We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mittagong Motel to your Saves list
Mittagong Motel
7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The room was great, very comfortable. Exceeded expectations and value for money. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to male the experience a good one. Thoroughly enjoyed and would go back. Do recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
46
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I thought this motel was good value. Although old it had everything I needed. The free breakfast was a nice way to start the day, with plenty of variety in cereals, bread and spreads, tea and coffeel.Lovely to sit in the sun and read the morning papers. The staff were friendly and pleasant. Free Wi-fi was great. The bed was comfortable, and I didn't notice highway noise at all. I was here for a week for work.

Room Tip: I had room 13
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Due to where we had been and where we were planning to go, the southern highlands area was a convenient place for an overnight stay, and also I had not been there for quite some time. I decided on Mittagong for ease of access, and this establishment from previous reviews. The motel is located on the main road, the old highway, and not too far out of town, about a 10/15 minute walk. Entrance into a large quadrangle with parking outside, but not necessarily outside your unit. Corner parks are tight. The room was your average double, did have a table and chairs, bedding ok, wifi, and bathroom was dated but it was functional.
Unfortunately, and already knowing this when booking but not an issue, there was no microwave in this room. I note other reviews indicate they had a microwave. As I had a room in the 20s, it may be coming on a numerical system. The continental breakfast is a good touch, located in the area next to reception, and a reasonable choice was on offer.
The highway is busy, especially in the afternoon when we took a walk into town, though it did seem to slow a little later in the evening. There were NP&WS vehicles in the carpark when we arrived and they left between 4pm and 6pm, so it appeared they were on shift. They were arriving back in the carpark between midnight and 2.00am.
The motel is what it is, offers reasonable value for overnight stays with the addition of a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Small older style motel, bedroom roomy enough, bathroom very small, but shower a good size. Split system air conditioner, fan and electric blanket provided. Bed hard but comfortable, pillows very thin. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast room with free breakfast of cereals, toast and spreads, juice, tea & coffee. Newspapers available to read in breakfast room. Close to town and local attractions. RSL a short drive for meals and shows. Good budget motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerang, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Having stayed at your motel twice when travelling from the Gold coast to Melbourne and return recently, we found it very comfortable and the owners and staff very accommodating. When we are travelling and looking for a motel all we require is room that is clean and comfortable with a Tv. We are usually only stopping for one night and on both occasions found this motel to satisfy our needs. Also the added extra of breakfast was a bonus. It started off our day just right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here last night and we were very disappointed, bathroom was very old and looked like it was the original bathroom installed 40plus years ago, really someone at sometime should have thought to renovate the bathrooms, this is just basic common sense to me. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to anyone. There could be some simple cost effective changes that could be made to improve it, like washers and hand towels in the rooms, shampoo in bathroom, a shelf to put things on in bathroom, a coat of paint would do wonders, the skirting boards had peeled paint on them, window in bathroom had cobwebs and could not be closed... Great security guys, door to bathroom only closed if pushed hard to close. For $150 this was a rip off. I know it's only a 2 and Half star rating but really... Please!

Room Tip: Chose one of the other hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Some of the issues you have raised we will attend to very quickly - thanks for bringing these to our attention. From the price that you have given, you must have had one of our family rooms, which cost a little less than $150 on a weekend with no minimum number of nights, and occupy up to 4 people. Our family rooms are ideal for people who are looking for a basic room for their family at an affordable price. We do provide handtowels and washers in our queen and queen twin rooms, but I don't think we will be providing these in our family rooms in the foreseeable future. We have also been considering providing shampoo, but again probably only in our queen and queen twin rooms at this stage. We have shampoo and a range of other toiletries available for free at our reception area. In terms of bathroom renovations, our first priority is to improve access to a few of our bathrooms for frail and disabled people.
Thanks again for your feedback.
gill@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Everything was clean & tidy. Yes its old and no its not 5star but it serves the purpose. We had room 8 which even had a small microwave. Breakfast was communal and had a good choice. We will return if back this way again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Hi
Thanks for doing a review on our accommodation.
gill@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mittagong Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.