We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Holiday Units

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Holiday Units to your Saves list
Sandpiper Holiday Units
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Sapphire Coast Drive | P.O.Box 691, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“We Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been staying at Sandpiper Holiday Units for years and we find it a wonderful place for our family to stay when on holiday in Merimbula. Glenn & Shirley are lovely hosts and very hospitable and extremely accommodating - Glenn's always around to have a chat to and find see if we are comfortable and happy. The units were clean and comfortable and had all the modern converniencies required when on holiday. Close to walk to the main shopping strip and to do grocery shopping. Our kids ;love "The Puddle" and won't let us stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks Lisa, and I must say Shirley and I appreciate your honest thoughts. A lovely group of family and friends that really are nice guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We found Sandpiper thru Wotif, the only place available for just one night on a long weekend. Great price, good position only a few minutes' walk from restaurants, cafes and clubs, not too far from the water..
Mine host Glenn is country friendly and helpful and the unit was roomy, immaculate and more than adequately equipped. One bonus-- FRESH milk!!
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sandpiper Units to anyone wanting good quality budget accommodation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our little place and we are glad you enjoyed it, since your visit we have had air-con installed and also 53 channels of FOX-TEL connected to all units
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The host's were very freindly and extremely welcoming. Rooms are excellent, all the modern conveniences, although beds very hard. Pool not heated and too small for proper swim.
Great spot to relax and enjoy Merimbula, everything including Clubs, Cinema, Supermarket, etc. within a short 2 min walk.

Room Tip: Discuss your sleep / bed preferences when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Tom, Thanks for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry about the size of the pool but as we advertise it "The Puddle" it was the biggest that we could instal in our little back yard. "The Puddle" has a bigger than normal Solar heater on the roof but we do need warm days and normally it is too cold to swim before October. Our beds are brand new 4 star quality queen beds and it si very hard to please all people, it was your last night when you made refernce to this and i did offer an overlay if you wanted one. Once again thaks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed there overnight on our way back from South Coast of NSW to Melbourne, looked it up on Agoda, called early morning to see if they had a room, said they had one left, decided not to book but just turn up hoping the room was still available. Luckily it was, the apartment was fantastic and after a week of camping the shower was to die for. Free DVD's to use, Glenn was very friendly on arrival and our stay there was great. My forgetful teens left some belongings in the room and we were called within 20 minutes of leaving. Curtains in bedrooms block out most light, which is what I need. Easy walk to the shops and club for dinner, would defineatly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a lovely time. The units are well appointed, the hosts very friendly and the garden is well maintained. The unit was very clean. It was nice to have a good assortment of reading material and DVD's

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We travel to Merimbula each year, in the last few years we started staying at Sandpiper Holiday Apartments . The owners always go out of their way to ensure that my family enjoys their holiday. Great suggestions for new experiences helping us discover the little treasures in Merimbula that maybe we didn't do the last time , or we just forgot about for this time.......The boys love the fishing at Eden (thanks Glenn) and feeding the pelicans down at the lake (thanks Shirley), I think this has become a tradition we will have to keep for the future holidays at Merimbula !!!!!

The apartments are spotless ,bright and airy and although I try to do as little cooking as possible on holidays the kitchen has everything plus more. What better way is there to relax then watching the kids play outside while sitting on the balcony in the warm sun .

What a place for value , location, service and accomodation. We love it and NO you havent seen the last of us just yet Glenn and Shirley.....Thanks for helping us create some great memories for our kids. The 7 hour car ride is defiantly worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thankyou for your kind words Anne Dont forget that if you plan your next holiday between November and March, around the time of when we have outgoing tides and no moon you should have a lot of fun Prawning, I bet the kids have not done that. Just a torch and a net is all you need to have hours of fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We have just spent a week at the Sandpiper Holiday Units and were very impressed with the amenities which included everything from a washing machine to an iron, DVD's, books and information about local tourist attractions. Very clean and close to the shops, clubs and supermarkets. We loved the gardens and the pool and the BBQ, which we used on several occasions. We found the owners very friendly and helpful. Glenn, thanks for recommending the fish and chips in Bermagui, they were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpiper2548, Owner at Sandpiper Holiday Units, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
We get a lot of pleasure reading the comments from guests in our visitor books, its even more enjoyable when our guests take the time and effort to leave their review for all to see, many say that they will when they get home but quite often forget. Once again Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Holiday Units

Address: 6 Sapphire Coast Drive | P.O.Box 691, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Holiday Units 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SandPiper Holiday Units/Apartments are situated in the town centre of Merimbula. All units have AIR- CONDITIONING, 200 Mb FREE Wi-fI (daily) 53 Channels FOX-TEL satellite TV, are north facing with private balconies, windows that open, queen beds and linen supplied. We are an easy 2 minute walk to the bowling club, shops, cinema and post office. 10 Minute walk to the water. These units whilst in the middle of town are set at the rear of the block and are clean, quiet and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Holiday Units reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Holiday Units, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.