We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqua

Save Saved
You added Mantra Aqua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Our unit was at ground level and had no views which was advised at time of booking. it did however have a nice courtyard which we had breakfast on every morning. It was modern and was extremely clean. the cleaning staff should be commended. check in and check out was easy and done with a smile. Nice and close to city center and to marina. The only thing that's missing is a ceiling fan in the bedrooms.It did have air conditioning in the living area but the positioning of it would be better if it faced the bedrooms, to allow it to cool the rooms. In saying this it did have a pedestal fan which we did use. lovely stay in a lovely aprartment

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    37
    4
    10
See reviews for
95
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Overall the hotel is quite nice, new and clean.

But I don't recommend anyone to pay extra to stay in the poolview apartment.
We stayed in the "poolview" apartment but we only can see a little bit of the pool from our balcony (not happy when they said "Furnished balcony offering views of the 25 metre swimming pool with cascading waterfall and spa", all we can see is only a little bit of the pool from far and our balcony is actually overlooking the driveway..... ;(

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment for a family of 5. The apartment itself was amazing, it met more than our expectations. It had everything - oven, ironing board, dishwasher, washing machine and clothes dryer. Location was not too bad either, restaurants and shops are just a street away; Coles is just round the corner. However, the one thing that spoilt the perfection was the service. There is no room service to begin with, I then enquired about the internet connection at the reception, I were asked to find a cable in our room. I called again from our room that I could find no cable, and they told me to pick it up at the reception. So again, i went back to the reception. I was then told that the office has already closed at 6pm, when it was only 5.50pm. Shouldn't they have told me right from the beginning?? they left me with an option of wireless connection, which couldn't work when i paid for it already! and they couldn't care less.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I hadn't taken note that only the lounge/kitchen area is airconditioned. The position of the main bedroom meant that the airconditioned air did not adequately cool the bedroom. With the afternoon sun directly on the apartment windows, this made the main bedroom a 'hot box' and uncomfortable for sleeping. The weather, last weekend, for the four days we were there was an average 30c. I couldn't imagine what it would be like at the height of summer, The windows open but are not fly screened. We were two couples expecting. as per the website, our Two Bedroom Pool View apartment to have one king bed and one queen bed. We got one queen bed and one double (two singles pushed together). When approaching reception we were told 'Oh well, we will have to change the website'. Fixtures and fiitings in the apartment were of good quality with an excellent, large flat-screened TV. Location is good within easy walking distance of restaurants, marina for day trips etc. The swimming pool and spa were over chlorinated, causing itching and burning skin to two of us that used them. I would not recommend this accommodation, if the weather is hot.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Mantra Aqua good value in the low season. Winter here in Nelson Bay, so I didn't use the pool but it looked nice.

Rooms very well equipped and a great balcony facing the CBD. Kitchen excellent as well. Beds were good, not great, but the apartment clean, well stocked, and good value. I arrived late and the key and instructions were in the safe as specified, no problems.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

*the apartments have different wings so on arrival the receptionist will tell you to park in the designated wing
*parking is a plenty and undercover with a storage facility cage for bicycles yay!
*2 bedroom apartment facing the CBD
*apartment size is medium size with modern kitchen appliances
*big screen LCD tv in the combine lounge with DVD player
*small LCD tv in the master bedroom bonus!!
*2nd bedroom is accessible by 2 internal doors and 1 external balcony door this room in particular felt like it was in a previous life a Dining room/living room as it had the power/Tv outlets in the obvious places
*bathroom was good we found it very european with only a splash back wall to prevent the water for exiting the shower/tub
*swimming pool was nice, with a spurt fountain for the kids to run through
*the place was a bit of a maze because it had different wings
*ok to stay if you don't mind the view we got wing with the view of Yacaba St so we saw alot of tops from buildings and not allot of street life
*pretty central to Nelson bay
*would stay again

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Beautiful apartment, beautiful resort. Everything is within walking distance. Only issue I has was a VERY hard bed.

I stayed in a 3 bedroom and there was plenty of room.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained 2 and 3 bedroom apartments,large solar heated pool with gas heated spa and BBQ area's. Under cover secure parking. Right in the heart of Nelson Bay only a 5 minute walk to Bowling and Golf clubs and the Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.