We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, kids will love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potoroo Palace

Potoroo Palace
2372 Princes Highway, Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Merimbula
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Greenvale, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great place, kids will love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Lovely & quiet place when we went, lots of animals to see and feed, the keeper took us on a short tour of the place and was very informative and friendly. Went on the "train" which was very quick and we didn't stop to look at anything or were given any information by the driver as we went around so probably not worth it but kids enjoyed it anyway. Great attraction for animal/bird lovers.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    9
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“average natural zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

not many shady spots to sit and eat lunch at, it was good the kids had the opportunity to pat many animals during the meet the keepers in the afternoon

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced & shabby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at 3 were surprised it shut at 4 especially during summer school holidays. We were charged $50 for the 50 minutes before closing. When we asked if there was any chance of a discount we were unapologetically told "we advertise our closing time so, no". She then continued to justify this with talking about how they were not-for-profit. So we were being forced into a fixed 'donation' despite not having much time at the park. We were not offered the map nor advice about what we might try to see. The train wasn't in operation and there was only one staff member in the park to illicit information about the animals.
We could not see any animals in quite a number of the make-shift enclosures. There were a few cages containing lone parrots.
I normally enjoy little animal parks like this but in this instance, I agree wholeheartedly with the other reviewers that disliked the high price and general scruffiness of the place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities and love for animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Potoroo Palace is a great day for families, groups and friends. They have a true passion for animals and that shows.
I will definately recommend friends and family and will be returning in future!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved the little Potoroo Palace. My son loved the train and the fact that you can actually feed the animals. The guided tour was also very interesting and worthwhile. Would go again for sure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potoroo Palace also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Potoroo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potoroo Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.