that we created a memory that will last with us all forever, and this was due in no small part to The Nelson. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. The pool area is superb for a BBQ and swim, and Little Nells makes fantastic breakfast.
The family want to do it all again for Mum's 85th and we will definitely go back to The Nelson.
HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at this property for the weekend. Reception staff were friendly, professional and were accommodating.
We booked a one bedroom, located on the second floor. It was clean, spacious, good size balcony and glimpses of the sea. Over all I would stay here again. I could not fault anything about this property. There is bike hire, tennis court and a gym but we didn't have time to use it. Has a great cafe near reception, worth getting a bite to eat. We were close to the main shops, cafes & restaurants I would say a good 5 min walk down the hill. Just remember you have to walk back up the hill to get to the hotel! Overall we enjoyed our stay and we will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We hadn't booked ahead but were lucky to get the last room available. Happened to be a family room and perfect for us with 1 toddler. Room was very spacious with everything we could ask for. Heated pool and bbq area lovely way to finish the day. Coles and other shops at the back, beach and marina short walk down the road made this an ideal location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nelson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.