We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Deserves the 5 stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merimbula Robyns Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merimbula Robyns Nest to your Saves list
Merimbula Robyns Nest
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   188 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Merimbula B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tasmania, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Deserves the 5 stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Travelling from Canberra to Melbourne, we had just one night at Robyn's Nest in March... and wished we could have stayed a week!

We had a large room in the guesthouse, with ensuite and dressing room. Everything was perfect, from the warm welcome to the quality bathroom items and chocolates in the room. Comfy bed and quality furnishings throughout the facility.

Breakfast was delicious, best omelet I've ever had!

The location is superb, tranquil outlook over the lake, sunrise was spectacular. Facilities were excellent, though we didn't have time to use them. This means we have to come back!

Hosts are great, very engaging but not intrusive. Best B&B we've stayed in.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Folks,
Thank you for your very kind words.
This is what makes being in this business worthwhile when we know that our guests have gotten the experience they deserve.
We do look forward to you returning and testing out all the facilities.

Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    13
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
75
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

what a great discovery-- we have travelled and ate at many places and this is first class--it is a great place to escape from the hustle and bustle of life -- for a weekend--or a extended stay or a stop off on the way through to ??? -- the place has been lovingly and thoughtfully designed--and the experience begins when you turn off the busy highway and meander down the private bitumen road the the typical Australian bush and vegetation -- passing kangaroos grazing in the open areas in the bushland -- glimpses of the Merimbula lake through the bushland crossing over a dam that teams with wild ducks and upon arriving you are greeted with the sounds of wild bird life amongst the trees-- nature is about the only noise you'll hear at Robyns nest -- we were greeted by Greg the manager -- who immediately made us feel welcome -- Greg quickly gave us a description of the area and what we could visit while staying -- we were here in March 2014 -- and the current web site does not do justice to just how great this place is -- I am told that they about revamp there whole online presence-- but hey, read the reviews and it is every bit as true as to what people say about it--- if you are a world traveller passing through -- make this a destination stop over--- you won't be disappointed -- plus Merimbula is a very lovely part of Australia and worth a stop over for a couple of days --- or you may just want to escape your world for a couple of days like we did-- you wont find better --all the boxes are ticked

Room Tip: all the rooms are good -- it has been very thoughtfully laid out -- it will really come down to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Carl,
Thanks for your great review of our little peace of heaven.
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure will cross each others paths again ;)
Kind Regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We didn't stay here but ate at the restaurant.
Service was good, but not obtrusive. Our waitress was happy and freely gave recommendations re the food.
It was valentine evening and we enjoyed the Chocolate lovers plate for two as our dessert
The location is great, so am sure a stay here would be lovely

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Folks, Thank you so much. It truly means a lot to get our first review for our restaurant and for it to be such a positive one. We do hope if you are ever back here in Australia you will come and check out our accommodation as well.
Kind Regards
Robyn and Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed in one of the self contained cabins for 7 nights over the 2013/2014 new year. The selection to stay at Robyn's Nest was not deliberate, we started looking late and chose mainly by availability - although the online pictures of the location were pretty stunning!
We both lead a hectic lifestyle in Sydney and Robyn's Nest was exactly what we needed - welcoming, lovely accommodation, beautiful surrounds, relaxation and absolutely gorgeous scenery - loved waking to the sunrises and the bellbirds. Cannot forget to mention the beautiful sunsets, so many rich colours! We both love the beach and water, swimming, snorkelling and a bit of scuba for me, so the whole coast, Eden, Merimbula to Tarthra to us is heaven sent.
Recommend Robyn's Nest without hesitation!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
This is what makes our job so worthwhile! It delights me that you found us by mistake and almost by default and yet still had such a positive experience. Any time you need to unplug and unwind come back and see us again.
Kind Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We took our first weekend away from our 16month old at this stunning retreat! We stayed in a honeymoon suite!
The family owned business have spared no expense when it comes to ensuring their guests enjoy their stay!
Breakfast was made fresh to order day 1 and a buffet style on day 2 when their were more guests to cater for!
Although a 5min drive out of town we had no problem finding our way around, going on a leisurely stroll along the boardwalk, we even hired a boat and went fishing! Honestly if you look past this accommodation when heading to the sapphire coast you're nuts!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are deeply grateful for glowing reviews like yours. I hope that you enjoyed your peaceful break and maybe next time you could bring the little one along.
Kind Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First the potential "negatives". I can see that SOME people might find:
The floral decor not to their liking
The distance from town more than necessary
The notes and signs on walls and equipment a bit over the top

This place is not for everyone…and that is exactly the way we like it!

We found Robyn's Nest on Trip Advisor and the main initial concern was that it was a couple of kilometres out of town, but once here it was a HUGE positive. Merimbula is a beautiful seaside town with heaps of accomodation options from motels, self contained apartments, caravan parks, resorts etc., but they all appear to be on top of each other. Robyn's Nest is the opposite - set on 120 Acres of bushland, overlooking the end of Merimbula Lake - we felt that we were all alone (even though the place was fully booked). We saw more kangaroos than we did other guests.

We had a two bedroom (two bathroom) apartment that had front and rear (on a balcony) outside dining areas, a BBQ, spa, very well equipped kitchen, separate indoor dining and lounge areas, good sized fridge, laundry and a car park very close by that made unloading very easy.

Check In is between 2 and 6pm and thanks to roadworks in Nowra and Kiama we arrived much later than expected. Greg had left a personailsed note for us with very clear directions as to how to find our apartment, and then followed up the next day to make sure everything was OK.

The apartment was spotlessly clean. Noticeably clean. So clean it stood out and after staying at the Merriton Apartments in Bondi (see separate review) we appreciated the well designed and thought out space, location and amenities. A kitchen stocked with useable and necessary equipment. Salt and pepper shakers, trays, electric fry pans etc. + power points located where we needed them. It was like being in a home…and not a hotel.

We also appreciated the tennis court, lake views, DVD selection and fresh herbs in the garden that we could use when cooking.

Suggest a minimum three night stay if want to totally unwind.

NOTE: We were told that the walk into town is 45 minutes - this would be a brisk non stop walk. If you want to take in the view, look at the fish/ crabs etc. allow an hour.

Room Tip: We had room 8 - at the top of the hill with great views of the lake and surrounds and on the same hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Manager at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review folks. We appreciate that you noticed the little things we do to try and make our guests as comfortable as possible. We look forward to a return visit if you are down this way again. Kind Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Gorgeous location, quiet and very well maintained. The only down side to this B&B is the breakfast, the coffee is awful and the breakfast choice is very limited. The staff are lovely though. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If your staying in a cottage ask for one away from the driveway as a lot of traffic does tend to com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSKahoona, Owner at Merimbula Robyns Nest, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Debbie - thankyou for your kind review. I believe you may have stayed on a very busy weekend, which is the only time we have a limited menu. The normal menu is a full English menu with many options. You will be pleased to know we have changed the coffee! I do hope we see you again in the future. Please contact me direct when you make your booking & I will ensure you will get my best unit. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merimbula Robyns Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merimbula Robyns Nest

Address: 188 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Merimbula Robyns Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute lake frontage set on 100 acres of bush within the town boundary, 5 star rated, 3 minutes drive from the shopping center for the discerning Guest. Self-Contained cottages and traditional hotel style suites with breakfast included are available. Buildings have been built in a Federation style with all modern amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Merimbula Robyns Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merimbula Robyns Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.