We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillcrest Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hillcrest Motor Inn to your Saves list
Hillcrest Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   95 - 97 Merimbula Drive, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Wonthaggi, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

very adequate accommodation for an overnighter. Room was very clean., although no air conditioning, it really wasnt necessary as the breeze coming through the private balcony was very cooling.. Comfy queen size bed, very quiet, had an excellent nights sleep.We had our own private balcony and had amazing views to wake up to.
We were very comfortable, and would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

You won't believe the views from the balconies at this motel. They're the best thing about it, but it really is perfectly adequate for overnight accommodation if you're driving the Sapphire Coast. The rooms are in 'original condition' (aka 70s delight), but are very clean and have everything you'll need. There is even crockery and cutlery should you want to eat in your room (lots of local take-away places down the road in the main street of Merimbula). Car spaces are right outside the rooms and it's very easy to find. The beds are comfortable, as are the pillows. While the shower in our room took AN AGE to get hot water flowing, everything else was fine. Good luck to the young family operating the motel - I hope their updating plans come to fruition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Triple rooms sleep four - there's a double bed and two singles. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

original room offered was not cleaned or made up. on discussing with owner we were given another room which was excellent. owner very apologetic and was happy to oblige.brilliant views and would return

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The motel is in a great spot and 2 mins drive into the centre of town. The room is a little outdated (which was expected) but the bed and pillows were very comfortable, the bathroom is massive. In saying all that the view was fabulous, especially watching the first new years sunrise for 2014. Cars parking right outside your door. Staff were friendly and helpful. Also this is a pet friendly motel which is a bonus in my book. Possibly one thing they could do is have dish washing liquid and a tea towel available so one can wash up the plates and cutlery that are provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 days and liked very much the place. The hotel keepers were very nice and helpful, we had a nice view to the sea, the room was clean and comfortable. We really recommend this place and will return to this place if we will sometimes travel to Merimbula again!

Harri and Phakhaon Huotari
Helsinki, Finland

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermagui, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We only had one night at the Hill Crest in Merimbula but for some reason when I booked online I put in the wrong date and didn't know it until we arrived!! The owners/managers were great, even though they were almost fully booked out and completely booked out for the room we paid for they gave us a family room instead which was so great and nice of them!
The views from the motel are amazing and for the $69 pricetag unbelievable. The motel is close to everything in Merimbula, has plenty of parking and I'd def stay here again.

The room itself was a little older as it was a downstairs room but it was very clean and comfortable and most important QUIET. I gave them 5/5 for their great service. Top Notch!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Loved our overnight stopover at the Hill Crest. Very clean, well appointed rooms with the guest laundry being very handy. Magnificent views and lovely and quiet. Yes, a bit of general sprucing up is needed, but we couldn't fault the cleanliness. Noticeable was the lack of bleach smells ( YUK!) and the masking sickly sweet smells - my pet hate! Excellent value for money. Good job, guys, and keep up the good work.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillcrest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Motor Inn

Address: 95 - 97 Merimbula Drive, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the escarpment overlooking the township of Merimbula the Hillcrest consists of 30 rooms in a double brick contemporary 1970's style building. Surrounded by 1.6 Acres of garden, the motel offers quiet & tranquil enjoyment of this beautiful part of the world. Our rooms range from private balcony 3-3.5 Star motel suites through to large family style - depending on your budget and size of group we can accommodate your needs. We offer discounts for long term stays, loyalty customers, seniors and also rep rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hillcrest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillcrest Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.