We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Nelson Resort to your Saves list
The Nelson Resort
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have recently returned from my 1 night stay at The Nelson Resort in Nelsons Bay and overall seemed to be not as bad as I thought. The only issues I had with the hotel which really looks like a motel but with a bit of a touch up was that the lady at the front desk checked us in and when we arrived to our room they hadn't cleaned it yet and nothing was done. Luckily a nice cleaner lady saw this and fixed it for us. Also the rooms are a tad dated and can get quite noisy during the night. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean and the hotel had a new pool which I was hoping to use but it was pouring rain. Close to the marina and not far a drive from Soldiers Point or Salamander Bay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room not on the botton floor because it is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    92
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
117
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived in Nelson Bay in pouring rain and the i-Site office found us a room at the Nelson Lodge / Resort. Returning to my rented car I found I had a flat tyre and nursed it into the underground car park of the motel. We checked in with very helpful staff, who showed us to our room. They then looked out for the emergency breakdown service person, whom I had phoned for assistance. Later, I found our iPad did not connect from our room, nor did it want to co-operate in their reception. They therefore allowed me to check my e-mail on their own pc. Later, they gave good advice on shops and restaurants. Next morning, the manager was very helpful when we checked out, by sitting with me and a map to show me all the best places to see in the Port Stephens area, before we continued our journey south.
As for the room we had - it was a little on the small side, but okay for a night's rest - clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, and with a view from the balcony over Port Stephens.
There is a very good heated outdoor pool and towels are provided at reception. There is a nice coffee lounge by reception (excellent coffee), which also serves a well-priced breakfast.
From the outside the property looks a little dour - not helped by a large and garish bottle shop in front of it. But the welcome inside more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew579999, Manager at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thanks for your comments! We do love working here and try hard to make sure everybody leaves us feeling like you did.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Debbie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This motel has seemingly been given a cosmetic overhall, so the beds are good and the rooms have a freshened feel with kitchenetts for convenience; however, it is still a motel sandwiched between two roads. There is lots of road noise (from both roads) and a dated feel about the place. The tub/shower needed a good bleaching and had a half sliding door/half dirty old curtain on it. The lobby seems pleasantly spruced up. If you are expecting a resort though, you will be disappointed. Were it not for the comfortable beds, I would have given it a 2.5 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew579999, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Customer,

It does not seem that you have had the best of our property, so apologies you have not had a great time. It seems that you have stayed in one of our partially renovated rooms (the standard room types) - there are only 6 of these of the total 36 rooms, and we will be finishing the renovations to these shortly. They do have great beds but we have yet to replace the bathroom and kitchenette which I agree does give it a dated appearance.

The rest of our rooms have been completelty renovated (new tiling, plumbing, wiring, carpets, gyproc - the works) so really have had much more than a cosmetic overhaul. We have also just re-opened our pool area which has been re-tiled, new heaters, new furniture etc.

We do classify as a resort when comparing to every other hotel./resort in the area - with heated pool, tennis, gym, sauna, locals favourite cafe, room service plus atrractions such as the beach and Boat tours a short stroll accross the park, however I'd agree we are not in the category of a Bora Bora island resort. We are central to everything (one of our key benefits) which does mean it is busier than an island retreat. Having said that we recieve very few negative comments about noise, and if this is an issue to anybody please advise when booking and we can allocate rooms accordingly.

Once again sorry you did not have the best time, and if you are in teh area again ask for me personally, and i will make sure we show you the best of our resort and Nelson Bay.

Cheers
Andrew
Co- Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have just spent 2 days here at a conference (& some fishing afterwards). This hotel sets a new standard in customer service.

Manicured gardens out front, beautiful views of the bay, tastefully decorated & spotless rooms. The hotel is in very good order.

Breakfast was fantastic,comfortable beds & the conference room well equiped (maybe only suit about 30 or so in comfort).

In the last 2 months I have stayed in 13 hotels, none could go anywhere the level of outstanding service recieved at The Nelson. Every hotel could do with someone at reception as happy & helpful as Debbie, Andrew and every employee I encountered there. I'd love to bottle their enthusiasm for my employees.

Room Tip: I think rooms 31,32 & 33 had best views but are up stairs. Maybe they all or most have water vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We chose The Nelson fResort or a girls weekend away because it was central to the bay and everything was in walking distance.

The resort has recently been refurbished and is no longer a 60s flashback but a chic, friendly hotel. The rooms are fresh and airy, the decor elegant but casual - you could really make yourself at home on the couch (and we did!). The kitchenette was handy for storing our champagne and cheese, and the full length mirrors perfect for us girls to do our make up and dressing up. A big thumbs up for the beds...they have those quilted matress toppers on them....aaaahhhh, so comfy! I was so glad that the bathrooms are new too.

We were a bit concerned that our room balcony faced the street, but we it was really quiet in the evening/morning, and there was no noise from the courtyard carpark either.

We dined locally, at the one hat restaurant, Zest. It was really good. Surprisingly good for a regional restaurant and great value for the quality of food and the wine list.

It rained the next morning so we had coffee and breakfast at the cafe in the resort. Loads of newspapers and magazines at the cafe/reception area and a great view of the bay. The coffee was just what I needed, definitely up to Sydney standards and I regret not getting a takeaway for the drive home.

Hotel accommodation in the bay area can be hard to find - there's a lot of serviced apartments or holiday house rentals. If you want to stay somewhere central, with easy access to the beach, but don't want the cost of a large apartment, then this is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My partner and I stayed in a queen delux spa studio which was very modern and spacious. it even had an extra single bed and a sofa bed which wasn't excpected. the bathroom was very large with a nice large shower over spa bath. Just a tip that you have to turn a switch on in the middle of the bathroom vanity to get the spa to work. room came with nice complimentary shampoos and body gel, tea coffee and biscuits. 4 fresh towls were provided and a hair dryer. bed was very comfortable with lots of nice big pillows. my biggeset dissapointment was the noise at 8am monday morning as it sounded like continous hammering above our room which was impossible to get back to sleep. the location is a 5 miniute walk to the marina and if you walk out the back of the hotel there is an entrance to the arcade. the passionfruit juice cafe in the arcade is great for a cheap big breakie or fruit juice and Sue in there is very friendly. we didnt eat at the hotel as monday mornings was the only day they arnt open for breakfast which was a shame. would stay here again as the price for a spa room was great.

Room Tip: ensure you ask for a renovated room as I gathered some others were a bit run down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

A very cheap motel but with good value. Location is excellent, just walking distance to the whale/ dolphin watching departure at the Marina. Staff is very kind to allow us to park our car in the motel after our check out. Only downside is that we need to carry our luggage to 3rd floor and it's very heavy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nelson Resort Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nelson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.