We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy to book, very clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mittagong Motel to your Saves list
Mittagong Motel
7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“easy to book, very clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we booked a room a few days before staying after deciding to have a random girls night away. The man we spoke to when booking was lovely and gave me advice where we could go out that night as none of us had been to Mittagong before. When I arrived at the motel i felt it had abit of an old school feel to it which was nice but the trees and site all looked well maintained and tidy. the rooms were a little out dated but they were very clean and tidy with a remote control flat screen TV and reception staff advised us they were in the middle of trying to do everything up so we weren’t concerned.
The motel offered free Wi-Fi and complimentary breaky (which we didn’t make it to as it goes from 7-8am and that is a little too early on a Sunday morning for me).
The only thing that i could fault which isnt even a massive issue is that our room was next to the laundry so in the morning from about 8.30-9am the cleaners were walking past talking loudly and the washing machines banged a little but again this wasnt to much of a problem and it wouldnt be the case in any other room besdes the one we were in.
If i was in Mittagong again i wouldn’t hesitate in staying there and recommending it to friends as a clean basic motel with very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Amie
Thanks so much for your feedback - we'll follow up on the issue you raised.
Regards
Gillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
38
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Travelling as a family.I stayed in many road motels before but this motel really surprised me.You can tell that the owners love their property and their guests. Friendly service, there is somebody at the reception till 2.am, clean, comfortable beds, complimentary breakfast, free wifi.......
I booked the same day over the phone, which was easy and fast. And recommend everybody to write down their contact details just in case you need a good sleep and a hot hot shower!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi
Thanks so much for your feedback. It's great encouragement for us and our staff!!
Cheers
Gillian at Mittagong Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here on our way back to Victoria. This is your basic motel, which is now under new management. The room was good, and rates were reasonable. A continental breakfast is complimentary (although we didn't partake) but that was a pleasant surprise. Free wi-fi and friendly service. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Manager at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Hillbilliechic
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments.
Happy travelling!
Gillian at Mittagong Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We unexpectedly needed to stay a night in Mittagong so we wanted something cheap. The Mittagong Motel was a pleasant surprise for the price. Friendly staff, reasonable rooms, good wi-fi and gushing hot showers. Some of the furnishings look a little dated and we'd probably arrange our own breakfast next time. Apart from that everything was clean and we had a great nights sleep. I'd definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Eddie, we really appreciate and value your feedback. Thanks for all your comments.

We are with you about the furnishings being dated....upgrades are high on our list of priorities.

In regards to the breakfast, we agree that the complimentary continental breakfast provides a limited choice for our guests, really just 5 or 6 choices of cereal, toast and spreads, tea or coffee and sometimes juice. We are hoping to offer a hot breakfast for our guests in the future, especially on the weekends. The complimentary continental will still be perfect for families and those who just want a light breakfast, but hopefully we'll better meet the needs of those with a hearty appetite. We might need to look at the coffee issue too.. at the moment the cafes up the road are much more appealing...!!

One last point - for some reason TripAdvisor doesn't have a motel category, which is a bit of a gap in the Australian context (or maybe I've missed something on TripAdvisor). At the moment we are listed as a B & B, which may suggest that breakfast is an integral part of what we provide, but really, in the motel context, the free breakfast we offer is a little bit of 'cream on the cake'.
Thanks again
Gillian at Mittagong Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are looking for a cheaper accommodation alternative in the Southern Highlands, this is it! The owner/operators made us feel so welcome, lovely people, friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean, freshly painted and had a new flat screen TV with all the channels. Tea and coffee facilities available as well as a toaster. What you would expect from a well-run 21/2 - 3-star motel. Overall an enjoyable and friendly stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks Jill for your encouragement. We have just past our first year anniversary of taking over the motel, so great to have such good feedback.
Cheers
Gillian at Mittagong Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A lovely place.
We stayed here one night durng the long week-end over 29-Sep thru 01-Oct 2012.
Friendly owners;
Well laid out rooms;
Good location on the main highway;
Easy access;
short walk to eating places and shops if one would like to go to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hi Bharat, thanks for much for being our inaugural TripAdvisor reviewer!!! We are so grateful that you got us up and running.
Thanks as well for raising the issue of the restaurants and cafes in our local area. We are lucky to have some really lovely places to eat.
Regards
Gillian at Mittagong Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mittagong Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.