We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life With The Lions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kingfisher Motel to your Saves list
Kingfisher Motel
105 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Life With The Lions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived in the dark and must admit to being a bit apprehensive. Gt keys and proceeded to Room 14 which seemed a bit dark,dingy and old. However, first impressions belied the reality of what was a very good find. Yes, the room is very tired but it ahd all we could have wished for. Indeed we could have taken a family of 5 and there would have been beds for all.
Turned out the lady in reception was a gem. She recommended the RSL Club for food and no wonder it was just about full - the food was magnificent. Secondly, she proudly let us cuddle a 6 week old joey they had adopted the following morning. Third, told where to find groups of kangaroos ( a novelty for us Brits). All this plus a view of the resort and coastline to die for the following morning. We ate breakfast in the company of wild birds of all shapes, sizes and colours. A fantastic find.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After travelling on the road all day, we were delighted to discover this motel. The rooms were very clean, accommodating in relation to all needs for cooking etc., big windows with a magnificent view. The owners are very friendly and suggested we check the room before buying - nothing to worry about though. The breakfast was reasonably priced, arrived on time and was hot. The price was great compared to anything else we had come across en route. Would highly recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from the 3rd of april for 2 nights with my partner and so glad we did,the room was spotless,the views and sunrise were spectacular,the birds and other animals that stop by were great and the lady host was clearly a wonderful person.So glad i stayed here and not in town but did walk into town 3 times during my stay and is an easy 10 minute walk there,on the walk back its abit harder walk as its uphill but unless you have a medical issue still rate the walk back as easy,otherwise if driving only takes 1 minute.Only regret was we didnt stay longer 2 nights was not enough for us if we are in the area again will stay atleast 4 nights!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The motel is not new but the room was large and clean with Queen sized bed. All the normal inclusions Air Conditioning large TV, tea and coffee making facilities. Bonus was the fantastic views from the Balcony (and the room with the curtains open) to the town the inlet and out to sea. Lovely touch for us was the birdlife ,ducks and the sheep around the motel. It also had a inground pool with towels supplied. it was January and hot so the pool was made good use of
The very friendly host I think belong to Wires that's why they enjoy the wildlike and also I think they feed them.
The hotel itself is on the main road to Bega but being dowm a little off the road there was little or no road noise and it was an enjoyable nights sleep and you felt like you were in the countryside..The only downside if there is one is that it is about a kilometre from town and walking down to town and back up again was not an option for us.. All in all with the spectactular views I would stay there again and recomend it to others

Room Tip: The ones on the end are further away from the pool and closer to the bush area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Recently stayed here three nights and it was a great decision. The rooms were spotless, spacious and airy - thanks to a lovely balcony with a fantastic view both day and night of Merimbula itself and of the inlet to the right, sea straight ahead. It certainly isn't uber-stylish or recently built, however it had everything we could need or want
The owners were so friendly, the ducks and sheep were a unique site, lots of birdlife around including rainbow lorikeets, cockatoos and kookaburras.
It was a relaxing stay and we really felt like we were on holiday.
Remember though if you do come here, I didn't see a hairdryer or shampoo, but that's okay as I had brought my own anyway.
It was probably the pick of Merimbula, being so peaceful at night was a bonus.

Room Tip: If I come again (hope so) I'd pick the far end room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights just before New Year and were very impressed with this Motel. The view from the balcony is spectacular and it was lovely to wake to the sounds of birds and sit out having breakfast in the sunshine on the balcony. The walk down into town was easy - about 10-15minutes and we even walked home one evening - about 15 mins from the main restaurant area, but all uphill. Alternatively you can catch a free shuttlebus from the bowling club - easy!
We preferred to be a bit away from the main busy area and would highly recommend the Kingfisher. The room has everything you could need and was spotlessly clean. The hosts Janine and Baron are the loveliest people and they care for sick and injured animals - we even got to cuddle a baby wombat the day we left!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We loved the Kingfisher motel. During our two nights stay we enjoyed the great views over the Bay Area from our balcony. The hosts are friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the birds and other wildlife in the garden. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Despite the location right on a street it was surprisingly quiet. We would definitely recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Motel

Address: 105 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kingfisher Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.