We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt welcome and informed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Murwillumbah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Murwillumbah to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   17 Byangum Road, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Murwillumbah Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
BOOK HERE. Rate from $120
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Murwillumbah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Felt welcome and informed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Thai wife and I stayed here two nights last week. We planned to climb Mt Warning but unfortunately the climb was closed due to track repairs. We were lucky enough to learn this early in out stay with one of the proprietors making a call for us and then letting us know.

We stayed in a room on the first level with a great view of the mountain. The room was simply appointed but contained everything we needed. It was clean and everything worked. We made ourselves coffee in the mornings while we waited for room service breakfast. Breakfast was a highlight with both our hot meals being very well cooked and generous in size.

The hotel is very well located in Murwillumbah. Both evenings we strolled down to the town centre and had meals in a hotel bistro and Thai restaurant. We'll be back in August and hopefully the mountain will be ours.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
22
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Although a little dated the owners here are lovely and the views great. It's within easy walking distance of the main street with a variety of places to eat. There are nice places to just sit and relax behind the motel and the pool is great. Good value too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent spacious motel with really nice staff who gave us a great coffee on arrival which we appreciated as we were wet through. The rooms have new furniture and really clean and nice. Fantastic views to Mt Warning. Good parking available and good TV selection. Nice tea and milk and biscuits available. This place is the best value for visiting Mt Warning I have found and ideal for staying in to visit the amazing world heritage site that is the caldera. Close to town and really quiet. I love staying in rural motels and hotels as the value they provide is often better than more tourist type places.

Room Tip: Third floor offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our room and bathroom were large, the bed very comfortable and there was plenty of parking space. I injured my back the previous night and so we were put in a ground floor room so that I didn't have to climb the stairs and this was most appreciated. The motel was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The coffee on arrival was a pleasant touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doonan, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were welcomed with a complimentary coffee to a clean and well appointed room. We had a great view of Mt Warning and a sudden thunderstorm and downpour only added to our view. The next morning currawongs called to each other as the mist rose from the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very well maintained motel which was a pleasure to stay in. It was clean and comfortable. Would certainly stay again if in the area. Highly recommend. Also offered a coffee on arrival which was very welcoming. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

One of the nicest country motels I have ever been to.
Staff are really nice. Rooms are really clean. Beautiful rooms facing Mt Warning.
Close to town. Easy walk. Parking easy.
We would definitely go back or swing in to stay while travelling up or down the pacific hwy.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely. All facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Murwillumbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Murwillumbah

Address: 17 Byangum Road, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Murwillumbah Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Murwillumbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Murwillumbah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Murwillumbah offers 31 newly refurbished rooms including family and executive style accommodation. Our 3.5 Star AAA rated property also has a refreshing salt water swimming pool, BBQ, undercover parking and offers friendly and outstanding guest services to make your stay memorable. Our location is the perfect stop over when visiting famous local attractions that the NSW Northern Rivers Region has to offer. Murwillumbah Motor Inn is your home away from home and only minutes' walk to local restaurants, cafes and the shopping precinct. Room features include comfortable Queen beds, ensuite, Foxtel, flat screen TV's, IPod docking system, Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities, microwave and toaster. Start your day with a delicious, hearty country style breakfast or a light continental breakfast which is delivered to your room and is available seven days a week. If you're visiting for business or pleasure, The Murwillumbah Motor Inn is your first choice for accommodation when staying in the Tweed Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge Murwillumbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Murwillumbah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.