We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the best accommodation on the south coast!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystery Bay Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narooma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mystery Bay Cottages
Save
You added Mystery Bay Cottages to your Saves list
121 Mystery Bay Road, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“still the best accommodation on the south coast!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nigel and Kate are the very best in hospitality. Nothing has changed since I last stayed. Great value for money and the very best setting you could imagine. The only problem I had was only being able to stay one night this time. We took relatives from Queensland that were just amazed with the place. To the people that knocked this place they are quite literally idiots that really cannot be pleased. The comments under average should be ignored. We will always keep coming back here. It will be a sad day for the place if Nigel and Kate leave as they would have very big shoes to fill.

Room Tip: they are all good. the rooms are close but they are all staggered so you never feel overlooked, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J, Owner at Mystery Bay Cottages, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words....to be called the "best accommodation on the South Coast" makes us very proud.
And it's lovely to hear that you see as as "value for money" - we have always done pricing analysis of the area to ensure that we offer great value all year round.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kindest regards
Nigel & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Located an easy 3 hour drive from Canberra but a whole world away from that cold Canberra winter weather. We arrived in the dark but everything was so well set up that we were sitting in front of the log fire with a glass of red wine within minutes. The cottages are private, nicely decorated, and we particularly appreciated the comprehensive information folder which meant we could plan a lovely balance of romantic walks on the beach with road trips to nearby villages. We stayed for two nights and wished it could have been longer.

Room Tip: Cottages 3 to 6 are further from the entrance and the tennis court and games cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found this accommodation wonderful. It was just like a two bedroom house, but you didn't have to do anything except enjoy. We stayed two nights in July. Close walk to the beach and a quiet, tranquil location. The wood fire was great and the birds were everywhere. Not too far from local towns, but take your own food, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location edge of National Park and short walk to Billy’s Beach. We were however disappointed with the condition of Cottage No 5. Previous reviews stated 5/5 for cleanliness for a 4 star rated property but our experience was far from that. The cottage was tired, the carpets worn and torn, the stove and grill – I couldn’t use them as they were and think it should be replaced! The pans and utensils again need replacing we had to wash things before we used them.
The grout in the bathroom discoloured and mouldy and the tiles outside the shower in need of a good scrub! The toilet walls were splashed (what with??) and do cleaners not clean behind doors? In general the cottage needed a good overhaul as far as cleanliness goes. OK in saying that we enjoyed our stay, it was good that wood was supplied for the fire place and loved the peace and quiet – but most of all loved the company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J, Owner at Mystery Bay Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Jayne & Bob
We're disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay.
We feel that you may have been upset from the start as you did not want to be near children during your stay and by chance, we had children staying in most other cottages...
We also feel that we were helpful and flexible towards any of your requests - e.g. leaving the key in your cottage for a late arrival with no check in on Friday, a late check out on the Sunday at no extra cost, etc.
However, following your comments, we have done a thorough review of your cottage and have found:
1. The stove and grill work perfectly....there is a manual in the drawer in the kitchen for people who may need help.
2. The pans and utensils are all of good quality and do not need replacing.
3. There is no mould in the shower..however, one piece of grout had fallen out and has been been re-grouted (occasionally maintenance issues occur and we deal with them immediately).
4. There were no marks on the walls - had you told us, we would of course have dealt with them immediately.
As we pride ourselves on cleanliness - you will see our trip advisor score is 94% and we spend much more time on cleaning than the industry average - it was, again, disappointing that you found the cleanliness not up to standard. But having done a full check of the cottage, we feel your comments are unnecessarily negative.
We also like to think that we offer amazing value - you paid $150 per night for a quality, AAA-rated four star 2-bedroom cottage, 100m from a beach in a stunning area (you gave the location 5 stars)....having done a full pricing analysis of the area, we are very confident of our value for money.
We have 90% occupancy all year round with strong repeat business and referrals - both of which are growing.
Finally, we are glad to hear that, despite your negative comments, you still "enjoyed your stay"...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been coming here for 13 years - every year for 1 to 2 weeks - and be back again next year and... Its the one place we have found where we can do NOTHING and enjoy it. But if we want to do something there is a fantastic movie theatre 10 minutes away, a great fish shop - straight from the trawler to you - reasonably good restaurants, music estivals and more. And we are 5 minutes walk from a surf beach through national park and 10 minutes walk from a kids-safe beach again through national park where 3 makes a crowd. And then there's more beaches where if there is more than you it is crowded - miles and miles of it. KEEP IT A MYSTERY.

