We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, even in rainy weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bannisters Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bannisters Point Lodge to your Saves list
Bannisters Point Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   191 Mitchell Parade, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Relaxing, even in rainy weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just spent 3 days on the midweek package. Right from the initial booking where our room (21) was recommended as having best views the service was excellent. All staff were friendly and helpful. The little touches like umbrellas, free wifi, dvd's, books and magazines were great. The room was large with a comfortable bed and very good views of the coast and over the pool and garden area. Breakfasts were good (fantastic scrambled eggs) and lunch and dinner was wonderful. Menu had good range and servings were a sensible size. The food was delicious. Restaurant service was friendly and personable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: upstairs. Room 21 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear HoildayMice,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Bannisters, we truly appreciate your patronage and recommendation.

Our mid-week packages are a great way to enjoy all Bannisters has to offer and I am very pleased that your stay was so relaxing, watching the storms roll in over the ocean is a great experience.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to bannisters in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    81
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
15
170
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

we had a suite on the corner of the building that looked down on surf crashing on the rocks. The most fantastic ocean outlook and sounds we ever had. The suite was perfect for a 2 day stay, even included a gas log fire. Service was efficient and friendly from check in to check out. You pay top dollar here, but you receive top value for what you pay. We will be back.

Room Tip: pay extra for a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear TandTMelbourne,

Thank you for your review of Bannisters; I certainly appreciate you taking the share your experience of both the hotel and restaurant with the Tripadvisor community.

Our luxury Suites are in the prime corner position to make the most of the Pacific views and sunrises and I am very pleased to hear that our friendly service enhanced your stay.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Bannisters in the future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently had lunch at Rick Steins at Bannisters and had a lovely experience. We took our 3 yr old with us who was very well behaved which was a godsend. However the staff were very on the ball and brought us a kids menu promptly and the kids meal was a beautiful spag Bol which arrived quickly, which eased all potential dramas.

The views and whole ambience were spectacular. The restaurant was busy for lunch and at times the drinks menu could have been brought out much faster, but this was minor in the whole experience.

The food was faultless and the 3 course special at $60 per person was incredibly good value, amazing in fact. We had my very fussy father with me who commented this was one of the best meals he had ever had; very high praise indeed.

We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear wishyone,

Thank you for your feedback from your experience at our restaurant, I am very pleased to hear that you all had such an enjoyable experience.

Our $60 Wednesday lunch is a great way to enjoy the views and experience some of our ‘hero’ dishes. I will certainly pass on your feedback about drink times to our Restaurant Manager.

Thank you for your compliments (and thank you to your father!) and I hope to welcome you all back to Rick stein at Bannisters in the future.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent views and friendly staff made our Sydney getaway very pleasant. Room was very nice, clean with beautiful views. Dined by the pool for lunch. Pizza was excellent.
Dinner at the restaurant was very good- fresh, clean and modern without being to complex. Great wine list and friendly staff.

The wi-fi wasn't so crash hot and the artwork, well, words cannot describe how...lets just say we took our artwork of the wall while staying there.

Other than those minor details, an excellent place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Urbandon,
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Bannisters for your Sydney getaway.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your room and the casual dining by the Pool Bar. Rick has been working on our pool bar pizzas and it is great to hear more positive feedback.

As I explained to Denise, I do agree that our Wi-Fi has some faults; unfortunately getting a quality connection throughout all the rooms has been quite the challenge and an ongoing process. The art in your room was clearly not to your liking and we do have a total refurbishment coming up were we will take your comments onboard!

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This spot shows what a make over of an old outdated hotel can be. Perched on the best spot in the south coast, 3 hours from Sydney, you arrive already relaxed from the scenic and easy drive.

All rooms overlook the ocean and some like ours also overlook the deck, where cocktails and one of the best woodfired pizzas I've had in ages flow. The huge egg shaped spa bath easily fitted two and pummled us nicely into an appetite for dinner at the famous Rick Stein's Restaurant.

