We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welshman who specialises in Japanese pancakes and Curry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Icecreamery & Crepe

Boardwalk Icecreamery & Crepe
Shop 4, Lakeside Walk 4 Market Street, Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Merimbula
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Welshman who specialises in Japanese pancakes and Curry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A very friendly business owner who gave us great advice and let us sample his Japanese pancakes. Also had great Ice Creams, thick shakes and a killer Lime Spider! We will definitely visit again, I am dying to have one of his Curry's :-)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pambula
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise - small but excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have been fans of this ice-creamery since we arrived in Merimbula over a decade ago. With the new owner, Tim, taking over it has been transformed into perhaps the friendliest food outlet in a town filled with eatery options. Tim takes pride in having all the usual flavours of ice cream but specialises in making a complete range of crepes, wraps, flapjacks (pancakes !). In winter months, curries-and-rice aplenty are on the menu, with Tim serving locally-made curry mixes and thus supporting another local industry !

When we just want to relax, chat to Tim - who is one of the most personable guys you could ever meet, especially in a food shop - read the papers and have a light brunch/lunch/afternoon-tea ... we head straight to Tim's ice creamery. What sets this place apart from its competitors in the touristy food industry here is the sense of service and feeling that you're always welcome. Nothing seems to be any bother, and customers genuinely come first.

Though small and tucked away at the end of the boardwalk, this is definitely worth winning awards for service and value-for-money. Throw in the stunning views over the lake, and this place surpasses everything else in the township in my view (and that of my wife and son too).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Boardwalk Ice-Creamery and crepe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A beautiful location to sit and enjoy the yummiest pancakes I have ever had. I have been there a few times now and can't wait to go again. I wish I could live there so I could enjoy their pancakes and ice creams when ever I wanted to!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
1 review
“lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great service and food at a reasonable price. Location on the river bank allows for wonderful views of the waterway.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious mango pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I saw this place during my morning walk around the Lake and decided to try it out. I had the mango pancakes because I love fresh and tree ripe mangoes. This dish could have been a dessert since it consisted of pancakes, fresh ripe pancake slices, and topped with coconut ice cream. I savored every bite of this breakfast. It is a very small place with a few outdoor tables on the Promenade by the Lake. I returned the next morning for a repeat performance and it was as good as before. The owner/cook/waiter was a really nice guy and we had some great conversations. Check out the picture I took. Seeing is believing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk Icecreamery & Crepe also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Boardwalk Icecreamery & Crepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Icecreamery & Crepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.