We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Nelson Resort to your Saves list
The Nelson Resort
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Very good location to walk down to the shops, cafes, etc. We booked a three bedroom apartment which was huge and would have slept 7 easily with 3 double beds and one single. Very clean, reception staff were helpful and polite, swimming pool was heated to 28 degrees and has plenty of seating. Tennis courts and bbq facilities looked great but we did not use these. Plenty of secure parking. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
117
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ourimbah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I organised a 2 day conference at the Nelson for 18 people. Debbie was amazing in helping to organise things for us, and nothing was too much trouble!
Firstly, we were super impressed with the standard of the accommodation. The rooms were fresh and comfortable, and far superior to most of the places we usually go in Sydney!
The conference facilities were sensational! There was plenty of space for break out sessions, and it was nice to be able to get outside, either on the deck or up by the pool for brainstorming sessions.
The food was great too. The service provided by both Debbie and Emma was prompt and efficient and very unobtrusive when they came in during sessions. The breakfasts were to die for!
Lastly, the social night that Debbie helped in putting together was amazing! The karaoke guys were just great, and everyon relaxed and had a ball!
Thanks so much for everything!

Room Tip: The front rooms were a little noisy, but very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights mid week to celebrate our anniversary. We found our room to be very comfortable with a pleasant view over the town. Staff were all very friendly and obliging. Breakfast at the small onsite café was delicious and reasonably priced. Pool area was lovely and the only criticism I would offer is a rail is needed near the steps and depth of water should be marked more clearly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My first choice when travelling to Nelson Bay. Great staff, nothing is ever a trouble. Comfortable beds and THE BEST breakfast in town! Has a swimming pool and you can hire bikes if on the premises too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The area of Nelson bay is a little gem, and this accommodation was well placed, central to everything. Room was spotless and had recently been updated. There was a tiny kitchen area, (if needed) a seperate bedroom with a very comfortable bed. The only problem was the road noise as the small balcony overlooked the busy main road.
An excellent small cafe in the same area as reception, friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in February 2013. It was really great! Nice view from the balcony, really central location, nice pool. Superb breakfast to order in the cafe. Super nice people working at the reseption. Really helpful and gave tood tips about what to do! The only think a bit negative was the the cleaning of the room was a bit so so. The room was newly renovated and in great condition but the cleaning during our stay could have been better. I would really stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Thought the hotel offered a great value - room with signed and double bed, plus fold out and kitchenette for US $110 a night. Liked the balcony even though it was on the main drag and had only a tiny bit of a view of the bay. Location was great for walking into town, or to local beaches. Office staff very friendly ad helpful. Only downsides were Internet was spotty, but we learned that was being newly installed and will hopefully provide better service soon, and only one guest washer ad dryer, so we had to wait for someone else to finish before using ourselves. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nelson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.