We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merimbula Lake Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Merimbula Lake Apartments to your Saves list
Merimbula Lake Apartments
12 Fishpen Road, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in a downstairs two bedroom apartment. The apartments book up really quick so you need to get in fast!

The apartments are reasonable size, ample kitchen and utensils. Great location - away from the noise of the main streets of Merimbula and short walk to the main beach.

Bed was not the worst i've had but after two nights I found myself having to stretch every morning for around half an hour to get my back, back into shape.

Room Tip: Upstairs apartments are a must for the view but you have to be quiet at night with the TV and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are extremly outdated. Cracks on the ceilings and in the plasterwork around the bath. The shower is also no good for someone elderly with hip problems or someone pregnant like myself as it is quite a big step up to get in and I often found myself loosing balance. We also had to pay for the use of linen and towels, which included a towel each for our 4 night stay. We were also booked until the Monday but personal circumstances arose where we were required to return home and the manager who was quite rude lacked complete care and understanding stating 'look I don't care when you leave' and charged us until Monday anyway, even though we left on the Sunday. The rooms also offer no form of sound proofing at all! We were awoken at dawn each morning by phones ringing, people talking, cars starting, showers going etc. Was a terrible stay and would never recommend this place. Stay far away! There are so many better places that offer excellent customer service and an apartment that is up with the times.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great value for money. Well located with lovely water views, short walk to the beach and town. Sunny balcony, clean, comfortable and well equipped with r/c aircon. Super welcoming hosts. Very reasonably priced and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We got lucky with a last minute booking with Jutta and were so pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The apartments are so close to the action, and incredibly well maintained. Incredible value for money and we had a very comfortable stay. Beautiful views from the rear of each apartment onto the water, and a close walk to the beach. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is a gem of a place with an ideal location on the lake but minutes walk to beach. You cross the bridge to Fishpen & peace, calm & serenity settles on you. The apartments are immaculate with all you need for a stay in an area with great eating out options. Zanzibar restaurant in town is an absolute delight with delicious food. Wayne & Jutta are wonderful hosts of the apartments & welcome you back each year as friends!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Fishpen is surely the best place to stay in Merimbula - walking distance into town, roads that are flat and safe for children on wheels, and right alongside the main Merimbula surf beach. From Merimbula Lake Apartments you have the added bonus of views across the water - the boats and the pelicans during the day, and the pretty sparkly lights of the main street at night.

Structurally, these apartments are typical of the area - double storey blocks with apartments on each level, convenient off-street parking, a basic swimming pool and an area for the kids to run around. Specifically, Merimbula Lake Apartments are extremely clean, spacious and light. The furniture is very simple - and somewhat oddly laid out in the living area. The kitchen carries the absolute basics - if you're planning to stay for long you might want to pack in a few of your favourite gadgets or plan to supplement anything you're missing from the hardware store.

In order to manage a place like this, you need to have an instinctive desire and ability to make visitors feel like they've walked into holiday mode immediately. From the friendly and flexible phone booking service to the genial welcome on-site, management at Merimbula Lake Apartments have it all covered - wish we had stayed longer. Bookings from regulars are common, so get in early - like the rest, you'll no doubt want to be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our 2 bedroom apartment was clean, comfortable and had the best views in town, especially at night with the town lights shining across the water. Great value for money.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: BYO linen to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merimbula Lake Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merimbula Lake Apartments

Address: 12 Fishpen Road, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merimbula Lake Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merimbula Lake Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.