We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Breathtaking and Calming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning to your Saves list
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   112 Mt Warning Road | Mt Warning via, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Breathtaking and Calming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My lovely wife organised a 3 night stay for my 40th birthday at Wollumbin Palms Retreat in the Earth Lodge (The Cave). This place is the most unique place I have ever stayed and with touches of luxury.

It was breathtaking to look through the massive glass windows to see an always changing Mt Warning. The Earth lodge was so perfect for a romantic private get away. It was so relaxing and peaceful.

I would also highly recommend a massage from Casey.

We both want to thank Casey & Phil for a truly remarkable holiday. Their attention to detail, hospitality, warm nature and their respect for privacy is commendable. Casey went out of her way to accommodate our unique requests for which we are grateful.

Thank you for all the lemons, limes and avocados that we ended up taking home from your wonderful orchard.

Truly amazing energy and environment.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
76
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a beautiful place, solitude and serenity the perfect recipe for romance. Nature all around, fantastic and unique accommodation and hosts that make you feel right and home like you're wearing a comfy pair of socks on a cold winters night! Would recommend to anyone and everyone, we will be back again!

Room Tip: All 3 are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent a wonderful week in the water lodge. Celebrating a birthday it was the perfect place to switch off the mobile and relax. It rained a lot but who cares, that's what makes rainforests so special. Having our own private waterfall right outside our bedroom window was beautiful. Nothing was too much trouble for Casey and Phil. From our daily delivered fresh-baked bread to Phil's terrific dinners and home-made jams. Casey and Phil are lovely, genuine people. You can't help but feel calm around them. And of course visits from Whoopee the resident kangaroo were great fun too.
Alan and Carole K.

Room Tip: The water lodge feels very open and yet secluded at the same time. Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We really picked the week to travel north - the floods were everywhere. Phil & Casey worked hard to make sure our stay was wonderful, they helped with problems we had when our car just didn't want to work. The lodge was magnificent - never stayed in a yurtz before. Dinner was excellent and well presented. We felt special and we appreciate all that Phil & Casey did for us to make our celebration special, thank you guys!

Room Tip: I liked the Air but next time I would like to try Earth, it had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our long weekend away in the 'Water' lodge was probably the best weekend away I have ever had. Everything to make your stay more enjoyable has already been thought of and provided for you by Casey and Phil - from the fresh baked bread delivered daily and all of Phil's amazing meals (we especially loved his chocolate pudding), to the range of massages and other spa treatments Casey offers I dont think we could have asked for more. The perfect mix of the outdoors and a luxury hotel. Definately looking forward to coming back in the near future and trying out both of the other lodges as they both sound fantastic! Thanks Casey and Phil, we very much look forward to seeing you soon :) all the best wishes for the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Over the years we have stayed at many different Bed and Breakfasts from all over Queensland. We have got to say our experience at Woollumbin Palms Retreat would have to rate in our top 3.
We enjoy this retreat so much we have now stayed twice within fourteen months. During our stays we have been fortunate enough to try all three lodges and cannot pick a favourite as all three offer their own amazing unique experience. If you book only one night you will cheat yourself out of truly appreciating the full experience. We recommend you take advantage of having dinner cooked for you and enjoy one of the many massages available. Casey is such an amazing masseuse, for the first time ever I was so relaxed I actually dozed off and I have had many massages in my time. As for the meals, you won't be disappointed - Phil is definitely the "chef extraordinaire" and could give the My Kitchen Rules chefs a run for their money!Thank you Casey and Phil for making our much needed break such a wonderful experience. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed with whichever lodge you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently took 3 nights out of or busy lives to experience Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat
and we're so glad we did. We chose to stay in the Water Loge and LOVED IT!! It is the most unique accomodation I have ever stay in. It is very secluded with lovely views of the lake and rainforest.

The owners Casey and Phil made us feel very welcome, they explained everything we needed to know then left us to enjoy the tranquility of the lodge and surrounds. There is a very a tame kangaroo who we fed and we spotted a tortoise in the lake.

Breakfast was included in the tarrif. Bacon and eggs, tomatoes, cereal milk, juice, homemade jams etc were supplied as well as fresh home made hot bread delivered to the lodge each morning.

Meals - We really enjoyed the home cooked dinners during our stay. The meals were generous in size and very tasty. Our table was set, candles lit and the meals were delivered hot....we felt very spoilt.

Location - The retreat is in a great location, set just at the base of Mount Warning. There are a couple of lovely cafes for lunch or dinner within walkin distance.

Other lodges - we were very fortunate to be able to check out the other two lodges - Air and Earth. Like the Water lodge they are both very unique. We definately plan to stay in the other lodges. Thanks Casey and Phil for such a wonderful stay. You certainly have an amazing piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning

Address: 112 Mt Warning Road | Mt Warning via, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ultimate In Seclusion - our very unique, secluded & luxurious eco lodges for couples are tucked in the rainforest at the base of magical Mt Warning in northern NSW. This retreat offers something truly different from all other accommodation in the area. Featuring just 3 luxurious eco lodges tucked far away from each other on our 80 acre rainforest property, each one extremely unique & themed in style and outlook and all fully self-contained with everything you could possibly need for your romantic break away or honeymoon - from spas on the verandah to wood-burning fires in winter and a fridge stocked with breakfast goodies at no extra charge! Choose from "Water' - a 300 yr old Balinese Kings Temple with a suspended king size bed in a glass walled bedroom overlooking a waterfall, hand carved teak ceilings & doors, spa in the breezeway overlooking your own lake & koi pond; or"Earth" - a very unique and fun hobbit hole built into a hill. The front and back of the lodge are glass, and the roof and sides are grass! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.