We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and professionally run B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Tilba Street, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Narooma B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and professionally run B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed one night as a break on a drive from Sydney to Melbourne. Anchors Aweigh was easy to find and has off street parking at the back. Heather and Kerry run a very professional and comfortable B&B with the quirky decorations adding an unusual edge. Our room was very well furnished and had a good balcony. Breakfast (ordered the night before for a set time) was plentiful and of high quality. Heather and Kerry’s tip to eat at the golf club restaurant was an excellent one. Bistro type food with wonderful 270 degree views of the coastline.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Travelers

So happy that the Golf Club did well, great venue in general. We both hope that you have an enjoyable time in Ozz and in particular the South Coast,,of course.
With that we thank you for taking that time to review us and with "she who works in the kitchen" looking after the morning nosh will be pleased.

All the very best and happy trails.......from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
41
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This B&B accommodation is located in an elevated position with views of the coastline from the balcony outside of our room. It is a short walk from the beach and even closer to shops and restaurants.

Our first impressions on entering the property were of entering someone's home and this feeling extended to our room. However this is a home with a difference in that the owners have concentrated on providing an excellent environment and service for guests.

Our room was tastefully decorated with lots of personal touches e.g. bathrobes and large fluffy towels, the bed was very comfortable and the owners had installed quality fittings throughout.

The balcony offered the opportunity to sit and have a relaxing, late-afternoon drink whilst taking in the views. There is a comprehensive list of choices for breakfast with an option to eat it on your balcony if so inclined.

Everything worked and both Kerry and Heather are excellent hosts. We would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Ian

Thank you for your descriptive stay. Narooma is a real lay back place to spend some time out while on a busy holiday in Australia. It would seem you both enjoyed some time out and had a relaxing stay with us.
We hope that you do come this way again to the south coast on your next visit.
Again many thanks for taking the time to review us and all the very best.........

Enjoy your traveling from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stopped here for 1 night between Christmas & New Year en-route from Melbourne to Sydney. Heather & Kerry were fantastic hosts making us feel really welcome in their home (they even sorted out some beach towels for us so we didn't need to dig ours out from the bottom of the suitcase). The rooms were massive with a lovely private balcony where our breakfast was served which couldn't be faulted. Check out the amazing collections of teddy bears,cars,plates & photos. Nice large bathroom. Off street parking. Comfortable beds. No noise. Everything you could wish for from a great value B & B. Narooma is a real gem & so is Anchors Aweigh. The only disappointment was we were only there for 1 night. We'll be back though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Globe globetrotters

It is amazing this year the great guests we have meet that have come from or near Birmingham/UK, people staying meet other that went to the same school etc in the city area.
Many thanks for your very kind comments and we are glad that you enjoyed time out in Narooma and all it has to offer.
It looks like you have a great time in Sydney as well and so will have plenty of great memories to add to your other travels and stories to recount.

Again thank you both and have a safe 2014 from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, ACT, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Room 5 on the end so balcony was very private. The photos are exactly what you see. Amazing collection of cars, aircraft photos, old biscuit tins & English plates. Was impressed that there's no buffet, everything is either on your table or brought to your table. Just help yourself to the brewing coffee. Very clean. Comfortable bed & pillows too. No noise between rooms either. Breakfast menu allows a different meal each morning. I was very relaxed after 4 nights. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Kinema Narooma is an art deco building with current movies - a 10-15 min walk down the hill & wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello Pikelette

Yes the Kinema is great and is just worth the time out to go, takes me back to my movie picture days, ice cream with choc top....any way.
We try to make the breakfast an enjoyable touch and give a good start to the day.
Thank you for writing about the things you enjoyed and to say you would come back is the icing.

All the very best in travelling 2014 from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Really enjoyable stay. Warm and friendly welcome by owners Heather and Kerry to their somewhat nicely quirky B&B. Really well equipped and comfortable room with spacious balcony.

Excellent freshly prepared cooked breakfast and good recommendations for local amenities including places to have supper - Narooma golf club a big hit.

Quirky? Only because of the extensive displays of teddy bears, model cars and wartime memorabilia all of which were interesting, as well as the model rail track on the ceiling in the lounge area.

Easy to find off A1 and good car parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Hello Alistair
Many thanks for staying with us while on your Ozz tour. We are happy that you found us interesting (quirky) while spending some relaxing time.....and thank you for spending your time to review us...

With that we hope that you both had a great time in Aust and especially the south coast drive.
Thank you again and safe travelling from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a king suite which had a large deck where an extremely good breakfast was served. Nice to have a large bathroom. Good off street parking. Lots of eating places near by. Hosts were very helpful.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Kia ora

We hope that you enjoyed your holiday in Australia, great time of the year to do so before the Christmas break !!!. Thank you for staying with us while on your east coast holiday experience and taking the time to write your review about us.

Merry Christmas and a happy New Year for 2014 Ehara mai from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We only stayed one night but would not hesitate to stay there again. The place was clean and comfortable, bed good, proprietors welcoming. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of it! It was quiet with coastal views from the balcony.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchorsAweighNarooma, Owner at Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hello Judy

We are so happy that you both had an enjoyable time while in this lovely part of the south coast, Narooma and of course selecting us to stay with while here.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very kind review of us and we hope to see you both in the future..

All the very best and safe travels to you both...... from Heather and Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Tilba Street, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Narooma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Narooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built as a 5 star energy efficient guest house. Located in the heart of Narooma but off the highway and within a small walking distance to most eateries, pubs, shops clubs, beaches etc. Breakfast from the menu can be enjoyed on your own veranda (weather dependent - no additional charge) or in the main dining room. Some inclusions are either King/spa or Queen en-suite all with with HDTV/DVD, mini fridge, tea coffee making, high speed WiFi, rooms are serviced daily etc. All verandas do not have passing traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchors Aweigh Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.