We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up there with the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallwood

Tallwood
Shop 2/85 | Tallwood Avenue, Mollymook, Shoalhaven, New South Wales, Australia
0244555192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Mollymook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Up there with the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For a casual eatery this place nails it. All the dishes were faultless - organic beets dish and roast ricotta salad were highlights, and they were just comestibles!

Good selection of Aussie and International wines too. Whoever put the list together knows what they're doing. Well priced to boot.

The venue lacked a bit of soul but we were there on a quiet midweek night. What it lacked was made up by a clean, practical and funky fit out.

We've been to top-notch spots Sydney, Melbourne and Canberra in recent times and this sits right up there with the best food and attentive, knowledgable service (from Sam) we can remember.

We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    42
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great light tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went there last night with 6 friends :
Food was delicious ,pricey but amazing flavours.
Mains were great ,desserts were average.
Would highly recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent overall dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

A really nice evening out in Mollymook. The fit out is modern and stylish, the service friendly and relaxed and the food was excellent. I really enjoyed the shared plate philosophy of the resturant with the chance to sample multiple dishes. I particularly enjoyed the mushroom dish presented with mixed nuts. The wine list was interesting and reasonably priced. We ate at Banisters the following evening. I think it's unfair to compare them. They are differing offerings and themes with both delivering well.


Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding on all counts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am delighted to discover this young establishment. Gorgeous decor. Informed, friendly, skilled and efficient staff. Delicious food presented beautifully. Rick Steins Bannisters and Caveau of Wollongong should take a long hard look at what they provide for the price in the name of fine dining. I dearly hope this restaurant is a success. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at Tallwood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent 5 nights in Mollymook for our honeymoon and had dinner here our last night. Wow! The food was truly sensational, amazing flavours! The prune tart for dessert was just divine. And reasonably priced too. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tallwood over Bannisters for a special occasion. We loved it, and staff were lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tallwood also viewed

Mollymook, Shoalhaven
Milton, Shoalhaven
 
Ulladulla, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Tallwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.