Peter Sarlos

Room Tip: All the cottages are great - 4 and 5 have a better layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After reading the reviews we chose Mystery Bay cottages to stay. The location is lovely and the rooms were spotlessly clean however for the price we paid it was simply very poor value for money. We stayed four nights and as the cottages aren't serviced during your visit the thin towels provided (only one each) were very much in need of cleaning. Without a dryer we were unable to clean our own towels. The cottage was poorly stocked and we ended up buying our own toilet paper. I expect better at over $250 per night. There are better places to stay for the money, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel J, Owner at Mystery Bay Cottages, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Johanna.
We're sorry you were disappointed with your stay here. We pride our selves on offering good value at Mystery Bay Cottages (we price our selves just below self-catering cabins at camp-sites).
Our cottages are self-catering and not serviced but, even so, we happily offer unlimited replacement complimentary towels, toilet rolls, birdseed at any time....in fact, whatever the guest would like.
We don't provide dryers for environmental reasons so, instead, offer replacement towels which is designed to ensure an easier life for our guests.
You describe the cottages as "poorly stocked" - we like to think that our inclusions are generous - from fully stocked kitchen, laundry powder, freshly ground pepper, freshly ground coffee and coffee plunger, rosemary in the towels, hand made beeswax soap, toiletries, bird watching book, detailed visitor guide and free bird seed in each cottage - if you have any suggestions for other inclusions, please let us know.
We happily note your comments about the great location and the cottage being spotlessly clean....
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed three weeknights just before Easter. Enjoyed it immensely. We would return for a week-long stay without hesitation. Those reviewers with concerns about the accommodations should bear in mind that these are rural cottages, not 5-star urban condos. However, they are not 'rustic' accommodation in any way. All amenities are there, except for internet. So be prepared to be disconnected. (Convince the kids that's a good thing!). Fun in the games room takes one back to the pre-technology era.

Cottages are relatively private, but not too secluded. Pastoral view out the front is soothing and you forget you're on the coast, yet short walks bring you to a choice of beaches. The best beach in our opinion is 1080 Beach which, while it is theoretically walkable from the cottages, is better to make the 10-minute drive. Watch out for the wallabies.

Narooma is 15 mins by car and offers all small-town services, including groceries, bakeries, fruit and veg. The drive to Bega or Batemans Bay might be better for shopaholics, but they wouldn't appreciate the peace of Mystery Bay Cottages, anyway.

Needless to say, the birdseed is a nice touch. Not only are Kate and Nigel welcoming hosts, the crimson rosellas are as well. Soon they seem like part of the family ...in fact, just as demanding as some family members can become. The lorikeets are brilliant.

Room Tip: All cottages appear to be identical, all have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystery Bay Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystery Bay Cottages

Address: 121 Mystery Bay Road, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narooma
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Narooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We've discovered some breathtaking places together... but Mystery Bay Cottages will forever be remembered as one of the best." - Eamonn Duff, Sun Herald. These 6 architect-designed cottages are located in one of the most beautiful settings imaginable - nestled between National Parkland and award-winning beaches. They are airy and spacious with high-raked ceilings and provide everything you need to make your stay as pleasurable as possible - log fires (wood supplied), electric blankets, TV DVD player, full kitchen, laundry, comfy sofas and dining suite. There is also heating throughout the cottage. There are 2 bedrooms - a queen room and a twin room and a single fold-out bed if required. We provide all linen, towels, tea & plunger coffee, toiletries and even bird seed for your own bird table (the wildlife is spectacular with rare birds, echidnas, possums and wallabies). We have a full-sized tennis court (equipment provided at no charge), a games room (with table tennis, table soccer, table air hockey, books, magazines, DVD's and kids toys) and a floodlit covered gas BBQ area. High chairs and travel cots are also provided free of charge. And being only 4.5 hours south of Sydney, 2.5 hours from Canberra and between Narooma and historic Tilba our location is perfect - the peace and tranquility you dream of with everything within a stones-throw. Why not take our advice and "Drift away at Mystery Bay..." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystery Bay Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.