We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had 2 great experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe On The Bay

Cafe On The Bay
Shop 8/10 Teramby Road, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
02 4981 0921
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 63 restaurants in Nelson Bay
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had 2 great experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

It wasn't table services but we were told when we were seated, which was nice to know and it was pleasant easy ordering, normal cafe prices, food was delicious and waitresses cleared tables both times. Friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

27% Recommend
    9
    12
    7
    13
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We came here for breakfast, there were 7 of us, the waitress was bored and uninterested, took our orders, failed to give us enough cutlery, only brought out 5 of the 7 meals and then forgot about us. We had to go back and ask where the other two meals were. The food was presentable but my eggs would have been delicious if they werent served stone cold. The omelets that the others had lacked in flavour and were very unappealing. We won't be back ... it was awful !!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst cafe I've been to”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Came in for a late lunch. Coffee was burnt and bitter, meals were poorly presented and we waited over 40mins when cafe was close to empty. Meals were extremely overpriced for the standard, there was no table service, had to order at counter and the staff that delivered our meals were unfriendly and clearly didn't want to be there. will never return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
1 review
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful location but tastless food, poor service and rude waitress who said to my daughter "what do ya want" when asked for sauce, then couldn't get her attention again and I had to go to counter to get my own lemon for my tateless fish. Waste of $90.00!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Worst dinning experience I've had! Zero Stars.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My pregnant wife & I complained after 50mins when our food hadn't arrived. We made eye contact numerous times with staff prior & made it obvious that we were waiting. When the food eventually came the was no apology and it was COLD! We didn't eat it & got our money back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe On The Bay also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Cafe On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.