We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAKES THE 7 HOUR DRIVE EASIER KNOWING WE WILL DINE HERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mesa

La Mesa
Courtyard Restaurant at Robyns Nest resort | 188 Merimbula Drive, Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
02 6419 4334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 49 restaurants in Merimbula
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: La Mesa is a warm and inviting restaurant surrounded by tranquil gardens and the sound of water. From start to finish La Mesa is an escape for all food lovers.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“MAKES THE 7 HOUR DRIVE EASIER KNOWING WE WILL DINE HERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Delightful experience. Beautiful ambiance and cuisine. Gorgeous scallop rissotto and then lavender scented cheesecake to finish. My husband loved his eye fillet and regretted being 'good' and not ordering dessert after tasting mine. He said "I thought it was going to be just another cheesecake". How wrong he was. We are very much looking forward to returning even if it is a 7 hour drive. We would encourage the locals to support this restaurant and the two young hard working owners.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Strength to Strength”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Restaurant just gets better and better. They hosted a wine tasting last Friday night. Could not have been better Great time had by all. The food was flawless, wines good, service impecable. They are now fully licensed A definite to try if you are in Merimbula.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula
1 review
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'm not one for writing restaurant reviews, I prefer to leave that to the professionals, but after having dinner for Valentines day at La Mesa I just had too. It was such a surprise, the food was exceptional and service perfect, truly world class in such a beautiful location. Merimbula has a winner here, and I will certainly be back when I can.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“This is a five star only because I can't give six...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The La Mesa Courtyard is a seasonal restaurant at the Robyn's Nest just outside Merimbula. We had booked rooms at the resort without even thinking of the restaurant beyond just knowing there was one on site. Wow. What a surprise!
The restaurant is operated by Dan and Rebecca. Dan is the chef, Rebecca waits tables and like a lot of young up and coming chef couples, they work outside jobs during the day. Rebecca was most helpful to us in planning our next day because she is a dive instructor at Merimbula Dive Shop.
The restaurant does not have a broad menu, because it focuses on having an excellent one. From the starters to breads to entrees to desserts, the couple tries to use organic and locally grown vegetables. Seafood comes from the ocean. The beef comes from a supplier but it never the less is high quality.
Rebecca's service is impeccable. She managed several tables with ease.
You do need to bring your own bottle - a liquor license is pending. We didn't have one, but had put down some adult beverages on the deck of our cottage so were fine with water and a soft drink.
The restaurant closes in winter - well, I don't know that. It may remain open with limited services for Robyn's Nest guests but Dan and Rebecca go cook in a ski resort, then come back for the warm weather season.
Prices? From starters through entrees and into dessert, around $120 Australian. You do not need to tip in Australia because as one wait person told us "it's not like the States. We earn a living wage here." Nonetheless, I left a little something for Dan and Rebecca to help support a young chef couple who have created a gem.
If you are going to be in Merimbula, and we recommend the seacoast town as a destination, then try La Mesa Courtyard. In fact, consider staying at Robyn's Nest, an incredible place in its own right.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“definetly a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I tried out the new restaurant in Merimbula called La Mesa....whoa, everything was perfect. I have never been to a place that offers so much and leaves you with a feeling of utter contentment.
A big thank you to Dan our chef and Rebecca our host. We will be back and we will be telling everyone we can about your great restaurant
C and C
:-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mesa also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.