Mollymook may be a small town, but it's not small town service. Everyone was polite and accommodating. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Some tips for staying:
Internet access is free at Bannisters -mainly because it's so poor they could never charge for it. You pay for a remote spot, so enjoy it and leave the devices at home.

Also enjoy the view, which is spectacular, and leaves the art on the walls for dead. Which is good because it's simply awful. We took ours down it was that hideous, but who cares when you have rolling ocean at your feet.

Book the restaurant early to secure a view when you eat.

Room Tip: Rooms like ours, north facing number four, overlooked the deck, and unless you like showing Number 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Denise L,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bannisters and the local area. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and of course, the views of the Pacific!

I do agree that our Wi-Fi has some faults, unfortunately getting a quality connection throughout all the rooms has been quite the challenge and an ongoing process. Art is very subjective and the art in your room obviously incited a strong reaction from you both (although not the reaction we were hoping for!) I will certainly pass on your comments to the owner.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have just had the pleasure of a 2 night mid weekstay in the Narrawallee Suite at Bannisters.
It was our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we wanted to go somewhere special. The room was huge and full of little extras, to make our stay special.They have thought of everything. The views are fantastic and our day around the pool was such a treat .All of our eating and drinking experiences at Bannisters were exceptional. The staff went over and above to make sure that we remained continuously fed , watered and very happy at all times. In particular, the pool bar is a beautiful area to relax and watch the dolphins. This is our second stay here and it just gets better and better.

Room Tip: Spend a bit extra and get a suite. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear goghy,
Congratulations on your 25th Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on such a special occasion.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the pool bar did their best to ensure you had a relaxing experience. I very much appreciate comments from return guests and it sounds as though you have noticed some further improvements across the board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bannisters.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Husband and myself stayed at Bannisters about 2 years ago and it was great. Driving up the coast after a week long road trip, we decided to call in and see there was any possibility of a room. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and found us a great room at a good price. We had to wait an hour for the room to be cleaned, but the pool bar was a great place to wait and the room, when ready, was spotless. The view over the ocean from the room was amazing.

A late lunch at Rick Stein's was amazing. Beautiful whitebait and aoili to share, husband had grilled snapper and I had the absolutley delicious Indonesian Fish Curry - even the rice and spicy beans served with it were scrumptious - I would love the recipe.

Lazed by the pool for the afternoon and a small snack at the pool bar that night - also delicious. Ceasar Salad for me and Bannister Burger for the bloke, who said it was the best burger he has ever had - and he's had a few!

Very comfortable room overlooking the ocean and everything worked.

Breakfast - again delicious. Croissants are best I have had in a long time and the Eggs Benedict just beautiful. No lunch was needed after all that!

I think the service has got better since our last visit - very well trained.

Thanks Bannisters.

Room Tip: Ocean view away from the restaurant and pool are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Bannisters Point Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear CMKEX,
Thank you very much for your review. We are always looking for ways to improve and it is really wonderful to receive comparative feedback from return guests.

Thank you for your compliments, it sounds like you had a great service across all areas. I thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at both the restaurant and the casual dining of the pool bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip south.

Warm regards,
Peter Bacon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bannisters Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannisters Point Lodge

Address: 191 Mitchell Parade, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2539, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Mollymook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mollymook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bannisters Point Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1970s as a seaside motel, a succession of upgrades and refurbishments now sees our accommodation offering 4.5 star rooms with panoramic ocean views and private balconies. We offer a choice of ocean deluxe, spa rooms, luxury suites, jacuzzi decks and penthouses as well as Rick Stein at Bannisters restaurant, a pizza bar and rejuvenating day spa. With close proximity to local surf beaches, Bannisters makes an excellent choice for your coastal retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Bannisters Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bannisters Point Hotel Mollymook
Bannisters Point Mollymook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannisters Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.