We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but poorly run” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Aqua

Save Saved
You added Mantra Aqua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1A Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but poorly run”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here in a two bedroom apartment overlooking the pool area. The apartment complex itself is great, it's quite new by the look of it. The corridors, stairwells and pool all looked well maintained, the room was spotlessly clean, and the furniture in the room didn't look worn or anything.

The reason, however, that i'm giving this place 3 stars is because it is quite poorly run. As the room I stayed in was directly overlooking the pool, I did worry somewhat about the noise from the pool, as during the day it was quite noisy. Not complaining about the noise in the day, that's understandable, especially as this is a 'family' hotel after all with lots of kids staying there. There was a sign on the pool gate that the pool closed at 9:30pm, which seemed great as those in the rooms near the pool would be able to get sleep and not be interrupted by the noise from the pool.

However, the security guard that was on patrol (a contractor, not employed by the hotel) who was apparantly in charge of enforcing the pool curfew couldn't have cared less. She didn't do anything to stop people going in after 9:30pm and didn't do anything to get people out. She just sat in her office drinking coffee. There were splashes, yahoos and loud voices well into the night, it only stopped around 11pm when the security guard finally went and told them to leave the area. Even then, she just went straight back into her office and didn't actually see if the people had gotten out or not (which many didn't for at least 30 minutes after that). This happened each of the 4 nights I was staying there.

The morning after the first night, I went to the guard and complained about her not enforcing the curfew, she clearly didn't care and was quite rude about it too, telling me to complain to reception (which hadn't yet opened). When I did complain to reception, they told me to take it up with the guard. It seemed that noboby wanted to know about it.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you kindly for providing your feedback. I have to say I am shocked of this information and am hoping you can shed some light with the experience you had with the security guard. I am surprised that this is also the first I hear of it, as we ensure the pool closes at 9pm sharp every night. I noticed your feedback states you stayed in September - if this is true, my concern is that perhaps this was an older security company being used, and pontentially may be too late to follow up? In order to be able to follow up appropriately we would really appreciate your help if you could contact us at your earliest convenience... This is unacceptable behavior, and we would not want to have our future guests experiencing the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    77
    37
    4
    10
See reviews for
95
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Well this stay started on the right foot, we were upgraded to a three bedroom fully self contained apartment . This is a well run facility with friendly staff, the place is about 6 years old, so it's very tidy indeed. A short walk to town, and a short drive to nearby attractions. The pool is beautiful and is solar heated, the adjoining spa is gas heated, and there's plenty of parking, would consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we can welcome you back to the resort in the future.
Kind Regards
Mantra Aqua Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lots of kids, our 6 year old daughter quickly found a friend to play in he pool and by day two had a group of three girls going. Friendly staff, great shower with good pressure and nice hot water. Kitchen is nicely equipped with oven (aluminium foil was already on the tray, a nice detail), dishwasher, fridge and freezer, everything was very clean when we arrived. Good lights in kitchen, they could be better in the living room with only one lamp (the ceiling one gave awfully cold light) an extra light next to the TV would have been nice, the TV could be bigger, but still a pretty decent size.
Also parking is not a problem in most streets having the car in an undercover parking next to the elevator is very convenient, there is even a locker in front of the parking spot that would be perfect to store a surf board or any items to take to the beach regularly.

Overall we spend a very relaxing and enjoyable three nights and I would definitely recommend the Mantra Aqua to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Nelson Bay. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the lighting in the living area. We will certainly raise this with management and hopefully improve.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Mantra Aqua Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittaway Point, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great place to stay with the family. We had a very spacious apartment with plenty of room to move. Under cover security carparking and a great pool with spa. Very clean! Within a stones throw to all Nelson Bay shops and Marina. No need to use car if dining out in the main township very good for walking, all flat ground.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Nelson Bay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Mantra Aqua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 3N in a two bedroom with two children. Room was clean, neat, comfortable. Bed was a little stiffer than ours at home but not uncomfortable. Two bathrooms clean and well stocked with amenities.
Pool seemed to be heated and was well suited for two children learning to swim. Totally relaxing in the pool area, safe and not crowded. BBQ was clean and worked well with seating for us all. Secure parking, a bonus too. Towels can be hired at reception for $2 each. Convenient location but Nelson Bay is not amazing, Fingal Bay and beach was stunning, a short drive/bus ride away.

Room Tip: Pool view are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Mantra Aqua Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Reasoanble priced accommodation close to town facilities. Rooms could do with a little updating - suggest an awning on the balcony for some sun protection and screens on the windows so that the windows can be opened at night without being eaten my bugs. Biscuits in our starter pack in the kitchen were out of date - not good house keeping. All up an average accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. We have taken all of your comments on board and have been raised with management and staff. We are in the process of installing fly screens in all the apartments that don't already have them however it is a process. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you wish to speak to me in further detail.
Kind Regards
Mantra Aqua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute for our first family getaway with our 10 week old daughter. Perfect family hotel with everyone you see with kids with them. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and they are massive in size. Nice kitchen. Only down fall was the beds are uncomfortable. Woke up with a sore back both mornings. Apartments are in a great location. Definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained 2 and 3 bedroom apartments,large solar heated pool with gas heated spa and BBQ area's. Under cover secure parking. Right in the heart of Nelson Bay only a 5 minute walk to Bowling and Golf clubs and the Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Aqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.