We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A great family friendly place to stay"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Pelican Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican Motor Inn
18 Merimbula Drive, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Merimbula
geelong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“" A great family friendly place to stay"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stopped at Merimbula for a few nights on our way back from Sydney. We were very tired after a long drive and Terrie & Bruce could not have been more helpful or friendly. They pointed us in the right direction to get some food (Yummy Thai) and drinks for dinner, which was all within walking distance from the motel. Which was perfect as were all a bit over being in the car especially our toddler. The room we had was great, very clean and comfortable, especially the beds. Over all we had a great stay would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ferntree gully
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We have just had the great pleasure of spending some more relaxing time in lovely Merimbula, NSW.Once again we chose to stay at the Pelican Moror Inn in Merimbula.It is a lovely, no fuss,spotless and very acommodationg motel and is also extremely well situated opposite the local Cinema, many local eateries, clubs and all modern shops are within an easy,short walking distance. Since our last stay at the Pelican, its wonderful and always friendly, helpful hosts, who themselves have only been there less than 4 years or so,Terrie and Bruce MacDonald- have made some fantastic and noticeable changes to this motel.They have stylishly re-fitted many of the bathrooms,added split system airconditoning,installed new bedding to rooms and beautiful, crisp white linen and also added solar heating to their pool. They have a heated spa room too.They have built a lovely covered barbeque area.They have also installed a fantastic Marquee complete with a nearby toilet,which is permanently situated in the grounds to cater for open air gatherings of large groups of people. They told us that recently a large tour group used their marquee to chat in and play cards.We dined one night in this new marquee and enjoyed their fantastic company along with a large group of others who were staying there as part of their social group, on a tour.We also found out that Terrie and Bruce are able to assist groups with organising tours as well as providing their acommodation.At present they arrange bus tours for groups from NSW and Victoria.Nothing is ever too much trouble and they always go out of their way to help. Park your car safely at the motel and set off for an easy walk across the road to the movies or go shopping in any of the great shops in town.Terrie and Bruce have plans for still more changes and we look forward to seeing these changes when we next stay there.My husband and I have now become regular guests there as they always make us feel so very welcome and relaxed.I am only too happy to pass on our recommendation about this lovely, clean and centrally located motel in Merimbula. Its views and close proximity to all amenities are also added bonuses too! Thank you once again Terrie and Bruce and we look forward to returning to stay there hopefully, again in January 2012. Sue and Paul Cornish

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I knew I had made a good choice when I arrived and noticed this was the only motel with a ""No Vacancy" sign up. Terrie couldn't have been more helpful, both when I checked in and in giving me a ride to the airport when I left. The location is very convenient if one is arriving or leaving Merimbula by coach and the room was clean and comfortable. Maggie the dog was an added friendly face! The motel has free Wi-Fi, a pool and a spa and is practically right in downtown Merimbula on the main road into town, but very quiet notwithstanding.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

They made me feel right at home and were co-operative, friendly, and helpful.
I always feel I can relax and enjoy the comfort zone of Merimbula.
My room was elegant and tasteful. Merimbula is always a pleasure to come and stay.
Thank you both once again for your support.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked this motel after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. The room was clean and comfortable, with a small kitchenette - very old-fashioned. Apparently other rooms have been renovated but not the one we stayed in! Anyway after a nice meal at the local RSL Club, which is within walking distance, we headed back to our room to settle down to watch Tomic's match in Wimbledon. We couldn't get channel 7 - every other channel was there but not channel 7!! So frustrating!! As it was late at night we didn't want to bother the owners. When we checked out the next morning, we mentioned it to them - guess what - they said we should have told them and that they weren't busy and could have moved us to another renovated room with a HD TV! If only....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican_Motor_Inn, Owner at Pelican Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your review.
My wife and myself were away during your stay.
I appologise for the telivision reception, the remainder of the HD Tv's were delayed and did not arrive until we had left for our break.
All room now have new HD Telivisions.
We have now also renovated the room, bathrooms and kitchenettes in the section you stayed in.
Hope you had a lovely holiday and we see you again some time.
Bruce & Terrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Based on reviews in TripAdvisor, we chose the Pelican for our one night stay in the beautiful NSW coastal town of Merimbula. When we pulled up outside we were convinced that we had made a big mistake. For, despite the appearance in the above photo, the exterior is rather dull. And it got worse. There was a small dog chewing on a plastic bone in the reception office: The room we were given faced on to the front carpark, and beyond that was the very busy road.
Entering our room was like a time warp: the brownish decor probably went out of fashion about forty years ago and the tiles in the bathroom featured panels with two completely different (brown)patterns,
However, these first impressions were completely forgotten once we read in the information folder that the motel was going to have a complete refurbishment and, more importantly, the room would have to be one the cleanest we have ever experienced. In fact, if you could ignore the appearances, this motel would easily score five stars for cleanliness,
Unlike most motels, the friendly hosts made a point of giving us plenty of advice about the town's sight-seeing attractions and the best places to eat.
The next morning we walked down to the modern, and very busy, Waterfront Cafe. The coffee was really good and we had a scrumptious breakfast while looking out over the the pretty harbour.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malua Bay NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. Terrie and Bruce are great hosts and they provide warm, friendly service. Rooms are well appointed and well looked after. We love staying there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motor Inn

Address: 18 Merimbula Drive, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Merimbula, the Pelican Motor Inn offers all the comforts and conveniences for a memorable Merimbula holiday. The Pelican Motor Inn is in a central Merimbula location within 80 metres of the Post Office and an easy stroll to Merimbula-Imlay Bowling Club, RSL, shops, Restaurants, Pictures, beaches and the beautiful Lake Merimbula. Merimbula/Pambula and Tura Beach Golf Clubs are only a nine iron away. All 25 of our Merimbula motel units have new split system air-conditioners / heating, queen size beds and ground level access, many have scenic views over the township and Merimbula Lake. Family rooms have cooking facilities. All rooms now have HD Televisions. Enjoy a barbecue, take a dip in the solar heated saltwater pool, relax in the 8-seat heated indoor spa, have a game of table tennis or for large group bookings enjoy dinner or drinks in the 80 seater marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Pelican Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.