We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, pleasant staff, clean and big bathroom. No lifts to upper floors though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nelson Resort

Save Saved
You added The Nelson Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Flash Sale!
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant staff, clean and big bathroom. No lifts to upper floors though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place recently just got some facelift, the room and bathroom looks fresh and chic. I love the big spacious bathroom and the mini kitchen that we could hea up instant meals.

We stayed in a family room with a balcony looking out to the main road but noise wasn't a problem at all. The cars are parked just below the rooms and bringing the luggage n kid up the stairs wasn't an easy feat though. Ask for a ground floor room if you need too.

Appreciate the free Internet for an hour too!

Room Tip: If you need to bring up bulky luggage, ask for a low floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    73
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
94
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Really good location, so close to everything. Stayed one night on top floor facing the ocean and it was well worth the money. It has everything you need bar a gym. You could tell there has been renovations on the old property/inn. It was extremely comfortable and overall a lovely stay. Tried the pool, it was cool, not warm like anticipated. Needed a few extra heaters in there for sure. The breaky was great, nice little cafe setup downstairs and you couldn't fault the service provided... Would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Top floor is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The staff were amazing and friendly. The room was perfect for the price and the central location meant that we didnt have to drive at all while we checked out Nelson Bay.
Steaming hot showers with strong water pressure you dont find very often.
Everything was within walking distance, and it really was a quiet and relaxing stay.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed just one night May 25 and room on top floor was just fine and staff were nice. Average overall really though. Certainly not a Resort at all. Odd that has no elevator so if you are not good at stairs at all you must be on ground floor. Morning breakfast was good. Location a short walk to harbour fine but I think being right on harbour with good view likely better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Don't be misled by its name, its not the Club Med type kind of resort facing the ocean. Although the owner Andrew has written in response to other travelers' comments that it has a heated pool, tennis court, gym and blah, it's not really a resort - its a refurblished B&B / hotel and from its architecture it still is.

Despites the myth about its name, it's a little hotel at a great location. There are many restaurants nearby and its like 5 minutes walk to the dock. Staff members are friendly. Emma who assisted us at checkin was a star.

The overall experience was good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This motel is a great location, leave your car and walk to the shops and cafes or along the bay foreshore. Easy access for touring the region. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

When we got there, we were shocked at presence of the room. The view from our room was an old tree that blocked all sight to the street. It is more of a motel than a resort, it felt more like a school camp accomadation rather than holiday accomadation. we ended up cancelling the other two nights ( which they luckly agreed to refund out money, so that's a positive: great service. There are rooms that have been revonated and are expected to be in much better comditions. The advantage is that it is near the marina and an arcade away from coles and other shops. However, we were only about 5 minutes walk from the other hotel we stayed at for the remainder of the stay at nelsons bay. So in comparison, it's probably worth the 5 minute walk for the much better accomadation.

Room Tip: if you really have to stay there ask for a newly renovated room, king size bed with a view of the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew579999, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your time here. It sounds like the room you have booked is only partially refurbished, and has not met your needs. For other travellers this is the Standard Family room type, of which there are only 4 rooms of our 36! These seem to create the bulk of any negative comments we have recieved, so in May 2012 we will complete these renovations. They are cdurrently fitted out with brand new furniture, beds, beding, carpets, paints etc, however the older bathroom does date them a little - this we will fix as we aim to please everybody no matter the room type they choose!

We do not want any guest to have a bad time, and when you complained during the stay we would have gladly moved your room, however were fully booked. We did permit cancelling the remainder of the trip without penalty, and I hope you enjoyed the rest of the trip.

Again apoligies we did not satisfy you!

Regards
Andrew and Emily Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nelson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.