We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers with pets.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Nambucca Motel

Save Saved
You added The Nambucca Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Nambucca Motel
6038 Pacific Hwy, Nambucca Heads, New South Wales 2448, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Nambucca Heads
Gold Coast Qld.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Travellers with pets.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Returning from a recent trip to Sydney my experience staying at Nambucca Motel was indeed a very unhappy one. Assigned room 18 when I alighted from car odor from nearby septic system was overpowering & I am sure a health hazard. I returned to reception explained situation & requested another room which was granted. I found this pet friendly motels grassed area very good for my 8 mth old Labrador. Departing 6.00am next day I was unaware my dog had caused damage to phone cord (replacement cost approxmately $20) & air cond.remote ( replacement cost $30) until I recieved abusive phone call to my car from proprietor screaming at me about damages then proceeded to charge my credit card $150 for remote, $200 for phone cord. I accept full responsibility for damages however these charges are excessive in the extreme.

Room Tip: Request room near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
14
17
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

On our way up to the Gold Coast my wife and I noticed the Motel with its sign advertising River views, etc, and we thought that we might stay there on the way back to Sydney. This we did, being signed in by the host, Melody Ng. Our room was spacious, and as clean as you could possibly wish. Also, very quiet, being well set back from the highway - and, believe it or not, you can hear the distant thump of the breakers from the beach at night. The night was very clear, and the stars amazing to view (for someone from Sydney, anyway, where light pollution ruins the view).

The surrounding grounds are spacious, with a lovely walk by the river and wind soughing through the branches of the casuarina trees. You can see ducks, egrets and other water birds - also can have a (brief) conversation with a sulphur-crested cockatoo. The motel dog, Yo-yo, is very friendly.

Melody served us pre-dinner drinks, then cooked us an excellent meal (which was huge!). She is a first class cook, especially of the Asian variety, as noted by a French reviewer (Melody has a Chinese background). She also provided us with a very substantial English-style breakfast.

So the Nambucca Motel has a lot to recommend it. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Gerry

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Although not new the Nambucca Motel is clean and comfortable. We have stayed there twice now and have found both visits met our needs. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the surroundings ideal, as it is located on the river. As it is set well off the road, there is no traffic noise.(especially trucks). I have recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Although one of the numerous country motels built in the 70s and 80s of various and often dubious design and function - this modelled on a Spanish or Mexican hacienda without cactii - the Nambucca Motel is clean, comfortable, quiet and in fact very pleasant. Rooms were bright and airy, the outlook onto the river quite enchanting. A special request for twin beds - I was travelling with my 21 year old daughter - was actually met in advance unlike a number of others on our road trip from Tasmania to Queensland. I would have tried the interesting restaurant with its mix of Chinese and Australian dishes (though these culinary encounters usually finish as a disappointment in rural Australia) but the recommendation for the nearby Sawadee Thai was stronger (and it was superb!!). I felt that this motel was well run by people who were determined to build a strong and reputable operation with a particular focus on value-for-money particularly for families.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The property is conveniently located along the Pacific HWY and yet the units do not get noise from the highway. The units are clean and pleasantly located around a well kept garden and there is of course the beautiful river alongside.

The restaurant outdoor area is a lovely place to have a drinks or a bite.

Room Tip: If you or your children plan to swim, ask for units close to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a good time at the Motel, clean rooms, water front and a lot of outside space for kids and pets. The service was good and and the place was clean. We recommend the motel for families or any one after quite place with easy access to local entertainment locations with the Nambucca/ Coffs harbour area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

1st, owner misquoted us in writing via email and then did not honour rate
2nd, got into the room and counted at least 30 mosquitos. Not good especially with a daughter who has a reaction to them. Was told by the owner to use the bug repellant.
3rd, found lizards on the wall

Owner then offered another room with an extra bed but advised if we used that bed she would charge us extra. We asked for a refund but was denied.

Recommendation - FAIL

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nambucca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nambucca Motel

Address: 6038 Pacific Hwy, Nambucca Heads, New South Wales 2448, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Nambucca Heads
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Nambucca Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Nambucca Motel. 15 acres of landscaped lawns and garden, alongside the Nambucca river. 30 ground floor comfortable clean rooms with warm friendly service. Stay a day, week or more. Great place for a quiet night rest, stopover or holiday. Please to make your stay more pleasant and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Nambucca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nambucca Resort Heads

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nambucca Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.